Kenny Carberry Honors Military with First Ever Big-Block Win

Date: 5/24/2009 1:45:52 AM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Kenny Carberry Honors Military with First Ever Big-Block Win

New Egypt, NJ (May 23, 2009) - Ken Carberry of Levittown, PA won his
first ever big-block Modified feature Saturday night as he captured
the 30 lap Joy Auto Parts Medal of Honor event at New Egypt Speedway.
Despite being very fast each and every week, Carberry had experienced
numerous problems which continually halted his efforts. However on
this evening, Carberry, who has won numerous open-cockpit races,
finally broke thru for his first ever big-block victory by holding
off perennial winner Billy Pauch in the closing stages of the race.

“This one is for my dad, He really loves these cars and I am glad we
could win one for him,” stated Carberry in victory lane, “You were
able to get a good bite up top and that is where I like to run, so it
worked out perfect for us.”

Carberry took advantage of his outside pole starting spot to vault
into the lead at the start of the event followed by Ron John Koczon
and John Stangle. With no cautions to slow the action over the first
11 laps, Carberry took full advantage as he opened up a comfortable
lead on the field with the exception of Mark Forte, Jr. and Tim
Tanner, Jr. who kept pace with the leader. At this point, defending
champ Billy Pauch was on the move as he grabbed third from Tanner and
was looking like he may be the driver to beat. But Carberry and Forte
proved to have a little too much as they raged on with their battle
for the lead while Pauch chased after them. With ten laps remaining,
Rick Laubach moved into the picture and soon occupied Pauch’s
attention as he tried to steal third. Laubach actually took third for
a couple of laps until Pauch grabbed it back again, and the final 5
laps saw Pauch and Laubach move in and challenge Forte for the
runner-up spot. With just three laps left, they both slipped under
Forte but neither had anything for Carberry who surged to the finish
in impressive fashion. Pauch settled for a hard fought second, with
Laubach equally impressive taking third. Forte. Jr. settled for
fourth and Bob Drayton rode a late race charge to his second straight
top five finish.

Jon Haegele won his first feature of 2009 in the 20 lap Crate-1
Sportsman feature. Last week’s winner Pat Wall finished second,
marking his third straight finish in the top two in the three races
run to date. John Micek came home third, chased by last week’s
Sportsman winner Ryan Forte and last time Crate-1 winner Bryan

Opening night winner Todd Cray of Trenton, NJ, got back to his
winning ways in the 20 lap Super Stock feature event. The defending
champion bounced back from a mid-race tangle to easily cruise to his
ninth career win at NES. Jason Bubeck drove a smooth race to finish
second, while George Marrero came home in third. Marty Derr and Mick
Search rounded out the top five.

In the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman
series, D.J. Ruppert won his third in a row, capturing the 8 lap
feature event. Ruppert has taken over the Rookie point lead with this
win. Brian Roemer, who won the first three Rookie features this
season, raced home second, followed by Ryan Hoffman.

Next Saturday night, May 30, New Egypt Speedway presents Faster
Pastor Night, presented by Agin Signs and K & A Excavating. The
racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Sportsman,
Outlaw Stocks & Rookies. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with the first race
starting at 6:30 pm. For more information, call the speedway office
at (609) 758-1900 or log on to


1st Heat: 1. Rick Laubach 2. Mark Forte Jr. 3. Frank Cozze 4. Rick
Holsten 5. Tad Cox 6. John Salvatore Jr.
2nd Heat: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Bucky Kell 3. Kenny Carberry 4. Mike
McAleer 5. John McClelland 6. Tommy Beamer
3rd Heat: 1. John Stangle 2. Ron John Koczon 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Bob
Drayton 5. Dominick Buffalino 6. Tom Carberry Jr.
B-Main: 1. Sam Martz 2. Dan Waisempacher 3. Mike Hendershot 4. Frank
Cozze Jr. 5. Mike Krachun 6. Brad Freeman 7. Pat Wall 8. Marc Herman
Fan's Prov: John Miloszar
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Ken Carberry 2. Billy Pauch 3. Rick Laubach 4.
Mark Forte Jr. 5. Bob Drayton 6. Tim Tanner Jr. 7. Mike McAleer 8.
Frank Cozze 9. Dominick Buffalino 10. Bucky Kell 11. Mike Krachun 12.
Ron John Koczon 13. Sam Martz 14. Mike Hendershot 15. Tommy Beamer
16. Dan Waisempacher 17. Brad Freeman 18. Tad Cox 19. Rick Holsten
20. Frank Cozze Jr. 21. John Salvatore Jr. 22. Marc Herman 23. John
McClelland 24. John Stangle 25. Tom Carberry 26. John Miloszar DNS:
Pat Wall.
DNQ: Chris Allen Jr., Kenny Huchko, Johnny Guarino, Gary Butler, Jim
Robertson, Mark Forte Sr., Ryan Tidman.

1st Heat: Jon Haegele 2. Bryan Kuhl 3. Lee Allen 4. Rob Stump 5. Gabe
Fox 6. Pat Wall
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Jon Haegele 2. Pat Wall 3. John Micek 4. Ryan
Forte 5. Bryan Papiez 6. Bobby Dmuchowski 7. Bryan Kuhl 8. Matt
Vaillancourt 9. Rob Stump 10. George Idell Jr. 11. Lee Allen 12. Tom
Raneri 13. Gabe Fox 14. Ryan Simmons

1st Heat: 1. Mike Vaccaro 2. Jason Bubeck 3. Nick Vasquez 4. George
Quinlan 5. Tony Giglio 6. Mick Search
2nd Heat: 1. Todd Cray 2. Marty Derr 3. Billy Bauer 4. Norm Saxton 5.
Ken Guyer 6. Larry Bubeck
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Todd Cray 2. Jason Bubeck 3. George Marrero 4.
Marty Derr 5. Mick Search 6. Kevin Bifulco 7. George Quinlan 8. Tony
Giglio 9. Larry Bubeck 10. Charlie Gunner 11. Jesse McLaughlin 12.
Dennis Seely Jr. 13. Billy Bauer 14. Nick Vasquez 15. Mike Vaccaro
16. Jason Dooley 17. Norm Saxton 18. Kenny Guyer 19. Al Burdge 20.
Jerry COnfer DNS: Chris Vadasz

Feature (8 Laps): 1. DJ Ruppert 2. Brian Roemer 3. Ryan Hoffman 4.
Harris Kohen 5. Ryan Simmons 6. Matt Vaillancourt

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results