Carberry Covers Competition at New Egypt

Date: 8/3/2008 10:43:51 AM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Carberry Covers Competition at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (Aug. 2, 2008) - Tom Carberry of Hopewell, NJ won his
first event of the season Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap
Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway. Carberry took advantage of a
second row starting spot and then sped away to victory on Cray
Electric/Motorsports Night. The win was the sixth if Carberry's
career at NES.

Carberry wasted no time when starter Warren Alston dropped the green
flag on the event as he quickly charged to the front from his fourth
starting position. Once in front Carberry stretched his lead as
eighth starting Bob Drayton battled with Mike McAleer for the second
position. A lap 11 caution for a frontstretch tangle involving 2-time
champ Frank Cozze and one of last week's winners Tad Cox tightened up
the field, but Carberry again took control on the restart. Setting a
torrid pace, only Drayton was able to keep Carberry's familiar yellow
#23 in his sights as the two of them left everyone racing for third.
Drayton appeared to be closing in on the lead in heavy lapped traffic
when the third & final caution was displayed with just four laps
remaining. This put fifteenth starter Rick Laubach in position to
challenge as he had just moved into third place. However, Carberry
proved it would be his night as he sped away to claim the victory by
five car lengths as Drayton and Laubach battled over second. Drayton
was successful holding off the persistent Laubach over the final four
circuits as he equaled his best finish of the year in second. Laubach
settled for a strong third, followed by three-time champ Billy Pauch
and Tim Tanner, Jr. who both utilized a great final restart to
complete the top five.

Clay Butler of Milford, NJ raced to his first career victory in the
A-1 Racing Products Sportsman 20 lap feature event. Butler held off
challenges from Steve Schmidt and a fast closing John McClelland to
post his first ever win on his sponsor's night (Cray Motorsports).
Schmidt posted his best ever finish in the runner-up spot as he was
chased across the line by McClelland in third. Former champion Gary
Butler posted another top five in fourth while John Romano, Jr.
rounded out the top five.

Former two-time champion Rob Ormsbee of Wall, NJ picked up his third
win of 2008 in the 20 lap Super Stock feature. Ormsbee held off Bill
Liedtka and Mick Search to post his 20th career victory, moving him
within one of all-time leading Super Stock feature winner Billy
Bauer. Point leader Todd Cray took fourth on his sponsor's night
while Pete Fogarty crossed the line in fifth.

In the Cray Electric/Motorsports Super Stock match race Challenge,
Todd Cray took home the $500 top prize by winning the final match-up
over Rob Ormsbee. Ormsbee moved into the final by virtue of his
victory over Kory Fleming who had won the first eight matches in a
row. Fleming earned $400 for his efforts, with Ormsbee picking up

The 15-lap Crate-1 Sportsman feature found Richie Cass, Sr. standing
in victory lane for the fourth time. Cass defeated Ron Barnstead and
Bryan Papiez to claim the victory. The 15-lap Outlaw stock feature
was won in impressive fashion by former Wall Twp. Speedway champion
Vern McLaughlin. McLaughlin won going away over Spider Ensinger, Jr.
and Ed Tinsman.

Next Saturday night, August 9th, it will be Burnett Racing Engines
annual "Ladies Night" at New Egypt Speedway as the women take to the
track to race in several Powder Puff events. The Big-Block Modifieds
will once again headline the show, as the A1 Racing Products
Sportsman, Super Stocks, SS Sprints & Outlaw Stocks complete the 5
division racing card. Gates will open at 4:00 p.m. with the first
green at 6:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office at
(609) 758-1900 or log on to

