Romano & Conaway Wreaks Halloween Havoc at New Egypt

Date: 10/26/2008 10:24:48 PM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Romano & Conaway Wreaks Halloween Havoc at New Egypt 

New Egypt, NJ (October 26, 2008) -  John Romano Jr. of Cream Ridge,
NJ capped off the 2008 season at New Egypt Speedway by winning the
headline Crate-1 Sportsman 20 lap feature in New Egypt's Halloween
Havoc event. Driving the Barnstead Racing #55, Romano's win marked
the third different division that he has won in this season. Romano
posted 3 Sportsman wins and 1 SS Sprint win during 2008 at NES. John
Heagele crossed the line a solid second, followed by Steve Davis,
Mike Barone and Pat Hires. Chuck Buchanon crossed the line third but
was disqualified after post race inspection due to an illegal

The Outlaw Stock portion of the program was captured by former Super
Stock Champ Pat Conaway of Williamstown, NJ. Conaway started 20th and
grabbed the lead just before halfway in route to his first ever
Outlaw Stock win. 2008 champion Rich Mongeau settled for second,
while Jeff Dirkes, Jason Saredy and Spider Ensinger, Jr. rounded out
the top five.  

In the popular Demolition Derby, Steve Bagley of Bricktown, NJ bested
the 25 car field to take the win. Heats were won by Ken Owen of
Rockaway, NJ, Lou Davino of Monroe, NJ and Bagley. The field was then
filled by taking a fans choice by applause out of each heat along
with an official's choice.

The 50 lap Enduro was won by Bill Stocker from West Babylon, NY on
Long Island. Stocker grabbed from Tony Klimeczak before lap 10 and
ran away and hid from the field. Last year's winner Howie Bott
started on the last row of the 28 car starting grid and ended up
driving to an impressive runner-up finish. Klimeczak held on for
third, followed by John Meyer, Dan Birdsall and Joey Zvorsky, who
were the only other cars on the lead lap. 

This event concludes the 2008 season at New Egypt Speedway. There
will be a racing Swap Meet and Flea Market for all types of racing on
Saturday Dec. 6th from 7:30am until 2pm. The NES championship banquet
will be held at Trump Plaza in Atlantic City, NJ on Friday, January
30th at 7pm. For ticket information, call the speedway office at
(609) 758-1900 or log on to

Heat 1: 1. Richie Cass Sr. 2. Kyle Borrer 3. Cory Anderson 4. Doug
Heat 2: 1. John Romano Jr. 2. Steve Davis 3. Chuck Buchanon 4. John
Feature (20 laps): 1. John Romano Jr. 2. John Heagele 3. Steve Davis
4. Mike Barone 5. Pat Hires 6. Richie Cass Sr. 7. Bobby Dmuchowski 8.
Chris Allen Jr. 9. Eric Engstrom 10. Kyle Borrer 11. Doug Urbano 12.
Cory Anderson DQ: Chuck Buchanon

Heat 1: 1. P.J. Oliver 2. Jason Saredy 3. Joe Garey 4. Brian Ludwig
5. John Meyer
Heat 2: 1. Tom Wills 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Jay Bundy 4. Billy Wroble 5.
Doug Debray
Feature (20 laps): 1. Pat Conaway 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Jeff Dirkes 4.
Jason Saredy 5. Spider Ensinger Jr. 6. Gary Klimeczak 7. P.J. Oliver
8. Ron Dirkes 9. Brian Ludwig 10. Glenn Osborne 11. Rick Latza 12.
John Meyer 13. Billy Wroble 14. Scott Dugan 15. Tom Wills 16. Spider
Ensinger Sr. 17. Chris Felber 18. Dan Birdsall 19. Doug Debray 20.
Rich Smith 21. Joe Garey 22. Jay Bundy DNS: Vern McLaughlin 

Heat 1: 1. Ken Owen
Heat 2: 1. Lou Davino
Heat 3: 1. Steve Bagley
Main Event Winner: Steve Bagley

Feature (50 Laps) : 1. Bill Stocker 2. Howie Bott 3. Tony Klimeczak
4. John Meyer 5. Dan Birdsall 6. Joe Zvorsky 7. John Bilarczyk 8.
Bill Lester 9. Jay Bundy 10. Tom Wolfe 11. Tom Bilarczyk 12. Richie
Cass Jr.

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results