Pauch prevails over Laubach in NES Heavyweight Battle

Date: 4/26/2009 11:22:08 PM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Pauch prevails over Laubach in NES Heavyweight Battle

New Egypt, NJ (April 25, 2009) - Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ proved
just why he is the all-time leading winner at the New Egypt Speedway.
In a classic dog fight, on Cradle-Rock Developers Night, Pauch's
knack for NES proved to be a little too much for Quakertown, Pa's
Rick Laubach as "The Kid" caught, ran down, and completed the winning
pass in heavy lapped traffic.

"The track was really different tonight than it was last week. There
was a lot of bite and it was real racy tonight," revealed Pauch in
victory lane.

Laubach started 3rd by luck of the draw and took the lead instantly
as the field headed into turn 1. Soon after the first lap was
completed "yellow fever" seemed to take over. The first caution flew
for a backstretch incident involving Keith Hoffman (rear) and Tom
Carberry (axle), who were both sidelined for the rest of the evening.
Frank Cozze returned to the field on lap 5 after replacing the
magneto which made the No. 44 a non-factor on this night. After
starting 13th Pauch was now 2nd by lap 6 however, the cautions kept
waving as a multi-car tangle occurred in turn 3 involving Bob
Drayton, Dominick Buffalinio, Frank Cozze Jr., John Stangle, and Rick
Holsten. The caution flew again for Tim Tanner on lap 9 and then last
week's winner Gary Butler dropped from competition on lap 15.

Once all the cautions concluded, the action turned intense as Laubach
and Pauch pulled away from the field. As the two hit heavy lapped
traffic, Billy chipped away at Rick's lead. Meanwhile, Bucky Kell
reeled in the two leaders and made it at three-way battle for the
lead. You could have thrown a blanket over the trio of cars as the
lapped traffic certainly played a role in the outcome of the event.
Once most of the traffic was cleared it was still "Scooby" out front
but there was one more lapped car that Laubach just couldn't 'Shake'
away as that proved to be the turning point in the 30-lap main. Pauch
used his experience to maneuver around the leader and the lapped car
and went on claim his 72nd career win at the speedway. Laubach didn't
go quietly as he closed within a car length at the end but had to
settle for the runner-up spot. Rounding out the top 5 were Bucky
Kell, Mike McAleer who had a strong run, and Tad Cox who also looked

In what had to be one of the most entertaining Super Stock features,
defending track champion Todd Cray of Hamilton, NJ prevailed as the
20-lap victor. Cray jumped to the lead early on and then clipped the
inside wall only to spin in front of the entire field. Cray then
headed to the pits and rejoined the field on the lead lap. Two-time
champion Rob Ormsbee was now the leader however, that was short lived
as contact between his No.119 and former track champion Billy Bauer
saw Ormsbee's car spinning exiting turn 2. After officials put Bauer
to the rear for over-aggressive driving, the fireworks then ensued.
Both Bauer and Ormsbee were tailing the field side by side not happy
with each other as Ormsbee suddenly drove right into Bauer's No. 87
smashing the side of his car. This brought the fans to their feet but
turned out to be the end of the night for Ormsbee as he was black
flagged from the event. Meanwhile, Cray was now 6th on the move. A
classic three-car battle developed between Cray, Mick Search and the
leader and former track champion George Quinlan. After swapping the
lead back and forth Cray was able to take control of the race and go
on to capture the 20-lap event. Quinlan, Search, Bauer (from the
rear) and George Marrero rounded out the top 5.

Pat Wall of New Egypt, NJ captured his first ever career Crate-1 win.
Wall who formerly drove in the modifieds and had success has now
turned his attention to the Crate-1 and Sportsman divisions. Wall
grabbed the lead mid-way through the event and held of Jon Haegele at
the checkered. Rounding out the top 5 were Bobby Dmuchowski, George
Idell Jr., and Bryan Papiez.

Brian Roemer went back to back as he continued to show the way in the
Advantage Financial-Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Class. DJ Ruppert
and Sam Piazza completed the top 3.

Next Saturday night, May 2, New Egypt Speedway presents Little League
Night sponsored by B & B Towing and Auto Recycling. All kids 12 and
under that are wearing a baseball uniform will be admitted free. The
racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Sportsman,
Outlaw Stocks & Rookies. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race
starting at 6:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office
at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

Heat 1: 1. Frank Cozze 2.Bob Drayton 3. Mike McAleer 4. Dominick
Buffalino 5. Ron John Koczon 6. Johnny Guarino
Heat 2: 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. Gary Butler 3. Tad Cox 4. Sam Martz 5.
Bucky Kell 6. Tom Carberry
Heat 3: 1. Rick Laubach 2. Billy Pauch 3. Keith Hoffman 4. Kenny
Carberry 5. John McClelland 6. John Stangle
B-Main: 1. Mark Forte Jr. 2. John Salvatore Jr. 3. Mike Krachun 4.
Rick Holsten 5. Jim Robertson 6. Mike Hendershot
Points Provisional: Brad Freeman
Fan Provisional: Frank Cozze Jr.
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Rick Laubach 3. Bucky Kell 4.
Mike McAleer 5. Tad Cox 6. John McClelland 7. Sam Martz 8. Mike
Krachun 9. Mike Hendershot 10. Mark Forte Jr., 11. Jim Robertson 12.
Ron John Koczon 13. Brad Freeman 14. John Guarino 15. John Salvatore
Jr., 16. Dan Waisempacher 17. Gary Butler 18. John Stangle 19. Tim
Tanner Jr. 20. Bob Drayton 21. Dominick Buffalino 22. Kenny Carberry
23. Rick Holsten 24. Frank Cozze Jr. 25. Frank Cozze 26. Keith
Hoffman 27. Tom Carberry DNS: John Miloszar
DNQ: Chris Allen Jr., Marc Herman, Kenny Huchko, Bobby Sandt Jr.,
Chris Grbac, Willie Osmun
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Pat Wall 2. Jon Haegele 3. Bobby Dumchowski 4.
George Idell Jr. 5. Bryan Papiez 6. Ryan Forte 7. Gabe Fox 8. Bryan
Kuhl 9. Sam Piazza 10. Ryan Simmons 11. Tom Raneri 12. Rob Stump 13.
Lee Allen 14. Rich Steele DNS: Joe Reid
Timed-Dashes: 1. Todd Cray 18.884 2. Rob Ormsbee 19.021 3. Mick
Search 19.072 4. Billy Bauer 19.347 5. Jason Bubeck 19.481 6. George
Quinlan 19.708 7. Nick Vasquez 19.774 8. Marty Derr 19.828
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Todd Cray 2. George Quinlan 3. Mick Search 4.
Billy Bauer 5. George Marrero 6. Larry Bubeck 7. Marty Derr 8. Tony
Giglio 9. Kenny Guyer 10. Al Burdge 11. Jim Hewitt 12. Charlie Gunner
13. Dennis Seely Jr. 14. Jesse McLaughlin 15. Kevin Bifulco 16. Rob
Ormsbee 17. Jason Bubeck 18. Pete Fogarty 19. Nick Vasquez 20. Mike
Vaccaro 21. Norm Saxton 22. Jerry Confer
Feature (8 Laps): 1. Brian Roemer 2. DJ Ruppert 3. Sam Piazza 4. Matt
Vaillancourt 5. Ryan Simmons 6. Ryan Hoffman 7. Harris Kohen 8. Joe

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results