Tad Cox is Spectacular Winning Career First

Date: 9/9/2007 5:08:18 PM

Tad Cox is Spectacular Winning Career First 

New Egypt, NJ (September 8 2007) - Tad Cox of Perkasie, PA has been
close on many occasions, however victory lane somehow always eluded
him. That all changed on Saturday night as "Mr. Spectacular" captured
his first ever Big Block Modified win in the 30 lap DIRTcar Modified
feature at New Egypt Speedway. Cox certainly earned the $3000
paycheck as he had to run down 2005 champ Frank Cozze to secure the

"This is incredible, my first big block win!," shouted an ecstatic
Cox in victory lane, "Last week I came from 18th to 6th, so I didn't
change anything on the car and it worked perfectly. This is such a
big deal."

Last week's winner Cozze drew second starting spot and took full
advantage of it as he lead at the outset. Cautions plagued the very
beginning of the race, as the race was slowed several times before
two laps could be completed. When the race finally settled down, the
final 29 laps were run caution free. Cozze looked strong from the
start and many in attendance were thinking that he was going to make
it two in a row. Cox, who started 4th, had other ideas though as he
passed Rich Rutski for second on lap 5 and set his sights on the
leader who was already 8 car lengths in front. Cox then began to
visibly close in on Cozze and was on his bumper by lap 12. The two
then dueled side by side for two laps before Cox powered under him of
of turn four just before halfway. Cozze continued to apply the
pressure, but Cox drove a flawless second half of the race. At the
checkered, Cox was 6 car lengths ahead of Cozze taking a very popular
win with the fans. Cozze settled for second with a strong run while
Rutski was a solid third. Newly crowned Orange County Fair Speedway
Modified champ Jeff Hoetzler invaded from NY to take fourth, while
Tom Carberry raced home fifth.

The 20 lap Sportsman feature saw Rocco Infante of Robbinsville, NJ
win his fifth of the season coming all the way from 19th starting
position. Point leader Willie Osmun finished in second, followed by
Justin Hoffman, 23rd starter Art Liedl and John Romano, Jr.
Todd Cray of Trenton, NJ won the 25 lap Super Stock event as he
claimed his third feature of the year. NES all-time leading feature
winner Billy Bauer was second, while Mick Search finished third.

Bill Liedtka and Pete Fogarty rounded out the top five.  
The 20 lap feature for the Lucas Ford SS Sprints was taken by Ken
Carberry of Fairless Hills, PA. For Carberry it was his 5th win of
2007. Early race leader Rick Cozze came home second, followed by

Mark Bitner in third. Fourth and fifth went to two drivers doing
double duty tonight, John Romano, Jr. and Art Liedl, who both posted
top five finishes in the Sportsman event as well.   

The Outlaw Stock 10 lap feature went to Brian Ludwig for the third
time this season, chased by 6 time winner Gary Klimeczak and Chris
Felber across the line.  The Crate 1 Sportsman race is currently
under protest and the results will be released as soon as a decision
has been rendered.

Unofficially Richie Cass Sr. took the win in the 12 lap event
followed by Pat Hires and Dave Gorbatuk.

Next Saturday night, September 15th, Cray Electric presents the
"Sportsman Challenge" as the Sportsman will take part in the very
popular elimination match races. DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds will
also be in action along with Super Stocks, Crate 1 Sportsman and
Outlaw Stocks.  Gates will open at 4pm with the first race at 6pm.
For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or
log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.

1st Heat: 1. Tom Carberry 2. Randy Laird 3. Jim Robertson 4. John
Keller 5. Bob Drayton 6. Steve Haggan
2nd Heat: 1. Bucky Kell 2. Sam Martz 3. Rich Rutski 4. John Miloszar
5. Pat Wall 6. Bill Paulmenn
3rd Heat: 1. Frank Cozze 2. Tad Cox 3. Carmine Infante 4. Jeff
Heotzler 5. Tommy Meier 6. Keith Fleming
B Main: 1. Jeff Heotzler Jr. 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Korey Keimig 4.
Matt Papiez 5. John Dixon 6. J.T. Trstensky
Feature (30 laps): 1. Tad Cox 2. Frank Cozze 3. Rich Rutski 4. Jeff
Heotzler 5. Tom Carberry 6. Bucky Kell 7. Bob Drayton 8. Jim
Robertson 9. John Miloszar 10. Carmine Infante 11. Dominick Buffalino
12. Jeff Heotzler Jr. 13. Keith Fleming 14. Randy Laird 15. Tommy
Meier 16. John Keller 17. J.T. Trstensky 18. Matt Papiez 19. Korey
Keimig 20. Sam Martz 21. Pat Wall 22. Bill Paulmenn 23. Steve Haggan
24. John Dixon
DNQ: Rocco Infante, Don Hollowell, Tom Hager, Art Lentini

