Laubach and Cozze Sizzle in NES Dual Track Double

Date: 8/21/2008 8:48:17 PM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Laubach and Cozze Sizzle in NES Dual Track Double

New Egypt, NJ (August 20, 2008) - Rick Laubach of Quakertown, PA and
Frank Cozze of Wind Gap, PA were red hot Wednesday at the New Egypt
Speedway as they took top honors in the two 30 lap Garden State Dual
Track Summer Sizzler events.  Laubach charged by Billy Pauch and race
long leader Tim Tanner, Jr. over the final 3 laps to capture the
make-up feature held over from July 5th in exciting fashion. The
victory moved Laubach into the series point lead as he won for the
third time in four events. Cozze then grabbed the nightcap as he
out-dueled Keith Hoffman      

"This place is awesome, I love it here!" exclaimed a charged up
Laubach in victory lane, "Folks that is great racing, I was having so
much fun I wouldn't have cared if I had finished third." 

Tim Tanner, Jr. brought the field down to the start of the make-up
feature with Gary Hager, Laubach and Pauch all in tow. Tanner easily
opened up on the field and showed that he was going to be tough to
beat. Pauch worked his way into second by lap 6 and was able to stay
with Tanner but could not find a solution to Tanner's precision.
Tanner remained flawless despite Pauch pulling alongside of him on
numerous occasions as both carried their momentum around the high
side of the speedway. The final 10 laps saw Laubach suddenly find
that his car would work on the very bottom of the speedway. With just
6 laps remaining, Laubach brought the crowd to their feet as he
pulled even with Pauch, both of whom were glued to Tanner's rear
bumper. Each lap saw Laubach gain a few more feet, getting second
from Pauch on lap 26 and then executing the winning move by sliding
up in front of Tanner with just two laps to go. Tanner made a bold
move going into the third turn on the final lap, but fell just short
as Laubach held on for the crowd pleasing victory.  Billy Pauch
finished right on the top two's bumper in third, Sam Martz who
started in 20th charged home fourth while Keith Hoffman came from
14th to beat Jimmy Horton out for fifth on the final circuit.

In the regularly scheduled 30 lap feature, Keith Hoffman took command
of the field at the onset and paced the field for the first 10 when
Frank Cozze made a nicely executed move in turn one for the lead.
Once in front, Cozze set sail however Hoffman kept pace with him as
they were never separated by more than 4 car lengths. Following a
yellow on lap 21 for Billy Pauch, who lost the rear and hit the
frontstretch wall, Tanner and Laubach once again moved into
contention as the raced third and fourth. The duo caught Hoffman over
the final five laps, but were busy battling each other as Cozze
masterfully took his second win of 2008 at NES, the 24th of his

"The track was terrific tonight, as it has been for the last month.",
stated a happy Cozze, "The conditions changed throughout the evening,
but it stayed smooth, so you just have to work on your car to keep up
with the surface. That is what dirt racing is all about. I am just
happy to finally turn things around, we have been hurting ourselves
lately and hopefully we are beginning to change our luck."

The popular "Big Bang Bonanza" Modified Match races rained out on
July 5th were back tonight and saw Billy Pauch win the last 7
straight races to win a total of $800. Pauch beat Frank Cozze in the
final $500 to win race to cap off the event. Jimmy Horton pocketed
$100 by winning the first two, before calling out Pauch for race #3. 

Gary Butler of Phillipsburg, NJ picked up his first win of the year
in the 20 lap A-1 Racing Products Sportsman division. The two time
champ beat Tim Apgar to the finish followed by John Romano, Jr.,
Steve Schmidt, and Mike Howardson.

This Saturday night, August 23, the A-1 Racing Products Sportsman
will headline the card with the Modifieds racing leg six of the Dual
Track series at the Bridgeport Speedway. Joining the Sportsman will
be the Crate1 Sportsman, along with two features each for the Super
Stocks, SS Sprints and the Outlaw Stocks. Gates open at 4:00 p.m.
with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information, call
the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

Make-Up B-Main from 7/5: 1. Bob Drayton 2. Jimmy Chester 3. Chic
Cossaboone 4. Sam Martz 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Tom Carberry 7. Jim
Robertson 8. Ryan Godown
Modified Feature from 7/5 (30 laps): 1. Rick Laubach 2. Tim Tanner
Jr. 3. Billy Pauch 4. Sam Martz 5. Keith Hoffman 6. Jimmy Horton 7.
Jimmy Chester 8. Tad Cox 9. Bob Drayton 10. Frank Cozze 11. Ryan
Godown 12. Brian Godown 13. Ron John Koczon 14. Wade Hendrickson 15.
Kenny Meisner 16. Jimmy Horton IV 17. Pat Wall 18. Mike Hendershot
19. Jim Robertson 20. Chic Cossaboone 21. Gary Hager 22. Dominick
Buffalino 23. Tom Carberry 24. Darren McCaughey
1st Heat: 1. Ryan Godown 2. Pat Wall 3. Jimmy Chester 4. Jim
Robertson 5. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 6. Sam Martz
2nd Heat: 1. Rick Laubach 2. Wade Hendrickson 3. Jimmy Horton IV 4.
Dominick Buffalino 5. Rick Holsten 6. Tad Cox
3rd Heat: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Frank Cozze 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Keith
Hoffman 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Bob Drayton
B-Main: 1. Brian Godown 2. Mark Forte Sr. 3. Rick Wegner 4. Randy
Laird 5. Ron John Koczon 6. Gary Hager (Promoters Option: Mike
Feature (30 laps): 1. Frank Cozze 2. Keith Hoffman 3. Rick Laubach 4.
Tim Tanner Jr. 5. Ryan Godown 6. Jimmy Chester 7. Jim Robertson 8.
Wade Hendrickson 9. Dominck Buffalino 10. Jimmy Horton 11. Brian
Godown 12. Tad Cox 13. Bob Drayton 14. Gary Hager 15. Sam Martz 16.
Rick Holsten 17. Jimmy Horton IV 18. Mark Forte Sr. 19. Randy Laird
20. Mike Hendershot 21. Rick Wegner 22. Pat Wall 23. Billy Pauch 24.
Stan Frankenfield Jr. 25. Ron John Koczon
DNQ: Brad Freeman, Marc Herman, Chic Cossaboone, Tom Carberry, Bill
Paulmenn, Rich Scagliotta, Kenny Meisner, Darren McCaughey

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Gary Butler 2. Tim Apgar 3. John Romano Jr. 4.
Steve Schmidt 5. Mike Howardson 6. Ray Woodall Jr. 7. Marc Herman 8.
John Stangle 9. Lou Farina III 10. Chris Lane 11. Dan Waisempacher
12. Frank Cozze Jr. 13. Ryan Forte 14. Will Dupree 15. Clay Butler
16. Kevin Vaclavicek 17. Rich Scagliotta 18. Wayne Bechtel 19. Kenny
Guyer 20. John McClelland 21. Willie Osmun 22. Rocco Infante

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results