Cozze Breaks Into The Win Column At New Egypt Speedway

Date: 8/9/2009 11:34:09 PM

Cozze Breaks Into The Win Column At New Egypt Speedway

New Egypt-(8/8/09).After a slow start to his season, Frank Cozze of
Wind Gap, PA finally made it to Victory Lane at New Egypt Speedway
after a late race pass on Willie Osmun on Beach Party Night sponsored
by AFX Fencing.

            After starting 14th in the feature event, Cozze was the
fastest mover of the race making it up to the top five on lap seven.
He continued his hard charge to the front and passed Osmun coming off
of turn four after a lap 22 restart and showed just how much his
season has turned around.

            "I want to dedicate this win to John Romano," said Cozze
during his Victory Lane celebration about his fellow driver who has
been very ill and unable to race all of this season. "I miss him here
at the track and I miss being able to joke around with him. With this
win tonight I really think we are headed in the right direction. We
had a slow start to the season, but we have gotten better and better
every week and this win proves it. I want to thank all the guys for
working so hard on this car and all the fans for sticking behind us."

            The feature started with Cozze's son, Frank Cozze Jr.
taking the lead on lap one. Cozze, however, would not be outdone by
his young son as was quickly making his way through the pack by lap
three. Cozze Jr. lost the lead on lap four to a very fast Tom
Carberry who was the guy to beat until he broke going into turn four
on lap 18, ending his evening and his chance at a victory. Carberry
surrendered the lead to second place Willie Osmun who for several
laps was able to hold off Cozze. But with a restart of lap 22 for Tom
Carberry Jr.'s spin on the backstretch, Cozze was able to pull
underneath Osmun to take the lead. Cozze looked to have some
competition coming from a hard charging Rick Laubach who moved into
second on lap 27, but his effort was too little too late. As Cozze
was making his way to the checkered flag, modified points leader
Billy Pauch began to slow going into turn one after suffering from a
flat tire. Cozze's victory Saturday night was his 25th career win at
New Egypt Speedway making his fourth on the all time wins list.
Rounding out the top-5 was Laubach, Osmun, Ron John Koczon, and Mike

            John Micek of Flemington, NJ captured his first Crate 1
Sportsman feature win of the season after Jon Haegele was
disqualified for being light at the scales following the event. Micek
fought hard to catch Haegele for much of the race that saw a pile up
on lap two take out several cars. Rounding out the top-5 was Bryan
Kuhl, Tom Raneri, Bobby Scherff, and Lee Allen.

Todd Cray of Hamilton, NJ won his sixth Super Stock feature event of
the season. Cray had been moving up through the field but never
looked like a serious threat until lap 13 when he was fighting for
third position. He finally took the lead from Shawn McCaughey on lap
15 and went on to score the victory and add to his points lead.
Finishing second was Mick Search followed by George Quinlan, Jason
Bubeck, and Marty Derr.

            Next Saturday night is Women on Wheels Night featuring
Powder Puff races. Joining the ladies on the track will be the
Modifieds, Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks, and SS Sprints. Racing is set to
begin at 6 p.m. For more information, call the speedway office at
(609) 758-1900 or visit our website at

Modified Results
1st Heat: 1. Tad Cox 2. John McClelland 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Brad
Freeman 5. Richie Pratt Jr. 6. Tim Tanner Jr.
2nd Heat: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Rick Laubach 3. Tommy Carberry Jr. 4.
Rich Rutski 5. Marc Herman 6. Tom Carberry
3rd Heat: 1. Frank Cozze Jr. 2. Johnny Guarino 3. Mike Hendershot 4.
Billy Pauch 5. John Stangle 6. Frank Cozze
B-Main: 1. Mark Forte Sr. 2. Sam Martz 3. John Miloszar 4. Mike
McAleer 5. Bob Drayton 6. Chris Allen Jr. 7. Mark Forte Jr. 8.

(Fans Provisional: Kevin Vaclavicek)

Feature (30 laps): 1. Frank Cozze 2. Rick Laubach 3. Willie Osmun 4.
Ron John Koczon 5. Mike McAleer 6. John Stangle 7. Tad Cox 8. Billy
Pauch 9. Mike Hendershot 10. Tim Tanner Jr. 11. Rich Rutski 12.
Johnny Guarino 13. John Miloszar 14. Richie Pratt Jr. 15. Sam Martz
16. Mark Forte Jr. 17. Bob Drayton 18. Marc Herman 19. Brad Freeman
20. Kevin Vaclavicek 21. Frank Cozze Jr. 22. Mark Forte Sr. 23. Tom
Carberry Jr. 24. Tom Carberry 25. Chris Allen 26. John McClelland
DNS: Dan Waisempacher
DNQ: Steve Haggan, Ryan Tidman, Doug Ostwald, Jimmy Horton IV, Bruce
Gsell, John Salvatore Jr., Jim Robertson, Mike Butler

Crate-1 Sportsman Results
1st Heat: 1. Ryan Forte 2. George Idell Jr. 3. Jon Haegele 4. Tom
Raneri 5. Ryan Simmons 6. Wayne Groover
2nd Heat: 1. John Micek 2. Bryan Kuhl 3. Harry Marlin 4. Pat Hires 5.
Gabe Fox 6. Lee Allen

Feature (20 laps): 1. John Micek 2. Bryan Kuhl 3. Tom Raneri 4. Bobby
Scherff 5. Lee Allen 6. Rick Wegner Sr. 7. George Idell Jr. 8. Ryan
Simmons 9. Gabe Fox 10. Ryan Forte 11. Harry Marlin 12. Pat Hires 13.
Rob Stump 14. Matt Vaillancourt 15. Bryan Papiez 16. George Furgeson
DQ: Jon Haegele
DNS: Rich Steele, Wayne Groover

Super Stock Results
1st Heat: 1. Mick Search 2. George Quinlan 3. Shawn McCaughey 4. Todd
Cray 5. Billy Bauer 6. Nick Vasquez
2nd Heat: 1. Rob Ornsbee 2. Jason Bubeck 3. Larry Bubeck 4. Marty
Derr 5. Pete Fogarty 6. Kenny Guyer

Feature (20 laps): 1. Todd Cray 2. Mick Search 3. George Quinlan 4.
Jason Bubeck 5. Marty Derr 6. Larry Bubeck 7. Billy Bauer 8. Bob
Vacarro 9. Tony Giglio 10. Kenny Guyer 11. Al Burdge 12. Charlie
Gunner 13. Rob Ornsbee 14. Nick Vasquez 15. Kevin Bifulco 16. George
Marrero 17. Pete Fogarty
DQ: Shawn McCaughey
DNS: Jesse McLaughlin


Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results