Speed and Experience Carry Pauch to 8th New Egypt Victory

Date: 8/16/2009 10:45:43 PM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Speed and Experience Carry Pauch to 8th New Egypt Victory 

New Egypt, NJ (August 15, 2009) - For the eighth time this season,
Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ was the winner of the 30 lap Big-Block
Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night. Pauch
charged from 17th starting spot and ran down young Frank Cozze Jr.
with just 3 laps to go to capture his 79th career win on "Women on
Wheels" night. Pauch had to use all of his experience to catch and
pass a very fast & determined Cozze Jr. who came very close to
posting his second career win in his rookie Modified season.

"I'll tell you what, Cozze Jr. is really good!" exclaimed an excited
but winded Pauch in victory lane, "The second half of the race the
track had some wet spots where you could get a good bite, and that is
where my experience came in to play. I was searching for those spots
and a groove where I could pass him and fortunately I was able to
figure it out before the race ended."   

Cozze Jr. started on the outside of the front row, but had to settle
for running second in the early going and fourth starter John
Miloszar grabbed the early lead. Miloszar and Cozze Jr. showed the
way as Kenny Carberry and Richie Pratt Jr. moved into contention.
Cozze Jr. wrestled the lead away from Miloszar and the top four moved
away from the rest of the pack until a lap 10 restart closed up the
field. Pauch and NY invader Danny Johnson, who started side by side
on row nine, were now both knocking on the door and began to
challenge on the restart. Pauch replaced Miloszar in the top four,
and again Cozze Jr., Pratt Jr who was now second, Carberry and Pauch
pulled away. These top four kept the crowd on the edge of their
seats, with Pauch racing side by side with Carberry for 5 straight
laps. The final restart on lap 18 found Pauch finally getting by a
tough Ken Carberry and then challenging an equally tough Pratt.
Another five laps and Pratt fell victim to the four time champion and
with five laps to go only a fast Cozze Jr. stood between Pauch and
victory lane. With the young Cozze Jr. holding his line and not
giving an inch, Pauch found the bite he was looking for in turn one
and drove under the rookie and on to his fourth win in the last five

Rocco Infante of Robbinsville, NJ won his fifth Sportsman feature of
the season in the 20 lap event. Infante passed Pat Wall for the top
spot on lap 13 and drove to the victory over former Super Stock champ
George Quinlan. Jeff Geiges brought the Mongiello Racing #94M home
third ahead of Jeff Marcucci and JT Trestensky.  

Kevin Bifulco won the 20 lap Outlaw Stock feature event for his first
ever win at the speedway after many years of trying. Bifulco charged
from 8th starting spot to second only to spin on lap 3 and restart at
the tail of the field. He then roared back thru the pack, taking the
lead at halfway, and after a spirited battle with Shanon Mongeau took
the lead for good on lap 13 and went on to the popular victory.
Defending champion Rich Mongeau stole second from Shanon Mongeau on
the final lap, while Jason Saredy and point leader Vern McLaughlin
rounded out the top five. 

In the SS Sprint/Limited Sprint feature, Johnny Wyers once again
topped the competition to take the checkered flag first. John
McClelland finished second followed by Ian Borden, Dan Biggs and Jeff

The Woman on Wheels Powder Puff events were won by Laura Liedl
(Modifieds), Mandee Pauch (Sportsman), and Debbie Gastelu (Outlaw

Next Saturday night, August 22, New Egypt Speedway presents 70's
night, with $7 off the admission price and a 70's dress up contest
with prizes.  With the Modifieds off for the week, the racing will
feature Sportsman, Crate1 Sportsman, Super Stocks, Outlaw Stocks & SS
Sprints. The Super Stocks and Crate 1 Sportsman will be competing in
their "Friends of Mike" feature events with extra money on the line.
Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For
more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log
on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.