8/2/08 RESULTS
Heat 1: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Mike McAleer 3. Sam Martz 4. Bob Drayton 5.
Rick Laubach 6. Stan Frankenfield Jr.
Heat 2: 1. Frank Cozze 2. Ricky Yetter 3. Keith Hoffman 4. Pat Wall
5. Brian Godown 6. Ron John Koczon
Heat 3: 1. Mike Hendershot 2. Tom Carberry 3. Jim Robertson 4. Tim
Tanner Jr. 5. Mark Forte Jr. 6. Dominick Buffalino
B-Main: 1. Dave Stonebreaker 2. Kenny Meisner 3. Tad Cox 4. Mike
Krachun 5. Rick Rutski 6. Keith Fleming (Pts Prov.: John Miloszar)
DNQ: Rick Wegner, John Salvatore Jr., Rick Holsten, Bill Paulmenn,
Doug Ostwald, Robbie Nixon, Chris Grbac, Bobby Sandt Jr., John Dixon.
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Tom Carberry 2. Bob Drayton 3. Rick Laubach 4.
Billy Pauch 5. Tim Tanner Jr. 6. Mike McAleer 7. Sam Martz 8. Ron
John Koczon 9. Pat Wall 10. Brian Godown 11. Keith Hoffman 12.
Dominick Buffalino 13. Rich Rutski 14. Mike Krachun 15. Kenny Meisner
16. Mark Forte Jr. 17. Mike Hendershot 18. Keith Fleming 19. John
Miloszar 20. Dave Stonebraker 21. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 22. Jim
Robertson 23. Frank Cozze 24. Tad Cox 25. Ricky Yetter

Heat 1: 1. John Stangle 2. Steve Schmidt 3. Danny Bouc 4. Willie
Osmun 5. Rocco Infante 6. Chad Barney
Heat 2; 1. Tim Apgar 2. Gary Butler 3. John Romano Jr. 4. Clay Butler
5. Will Dupree 6. John McClelland
Heat 3: 1. Bob Hendershot 2. Frank Cozze Jr. 3. Ryan Forte 4. Rich
Scagliotta 5. Dan Waisempacher 6. Donnie Kline
B-Main: 1. Ray Woodall Jr 2. Tommy Carberry Jr. 3. Mike Howardson 4.
Marc Herman 5. Kevin Vaclavicek 6. Lou Farina
DNQ: Alan Bleacher, Chris Allen Jr., Jeff Marcucci, Andy Visinski,
Joe Systo, Wayne Bechtel, Everett Taylor, Robin McTighe, Jimmy Watts,
Joe Baumann, John Larsen
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Clay Butler 2. Steve Schmidt 3. John McClelland
4. Gary Butler 5. John Romano Jr. 6. Chad Barney 7. Ray Woodall Jr.
8. Mike Howardson 9. Dan Waisempacher 10. Rocco Infante 11. Lou
Farina III 12. Kevin Vaclavicek 13. Ryan Forte 14. Bob Hendershot 15.
Tommy Carberry Jr. 16. Marc Herman 17. John Stangle 18. Frank Cozze
Jr. 19. Danny Bouc 20. Donnie Kline 21. Tim Apgar 22. Will Dupree 23.
Willie Osmun 24. Rich Scagliotta    

Timed-Dashes: 1. Rob Ormsbee 19.377 2. Todd Cray 19.434 3. Mick
Search 19.475 4. Billy Bauer 19.557 5. Kory Fleming 19.647 6. George
Quinlan 19.930 7. Bill Liedtka 19.994 8. George Marrero 20.029
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Mick Search 4.
Todd Cray 5. Pete Fogarty 6. George Marrero 7. Tony Giglio 8. George
Quinlan 9. Bob Vaccaro 10. Marty Derr 11. Al Burdge 12. Don Shipley
13. Billy Bauer 14. Kory Fleming 15. Kevin Bifulco 16. Norm Saxton
17. Kenny Guyer 18. Charlie Gunner 19. Harry Schaefer 20. Steve Davis
21. Jim McLaughlin

Feature (15 Laps:) 1. Richie Cass Sr. 2. Ron Barnstead 3. Bryan
Papiez 4. Pat Hires 5. Gabe Fox 6. Rob Stump 7. Brandon Guyer 8. Tom
Raneri 9. Lee Allen 10. Jon Haegele 11. George Idell Jr. 12. Darrel

Feature (15 Laps): 1. Vern McLaughlin 2. Spider Ensinger Jr. 3. Ed
Tinsman 4. P.J. Oliver 5. Brian Ludwig 6. Rich Reider 7. Rich Mongeau
8. Chris Pidgeon 9. Dan Collamer 10. Jason Saredy 11. Rich Smith 12.
Bill Connolly 13. Doug Bates 14. Whitey Miller 15. Stu Paer 16. Goop
Mondelli 17. Jay Bundy 18. Scott Dugan 19. Billy Wroble 20. Ben
Neidhardt 21. Rick Latza 22. Spider Ensinger Sr. 23. Terry Griffin
24. Rob Bretigan 25. Gary Klimeczak 26. Doug Debray

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results