Godown Wins New Egypt Fourth

Date: 8/19/2007 1:38:44 AM

Godown Wins New Egypt Fourth

New Egypt, NJ (August 18, 2007) -  Ryan Godown of Ringoes, NJ proved
that patience is truly a virtue on Saturday night as he took top
honors in the 30 lap DIRTcar Modified feature. Godown started 16th
and carefully picked his moves as he came thru the field, passing
race long leader Rich Ruski with just 4 laps remaining to post his
fourth win of 2007 & collect the $3000 top prize.

"I am really trying to be patient," stated Godown in victory lane,
"Starting back in 16th you can't really take your time but you have
to pick your moves and not overdrive. The crew gave me a fast car
tonight and it paid off."

Modified rookie Rick Wegner brought the field to Warren Alston's
initial green which found third place starter Jim Robertson charging
into the lead. Robertson, who also won his heat race in impressive
fashion, led thru the early going with Rutski in hot pursuit. Rutski
finally proved to be too much for the leader, as he took command of
the race. Rutski was strong and seemed as though he may be headed for
his first career win as he led by as much as 2/3 of a straightaway.
The complexion of the race changed suddenly however when second place
running Tim Tanner Jr. tangled with the lapped car of John Dixon with
just 9 laps to go bringing out the races final caution. On the
restart Rutski had Bob Drayton and Godown right on his back bumper
challenging him for the lead. With all three top cars running the
outside groove, Godown new he was going to have to try something
different if he was to pull this one off. With 6 laps to go Godown
dropped to the very bottom of the track and found that his car was
getting great forward bite down there. Godown used this tactic to
quickly power under Drayton for second, and then two laps later made
the winning pass of Rutski the same way coming off of turn 4. Once in
front Godown cruised to his fourth victory of the season. Rutski
settled for a solid second, followed by Drayton, who posted another
top five. Keith Hoffman continued his strong efforts finishing fourth
while Ron John Koczon came in fifth. 

In the 20 lap Sportsman feature, Gene Stravinsky of New Egypt, NJ
picked up his first win of 2007 and only the second of his career.
Stravinsky used his outside pole starting spot to his advantage as he
lead every lap of the non-stop event that was run in 6 minutes and 47
seconds. This was only the second Sportsman feature ever run without
a yellow flag in our 10 year history, both coming this season. Tim
Apgar finished a strong second, contending for the lead throughout
the event. Glenn Hisko, four-time winner Rocco Infante and Chad
Barney completed the top five.

After winning his first career Super Stock feature this past
Wednesday night, Todd Cray of Trenton, NJ wasted no time getting his
second. Cray was dominate on this night, as he took all 11 rounds of
the Super Stock Challenge Match Races to pick up $750 earlier in the
evening, and then went on capture the 25 lap feature. Mick Search
applied the pressure over the final 5 laps but Cray was up to the
challenge. Search raced home second ahead of George Quinlan, Bryan
Reed and Anthony Bozowski.   

The Crate 1 Sportsman found Pat Hires winning his first career
feature in the 12 lap event. Richie Cass Sr. and E.J. Harrington
trailed Hires across the stripe. The 12 lap Outlaw Stock feature was
won by Gary Klimeczak for the fifth time this year. Doug DeBray and
Chris Felber chased Klimeczak over the line.

Next Saturday night, August 25th, the ARDC Midgets come to town for
their only appearance for 2007. The DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds will
also compete for $3000 to win, along with Sportsman, Super Stocks,
and SS Sprints. Gates will open at 4pm with the first race at 6pm.
For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or
log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.