1st Heat: 1. Frank Cozze Jr. 2. Johnny Guarino 3. Billy Pauch 4. John
Salvatore Jr. 5. Richie Pratt Jr. 6. John McClelland
2nd Heat: 1. Kenny Carberry 2. Dan Waisempacher 3. John Stangle 4.
Rick Laubach 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Chris Allen Jr.
3rd Heat: 1. John Miloszar 2. Mark Forte Jr. 3. Dominick Buffalino 4.
Mike McAleer 5. Danny Johnson 6. Frank Cozze
B-Main: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Tad Cox 3. Marc Herman 4. Mike Krachun 5.
Bob Drayton 6. Rich Rutski 7. Steve Haggan 8. Tim Tanner Jr. Pts
Prov. Sammy Martz, Fans Prov. Ron John Koczon
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Frank Cozze Jr. 3. Richie Pratt
Jr. 4. Kenny Carberry 5. Rick Laubach 6. John McClelland 7. Danny
Johnson 8. Mike McAleer 9. Willie Osmun 10. Mark Forte Jr. 11. Johnny
Guarino 12. Bob Drayton 13. Mike Hendershot 14. Tim Tanner Jr. 15.
Mike Krachun 16. Rich Rutski 17. Frank Cozze 18. Tad Cox 19. Dan
Waisempacher 20. Steve Haggan 21. Ron John Koczon 22. John Salvatore
23. John Miloszar 24. John Stangle 25. Dominick Buffalino 26. Sam
Martz 27. Marc Herman 28. Chris Allen Jr.
DNQ: Bruce Gsell, Pat Wall, Brad Freeman, Ryan Tidman


1st Heat: 1. Pat Wall 2. Will Dupree 3. Tim Apgar 4. Ryan Forte  5.
Bobby Butler 6. John Cornell
2nd Heat: 1. Rocco Infante 2. George Quinlan 3. Mike Howardson 4.
Chad Barney 5. Brian Roemer 6. Gene Stravinsky
3rd Heat: 1. Kevin Vaclavicek 2. Mike Lyons 3. Lou Farina 4. Jeff
Marcucci 5. DJ Ruppert 6. JT Trstensky
B-Main: 1. Jeff Geiges 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Everett Taylor 4. Andy
Visinski 5. PJ Oilver 6. Ryan Hoffman
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. George Quinlan 3. Jeff Geiges
4. Jeff Marcucci 5. J.T. Trstensky 6. Bill Liedtka 7. Will Dupree 8.
Brian Roemer 9. P.J. Oliver 10. Gene Stravinsky 11. Joe Baumann 12.
Andy Visinski 13. Everett Taylor 14. Ryan Forte 15. Mike Howardson
16. Pat Wall 17. Mike Lyons 18. D.J. Ruppert 19. Kevin Vaclavicek 20.
John Cornell III 21. Tim Apgar 22. Lou Farina III 23. Bobby Butler
24. Chad Barney 
DNQ: Joe Baumann, Robin McTighe, Jimmy Watts, John Marini, Alan
Bleacher, Dwight Laird, Wayne Bechtel

1st Heat: 1. Shanon Mongeau 2. Johnny Carpenter 3. Jason Saredy 4.
Brian Ludwig 5. Dan Collamer 6. Gary Klimeczak
2nd Heat: 1. Joe Mongeau 2. Vern McLaughlin 3. Mike Butler 4. PJ
Oliver 5. Rich Mongeau 6. Kevin Bifulco
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Kevin Bifulco 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Shanon Mongeau
4. Jason Saredy 5. Vern McLaughlin 6. John Carpenter 7. Gary
Klimeczak 8. Mike Butler 9. Tom Wolfe 10. Scott Dugan 11. Brian
Ludwig 12. Jarred Burdge 13. Ray Posick 14. Scott Dunn 15. Doug
Debray 16. Jay Bundy 17. P.J. Oliver 18. Tony Klimeczak 19. Doug
Bates 20. Ken Waisempacher 21. Joe Reid 22. Dan Collamer 23. Tom
Princiotta 24. Joe Mongeau 25. Don Shipley 26. Billy Wroble

Fast-Timer: Johnny Wyers 16.508
Feature (15 Laps): 1. John Wyers 2. John McClelland 3. Ian Borden 4.
Dan Biggs 5. Jeff Davis 6. Ryan Miscoski 7. Frank Cozze Jr. 8. Robert
Liedl 9. Steve Petry 10. Lee Taylor Jr. 11. Rob Pfister

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results