Carpenter Hammers Out Victory on Day of Destruction at New Egypt

Date: 8/26/2007 11:07:18 PM

Carpenter Hammers Out Victory on Day of Destruction at New Egypt 

New Egypt, NJ (August 26, 2007) -  Jimmy Carpenter of Manchester, NJ
was flawless on Sunday afternoon at New Egypt Speedway as posted his
first ever feature win in the 20 lap 600cc Micro Sprint feature.
Carpenter proved he was the class of the field as he led every lap of
both his heat race and the feature event sweeping the Micro Sprint
portion of New Egypt's Day of Destruction. Second heat winner Tim
Iulg finished a close second but was unable to challenge Carpenter in
the late stages. John Carpenter came home third followed by Travis
Unglert fourth and Rich Mellor in fifth. Completing the top ten were
Rob Vivona, Kyle Newcomb, Stewart Carmicheal, Eddie Wagner and Bill

The first ever Demolituion Derby held at New Egypt Speedway went to
Lane Hirschfeld as he survived the 9 car finale. Heats were won by
Matt Phillips, Steve Curlis, Katie Lyons and Jarrett Horner. The
field was then filled by taking a fans choice by applause out of each
heat along with an officials choice.

In the first ever Enduro at NES, Glenn Osborne of Howell, NJ took the
victory by 8 car lengths over Sean Elk. Scott Dunn finished in third,
followed by Joe Garey and Kenny Huchko.

The Vintage stocks raced in a 15 lap event, and Wayne Weaver again
showed he is the car to beat as he cruised to the victory. Doug Dial
and Ken Pullen finished second and third respectively.

This Saturday, September 1st, it will be Back To School Wing Night
and Modified Championship Night. The URC Sprints will make their
fourth appearance of the season while the DIRTcar Modifieds compete
in their final point show of 2007. The 35 lap, double points affair
will decide both the track and the DIRTcar Northeast Regional Points
championships. Coming into this Saturday's events, point leader Matt
Sheppard has a slim 10 point advantage over Ryan Godown. Sportsman
and Super Stocks will also be on the card. Gates open at 4 p.m. with
the first green at 6 pm. Adult admission is $20, children 7-12 are
$7.50, and kids 6 and under are always free. For more information,
call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

8/26/07 Results

600 Micro Results:
Heat 1: 1. Jimmy Carpenter 2. Rob Vivona 3. John Carpenter 4. Travis
Unglert 5. Eddie Wagner 6. Drew Richmond
Heat 2: 1. Tim Iulg 2. Bill Unglert 3. Rich Mellor 4. Stewart
Carmichael 5. Tim McCollum 6. Jessica Lindmeier
Feature (20 Laps) : 1. Jimmy Carpenter 2. Tim Iulg 3. John Carpenter
4. Travis Unglert 5. Rich Mellor 6. Rob Vivona 7. Kyle Newcomb 8.
Stewart Carmichael 9. Eddie Wagner 10. Bill Unglert 11. Jessica
Lindmeier 12. Dan Erkoboni 13. Chris Dunckley 14. Dan Massey 15. Tim
McCollum 16. Chris Prychka 17. William Vanscoy 18. Justin Moench DNS:
Dick Robbins, Mike Toscan, Ryan McCollum, Chuck Palmucci

Demo Derby Results
Heat 1: Winner: Matt Phillips, Fans Choice: Scott Dunn, Official's
Choice: Charlie Spencer
Heat 2: Winner: Steve Curlis , Fans Choice: Lauren Palia Offlcial's
Choice: Lane Hirschfeld
Heat 3: Winners: Katie Lyons and Jarrett Horner, Fans Choice: Bradley
Horner, Officials Choice: Jason Dunn
Feature: Winner: Lane Hirschfeld

Enduro Results:
Feature (50 Laps): 1. Glenn Osborne 2. Sean Elk 3. Scott Dunn 4. Joe
Garey 5. Kenny Huchko 6. Steve Haegele 7. Billy Wroble 8. Chris
Prychka 9. Craig McDevitt 10. Howie Bott 

Vintage Car Results
Feature (15 Laps): 1. Wayne Weaver 2. Doug Dial 3. Ken Pullen 4.
Lance Ruban 5. Bob Carmella 6. Jimmy Horton Sr. 7. Tom Pettite 8.
Goop Mondelli

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results