1st Heat: 1. Rich Rutski 2. Pat Wall 3. Rick Wegner 4. Bucky Kell 5.
Ryan Godown 6. Ron John Koczon
2nd Heat: 1. Sam Martz 2. Tom Carberry 3. Keith Hoffman 4. Art
Lentini 5. John Keller 6. Ken Carberry
3rd Heat: 1. Jim Robertson 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Bob Drayton 4. Brian
Godown 5. Tim Tanner Jr. 6. John Dixon
B Main: 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Rick Holsten 3. Tad Cox 4. Randy
Laird 5. J.T. Trstensky 6. Steve Haggan
Feature (30 laps): 1. Ryan Godown 2. Rich Rutski 3. Bob Drayton 4.
Keith Hoffman 5. Ron John Koczon 6. Bucky Kell 7. Brian Godown 8.
Jimmy Horton 9. Sammy Martz 10. Dominick Buffalino 11. Tom Carberry
12. Jim Robertson 13. Rick Holsten 14. Ken Carberry 15. Tad Cox 16.
John Keller 17. Rick Wegner 18. Randy Laird 19. Pat Wall 20. Steve
Haggan 21. Tim Tanner Jr. 22. John Dixon 23. J.T. Trstensky 24. Art
DNQ:  Doug Ostwald, John Miloszar, Mike Hendershot

1st Heat: 1. Rich Scagliotta 2. Dave Hunt 3. Rocco Infante 4. Dan
Waisempacher 5. John Salvatore Jr.
2nd Heat: 1. John Romano Jr. 2. John Stangle 3. Willie Osmun 4. Tommy
Carberry Jr. 5. Danny Bouc
3rd Heat: 1. Gene Stravinsky 2. Chad Barney 3. Steve Schmidt 4. Glenn
Pyatt 5. John McClelland
4th Heat: 1. Tim Apgar 2. Glenn Hisko 3. Mike Howardson 4. Mike
Krachun 5. Richie Cass Sr.
1st B Main: 1. Justin Hoffman 2. Kenny Huchko 3. Art Liedl
2nd B Main: 1. Lou Farina III 2. Chris Bennett 3. Chris Lane
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Gene Stravinsky 2. Tim Apgar 3. Glenn Hisko 4.
Rocco Infante 5. Chad Barney 6. Glenn Pyatt 7. Rich Scagliotta 8.
Mike Krachun 9. John Romano Jr. 10. Willie Osmun 11. Mike Howardson
12. John McClelland 13. John Stangle 14. Tommy Carberry 15. Lou
Farina III 16. Steve Schmidt 17. Danny Bouc 18. John Salvatore Jr.
19. Art Liedl 20. Justin Hoffman 21. Dave Hunt 22. Kenny Huchko 23.
Chris Lane 24. Richie Cass Sr. 25. Chris Bennett 26. Dan Waisempacher
DNQ:  Clay Butler, Marc Herman, Ray Woodall, E.J. Harrington, Brad
Freeman, Jason Dunn, Kevin McCoy, Will Dupree, Joe Baumann, Jeff
Marcucci, Robin McTighe, Matt Holzbaur, John Bohadel, Dave Gorbatuk,
Peach Cole, Scott Cranstoun, Everett Taylor, Bob Hendershot, Wayne

Feature (25 laps): 1. Todd Cray 2. Mick Search 3. George Quinlan 4.
Bryan Reed 5. Anthony Bozowski 6. Steve Davis 7. Bill Liedtka 8. Bob
Vaccaro 9. Jason Bubeck 10. George Marrero 11. Pete Fogarty 12. Ron
Coverly 13. Matt Kall 14. Kory Fleming 15. Tony Giglio 16. Charlie
Gunner 17. Don Shipley 18. Kevin Bifulco 19. Al Cheney 20. Billy
Bauer 21. Dennis Seely Jr. 22. Jerry Confer Jr. 

Feature (12 Laps): 1. Pat Hires 2. Richie Cass Sr. 3. E.J. Harrington
4. Scott Cranstoun 5. Dave Gorbatuk 6. George Idell Jr. 7. Peach Cole
DNS: Mike Fattori

Feature (12 Laps): 1. Gary Klimeczak 2. Doug Debray 3. Chris Felber
4. Jeff Dirkes 5. Brian Ludwig 6. Ron Dirkes 7. Rob Longo 8. Goop
Mondelli 9. Frank D'Entremont 10. Pete MacDonald 11. Billy Wroble 12.
Spider Ensinger Sr. DNS: Rick Latza

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results