Sheppard Wins Race to the Front; Captures NES 7th

Date: 8/12/2007 3:19:37 AM

Sheppard Wins Race to the Front; Captures NES 7th

New Egypt, NJ (August 11, 2007) - Matt Sheppard of Waterloo, NY beat
Ryan Godown to the front of the field Saturday night at New Egypt
Speedway and then held off Godown's repeated challenges to post his
seventh win of the year on Burnett Racing Engines "Women on Wheels"
night. Sheppard grabbed the lead from Tim Tanner Jr. on lap 17 and
went on to capture the DIRTcar Modified 30 lapper and the $3000 first

"We were lucky to get to the front first tonight," stated Sheppard,
"I am sure if Ryan had beaten me there, that his car was faster and
the results may have been different." "Hopefully we can come back and
duplicate this on Wednesday night," Sheppard said referring to the
Super DIRTcar Series event coming up this week at the speedway.

John Keller brought the 24 car field down to starter Warren Alston's
green flag and quickly assumed command. Keller appears to be getting
tougher each week, as he led the field for the first 12 laps before
Rich Rutski was able to sneak underneath of him on the frontstretch.
Just two laps later a fast Tanner powered underneath Rutski to become
the races' third leader. The first and only yellow of the event waved
at this point when fifth place running Frank Cozze broke a right
front spindle on the backstretch to end his night. The restart found
point leader Sheppard, who started 17th, sitting right behind Tanner
with Godown up to fifth. It took only one lap before Sheppard shot by
Tanner for the lead. Godown charged up to second by lap 20 and set
his sights on Sheppard who was now about 10 car lengths out in front.
Godown quickly started to eat into that, catching Sheppard with just
five laps to go. It was at this point that lapped traffic began to
come into play and Sheppard was flawless as he went on to cross under
the checkered flags first. Godown was a strong second, losing only 4
points to Sheppard in the championship hunt, as the two are still
only separated by 14 markers. Keith Hoffman continues his string of
strong runs finishing in third, while Jimmy Horton came home fourth
and Tanner settled for fifth.     

Rocco Infante of Robbinsville, NJ won the 20 lap Sportsman feature
event. Infante took the lead on lap two and cruised uncontested to
his fourth win of the year in a race that took just over 12 minutes
to complete. Dave Hunt posted his best finish of the year coming home
second, while Rich Scagliotta closes to within a mere 7 points of
point leader Willie Osmun by finishing third. Chad Barney turned in a
strong run for fourth while Art Liedl drove the Mongiello Racing #94M
to a fine fifth place finish.

Al Cheney of Cranbury, NJ won his second in a row and his fifth of
the season in the Super Stock 25 lap feature. Cheney took the lead
from Kory Fleming before halfway and the raced to the victory.
Fleming was second, followed by Mick Search, Ron Coverly and Jason

In the Lucas Ford SS Sprint 20 lap feature event, Rick Cozze of
Pittstown, NJ won his second career feature almost one year after
getting his first. Three-time defending champ Art Liedl finished
second to take back the point lead, while Rich Janney continues to be
fast racing home third. Fourth went to Ian Borden with Robert Liedl
taking fifth.     

In the Burnett Racing Engines "Women on Wheels" powder puff events,
25 cars took part in the four divisions on hand. Laura Liedl was the
only one to do double duty and she was the big winner taking both the
SS Sprint event and one of Sportsman events. Katie Lyons took the
other Sportsman feature while Heidi Schaefer drove Kevin Bifulco's
#B1 to victory in the Super Stock event. The most exciting of the
five races was the Modified event which was won by Randi Rudy driving
Rich Scagliotta's #8, as she passed Sandra Kell off of turn four to
win by just a half of a car length.  

This Wednesday night, August 15th, it will be the DIRTcar Advance
Auto Parts Super DIRT Series 60 lapper. The Super Stocks will join
the Modifieds on the card with gates opening at 5pm and racing
getting underway at 7:30pm.

Next Saturday night, August 18th, it will be Vespia Tire and Auto
Care presenting the Pit Stop Challenge for the pit crews. DIRTcar
Big-Block Modifieds, Sportsman, Super Stocks, Outlaw Stocks and Crate
1 Sportsman will all be in competition. The Garden State Vintage
Stock Car club will also be on hand. Gates will open at 4pm with the
first race at 6pm.