1st Heat: 1. John Romano Jr. 2. Jack Swain 3. Mike Howardson 4. Bobby
Dumchowski 5. Marc Herman
2nd Heat: 1. Dave Hunt 2. Clay Butler 3. Glenn Pyatt 4. Gene
Stravinsky 5. Kenny Huchko
3rd Heat: 1. Justin Hoffman 2. John McClelland 3. John Salvatore Jr.
4. Mike Krachun 5. Rocco Infante
4th Heat: 1. Brad Freeman 2. Willie Osmun 3. Rich Scagliotta 4. Chad
Barney 5. Tim Apgar
1st B Main: 1. Glenn Hisko 2. Art Liedl 3. Steve Davis
2nd B Main: 1. Tommy Carberry 2. Alan Bleacher 3. Harry Marlin
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. Willie Osmun 3. Justin Hoffman
4. Art Liedl 5. John Romano Jr. 6. Glenn Pyatt 7. Dave Hunt 8. Clay
Butler 9. Tommy Carberry 10. Glenn Hisko 11. Jack Swain 12. Marc
Herman 13. Chad Barney 14. Steve Davis 15. Gene Stravinsky 16. Brad
Freeman 17. John Salvatore Jr. 18. Alan Bleacher 19. Mike Howardson
20. John McClelland 21. Tim Apgar 22. Rich Scagliotta 23. Mike
Krachun 24. Bobby Dumchowski 25. Harry Marlin 26. Kenny Huchko
DNQ:. Bob Hendershot, Richie Cass Sr., Joe Systo, Everett Taylor,
Bobby Butler, Bryan Papiez, George Idell Jr., Robin McTighe
Lou Farina III, Peach Cole, Steve Schmidt, John Bohadel, Barry Christ

Feature (25 Laps): 1. Todd Cray 2. Billy Bauer 3. Mick Search 4. Bill
Liedtka 5. Pete Fogarty 6. George Quinlan 7. Bryan Reed  8. Anthony
Bozowski 9. Matt Kall 10. Tony Giglio 11. Bob Vaccaro 12. Jason
Bubeck 13. George Marrero 14. Steve Davis 15. Kory Fleming 16. Al
Burdge 17. Don Shipley 18. Ron Coverly 19. Kevin Bifulco 20. Norm
Saxton DNS: Al Cheney

1st Heat: 1. Rick Cozze 2. John Snook 3. Tom Wyckoff 4. John Romano
Jr 5. Rich Janney 6. Robert Liedl
2nd Heat: 1. Ken Carberry 2. Bryan Kuhl 3. Mark Bitner 4. Art Liedl
5. Lee Taylor Jr. 6. Ian Borden
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Ken Carberry 2. Rick Cozze 3. Mark Bitner 4.
John Romano Jr. 5. Art Liedl 6. John Snook 7. Bryan Kuhl 8. Rich
Janney 9. Lee Taylor Jr. 10. John Stehman 11. Ed Hughes 12. Dan Biggs
13. Tom Wyckoff 14. Robert Liedl 15. Dave Martin 16. Glenn Sinibaldi
17. Nick Bardsley 18. Dan Wall 19. Ian Borden DNS: Jim Hoelterling

Feature (12 Laps): 1. Richie Cass Sr. 2. Pat Hires 3. Dave Gorbatuk
4. John Haegele 5. E.J. Harrington 6. Scott Cranstoun 7. Bryan Papiez
8. Peach Cole 9. George Idell Jr.

Feature (10 Laps): UNOFFICIAL RESULTS (Race under protest) 1. Brian
Ludwig 2. Gary Klimeczak 3. Chris Felber 4. Dick Robbins 5. Doug
Debray 6. Goop Mondelli 7. Bill Wroble 8. Rob Longo

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results