Pratt Scores Upset In First NES Victory

Date: 8/28/2009 1:34:51 AM

Pratt Scores Upset In First NES Victory

New Egypt, NJ (August 26, 2009) After making New Egypt Speedway his permanent Saturday night racing home Richie Pratt Jr. of Woodbury Heights, NJ scored his first victory on Wednesday nights special Tri Track series race. Pratt beat the best modified drivers from New Egypt, Bridgeport and Georgetown Speedways and scored an upset victory over an again dominate Billy Pauch after he broke coming off turn two on the final lap.

I gave him the lead earlier in the race when I almost spun all by myself there, so its only right that he gave the lead back there at the end, said a joking and excited Pratt in Victory Lane. Its very rare that Billy makes mistakes and tonight was one of those rare times that happened to work in my favor. I thought I really had a chance to get him there on the last start, but I knew he was going to be tough to get around. Its great getting to run with him and hopefully now that Im more familiar with the track I can run up front with him very race. Ive lost a lot of races on the last lap so it was nice to have one go in my favor tonight.

The race started with a lap two hard crash into the front stretch wall for Jimmy Chester, resulting in a right rear tire falling off of the car and ending his night completely. On the lap two restart Brad Freeman spun coming off of turn four collecting defending Tri Track Series champion Rick Laubach as well as Tom Carberry, Ryan Forte, and ending the night for Ryan Godown. Laubach was able to continue following his wreck only to suffer a flat tire on lap 22. Ever the fighter Laubach again returned to the track and drove up through the field to finish fourth. But the real fight was going on in the front of the pack between the leader Pratt and second place Pauch. On lap nine while fighting for the lead Pratt and Pauch traded paint on the backstretch with Pratt maintaining his lead. However, on lap 14 Pratt barely saved himself from spinning and surrendered the lead to Pauch. Just when it looked like Pauch was on his way to securing NES victory number 80 a caution for the then third place running Ryan Watts stopped car on lap 39 gave Pratt and now third place runner Jimmy Horton the chance to secure victory. On the final restart Pauch bobbled coming off of turn two which stacked up both Pratt and Horton. As Pauch faded with a broken axle, Pratt maintained his position and captured the victory while holding off a hard charging Horton. Rounding out the top-10 was Horton, Ron John Koczon, Rick Laubach, Willie Osmun, John McClelland, Johnny Guarino, Dominick Buffalino, Tom Carberry, and Steve Haggan.

Steve Buckwalter of Royersford, PA captured the ARDC Midget victory after passing a very impressive 16-year-old rookie Trevor Kobylarz just passed half way in the 25-lap feature event. After taking the lead Buckwalter battled hard with second place finisher Nick Wean for much of the final ten laps during the only race for the ARDC Midgets at NES. Rounding out the top-10 were Stephanie Stevens, Frank Polimeda, Trevor Kobylarz, Billy Pauch Jr., Dusty Heistand, Brett Arndt, Ryan Watt, and PJ Gargiulo.

This Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway is Bike Night. All those who arrive at the track on their motorcycles will be admitted for half price. There will also be 20 bicycles donated by the NES drivers and local bike shops raffled off for the kids during intermission. Headlining the on track action is the modifieds and joining them on track will be the Sportsman and Super Stocks. Gates open at 4 p.m. with $20 adult admission, $18 senior and military admission, $10 kids ages 12-15 admission, and children 11 and under free. For more information please visit our website or call the track office at 609-758-1900. 

1st Heat: 1. Tom Carberry 2. Jimmy CHester 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Steve Haggan 5. Sam Martz
2nd Heat: 1. Wade Hendrickson 2. Ryan Godown 3. Jeff Strunk 4. John McClelland 5. Mike
3rd Heat: 1. Richie Pratt Jr. 2. Ryan Watt 3. Brad Freeman 4. Johnny Guarino 5. Jimmy Horton
4th Heat: 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Billy Pauch 3. Frank Cozze Jr. 4. Rick Laubach 5. Mike McAleer
1st B-Main: 1. John Stangle 2. Willie Osmun 3. Rich Rutski
2nd B-Main: 1. Mark Forte Jr. 2. Bob Drayton 3. Scott VanGorder
Prov: Kevin Nagy, Ryan Forte

Feature (40 Laps): 1.Richie Pratt Jr. 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Rich Laubach 5.
Willie Osmun 6. John McClelland 7. Johnny Guarino 8. Dominick Buffalino 9. Tom Carberry 10.
Steve Haggan 11. Mike Krachun  12. Mark Forte Jr. 13. Billy Pauch 14. Jeff Strunk 15. Rich
Rutski 16. Ryan Watt 17. Frank Cozze Jr. 18. Scott VanGorder 19. Wade Hendrickson 20. Sam
Martz 21. Kevin Nagy 22. Ryan Forte 23. Mike McAleer 24. John Stangle 25. Brad Freeman 26.
Ryan Godown 27. Jimmy Chester 28. Bob Drayton
DNQ: Chic Cossaboone, Mike Hendershot, Frank Cozze, Kenny Huchko, DJ Ruppert, Rick Wegner, Ryan Tidman, Tim Tanner Jr., Clay Butler, John Salvatore Jr.

Feature (20 Laps): 1. Steve Buckwalter 2. Nick Wean 3. Stephanie Stevens 4. Frank Polimeda 5. Trevor Kobylarz 6. Billy Pauch Jr. 7. Dusty Heistand 8. Brett Arndt 9. Ryan Watt 10. P.J. Gargiulo 11. Eric HHeydenreich 12. Steve Lenig 13. Justin Grosz 14. Andrew Hannula 15. Jimmy Cammock 16. Chris Zrinksi 17. Tim Buckwalter 18. Greg Robinson Jr. 19. Tracy Readinger 20. Drew Heistand 21. Jason Rice 22. Dave Shirk 23. Ryan Smith 24. Carey Becker 25. Bruce Buckwalter Jr.

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results