For more information call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or
log on to our website at

1st Heat: 1. Pat Wall 2. John Miloszar 3. Bob Drayton 4. Ryan Godown
5. John Keller 6. Matt Sheppard
2nd Heat: 1. Brian Godown 2. Keith Hoffman 3. Sam Martz 4. Frank
Cozze 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Jim Robertson
3rd Heat: 1. Art Lentini 2. Tim Tanner Jr. 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Rich
Rutski 5. Ron John Koczon 6. Bucky Kell
B Main:  1. Tom Carberry 2. Rick Holsten 3. Craig Mitchell 4. Steve
Haggan 5. Dennis Halas 6. Rick Wegner
Feature (30 laps): 1. Matt Sheppard 2. Ryan Godown 3. Keith Hoffman
4. Jimmy Horton 5. Tim Tanner Jr. 6. Ron John Koczon 7. Bob Drayton
8. Sam Martz 9. Bucky Kell 10. John Keller 11. John Miloszar 12. Mike
Hendershot 13. Craig Mitchell 14. Rick Holsten 15. Pat Wall 16. Art
Lentini 17. Steve Haggan 18. Brian Godown 19. Rich Rutski 20. Frank
Cozze 22. Tom Carberry 23. Rick Wegner DNS: Dennis Halas
DNQ:  Randy Laird, J.T. Trstensky.

1st Heat: 1. Art Liedl 2. Chad Barney 3. Mike Howardson 4. John
McClelland 5. Dan Waisempacher
2nd Heat: 1. Dave Hunt 2. Willie Osmun 3. Tommy Carberry Jr. 4. Mike
Krachun 5. Brad Freeman
3rd Heat: 1. Gary Butler 2. Lou Farina III 3. Ben Donaruma 4. Alan
Bleacher 5. Justin Hoffman
4th Heat: 1. Rocco Infante 2. Steve Schmidt 3. Rich Scagliotta 4.
Glenn Hisko 5. Danny Bouc
1st B Main: 1. John Stangle 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Chris Lane
2nd B Main: 1. John Salvatore Jr. 2. Glenn Pyatt 3. Donnie Kline
(Pts. Prov.: Gene Stravinsky)
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. Dave Hunt 3. Rich Scagliotta
4. Chad Barney 5. Art Liedl 6. Mike Howardson 7. Ben Donaruma 8. John
McClelland 9. Willie Osmun 10. Mike Krachun 11. Danny Bouc 12. Tommy
Carberry Jr. 13. Glenn Hisko 14. John Stangle 15. Gary Butler 16.
Alan Bleacher 17. Glenn Pyatt 18. Brad Freeman 19. Justin Hoffman 20.
Dominick Buffalino 21. John Salvatore Jr. 22. Gene Stravinsky 23.
Chris Lane 24. Dan Waisempacher 25. Lou Farina III 26. Steve Schmidt
27. Donnie Kline 
DNQ: Richie Cass Sr., Everett Taylor, Clay Butler, Wayne Bechtel,
Marc Herman, Tim Apgar, Kevin McCoy, John Bohadel, Matt Holzbaur,
Kenny Huchko, Peach Cole, Scott Cranstoun, Robin McTighe, Chris
Bennett, Dave Stout, Bob Hendershot.

Feature (25 laps): 1. Al Cheney 2. Kory Fleming 3. Mick Search 4. Ron
Coverly 5. Jason Bubeck 6. Bob Vaccaro 7. Matt Kall 8. Don Shipley 9.
Billy Bauer 10. George Marrero 11. Al Burdge 12. Tony Bozowski 13.
Charlie Gunner 14. Dennis Seely Jr. 15. Steve Davis 16. George
Quinlan 17. Tony Giglio 18. Bill Liedtka 19. Billy Kerr 20. Jim
Hewitt 21. Kevin Bifulco 22. Todd Cray 23. Bryan Reed 24. Chris

1st Heat: 1. Art Liedl 2. Nick Bardsley 3. John Snook 4. Tom Wyckoff
5. Ted Arnold
2nd Heat: 1. Ian Borden 2. Rick Cozze 3. Dale Gardner 4. Robert Liedl
5. Lee Taylor Jr.
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rick Cozze 2. Art Liedl 3. Rich Janney 4. Ian
Borden 5. Robert Liedl 6. John Snook 7. Tom Wyckoff 8. Dave Martin 9.
Ted Arnold 10. Dale Gardner 11. Ryan Miscoski 12. Nick Bardsley 13.
Glenn Sinibaldi 14. Lee Taylor Jr. 15. Jim Hoelterling DNS: Dan
Biggs, Ken Carberry

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results