Carberry is the "Top Cat" at New Egypt

Date: 9/6/2009 9:27:03 PM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Carberry is the "Top Cat" at New Egypt 

New Egypt, NJ (Sept. 5, 2009) - Tom Carberry of Hopewell, NJ won for
the first time this season at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night as
he took top honors in the 30 lap Modified Feature event.  Carberry,
affectionately referred to as the "Top Cat", grabbed the lead early
in the event and went on to post his 7th career victory on AllState
Insurance "Back to School" night. Carberry's only serious challenge
of the race came on the final 3 laps as Tad Cox closed in but could
not muster enough speed to make the pass.

"This feels great." stated Carberry in victory lane, "We have been
trying hard all year and it feels great to finally have everything
come together."   

Steve Haggan brought the 29 car field to the start, however the
yellow was quickly put back on when Tim Tanner got into the fence
hard in turn number one.  When the green reappeared it was once again
Haggan taking command and leading the first 8 laps. Carberry, who
started third, was quickly making his presence known as he was second
and putting pressure on the leader. Carberry completed the pass on
lap 8 and immediately opened up a sizeable lead. By halfway the top
two drivers in points, Billy Pauch and Rick Laubach, were in the top
five and looking for more. Tad Cox had other ideas though as he
quickly got by Haggan to take second and set his sights on the
leader, who was mired in heavy lapped traffic.  With all 30 laps
being run non-stop after the initial accident, Carberry masterfully
handled the lapped traffic to maintain his half-a- straightaway lead
until the final 5 laps, when Cox suddenly began moving in on Carberry
who was boxed in by lapped cars.  Cox got within 2 car lengths over
the final two laps but would get no closer as Carberry took the win.
Cox settled for a hard fought second, while Laubach crossed the line
in third, also very close to the leader.  Pauch came fourth and
Haggan posted his career best finish in 5th. 

John Haegele won his 3rd Crate-1 Sportsman feature of the season in
the 15 lap event. Haegele withstood numerous cautions to win the
"Friends of Mike Rogie" event for 2009.  John Micek crossed the line
second with Harry Marlin third, Clay Butler fourth and Rob Stump was

Larry Bubeck won his first career Super Stock feature event at New
Egypt Speedway. This is the second year in a row that a Bubeck has
won the "Friends of Mike" race, as his son Jason won it last season.
Finishing second was 2007 champion George Quinlan, followed by Mick
Search, Billy Bauer and the last year's winner Jason Bubeck. 

The SS Sprints saw John Wyers once again take top honors in their 20
lap feature. Wyers started fifth, and wasted no time getting to the
front in just 5 laps. Craig Rochelle charged up from the back and was
able to keep Wyers in sight but could never mount a serious challenge
in the non-stop event and settled for second. Tim Damiani, Jeff
Mueller and Dean Schaffer rounded out the top five. 

Next Saturday night, September 12th, New Egypt Speedway will present
Red, White and Blue night, honoring all Fire, Police and EMS workers!
The Big-Block Modifieds will headline the card which also will
feature Sportsman and Outlaw Stocks in action. Gates open at 4:00
p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information,
call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

1st Heat: 1. Steve Haggan 2. Marc Herman 3. Richie Pratt Jr. 4. Tim
Tanner Jr. 5. Rick Laubach 6. Mike McAleer
2nd Heat: 1. Billy Pauch 2. John Miloszar 3. Frank Cozze Jr. 4. Rich
Rutski 5. Tad Cox 6. Jim Robertson
3rd Heat: 1. Tom Carberry 2. Kenny Carberry 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Sam
Martz 5. Frank Cozze 6. John Salvatore Jr.
B-Main 1: 1. Johnny Guarino 2. Mark Forte Jr. 3. Willie Osmun
B-Main 2: 1. Bobby Drayton 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Kenny Huchko
Point Provisional: John McClelland
Fan Provisional: Mike Hendershot
Promoter Provisional: Clay Butler

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Tom Carberry 2. Tad Cox 3. Rick Laubach 4.
Billy Pauch 5. Steve Haggan 6. Mike McAleer 7. Richie Pratt
Jr. 8. Rich Rutski 9. Frank Cozze Jr. 10. Kenny Carberry 11. Dominick
Buffalino 12. John Salvatore Jr. 13. Willie Osmun 14.
Jim Robertson 15. Ron John Koczon 16. Frank Cozze 17. Johnny Guarino
18. Bob Drayton 19. Sam Martz 20. John McClelland 21.
Mike Hendershot 22. Clay Butler 23. Brad Freeman 24. Marc Herman 25.
Mark Forte Jr. 26. Kenny Huchko 27. John Miloszar 28.
Mike Krachun 29. Tim Tanner Jr.
DNQ: Bill Paulmenn, Doug Ostwald, Ryan Tidman, John Stangle, Tommy
Carberry Jr., Kevin Vaclavicek, Kevin Nagy, Bruce Gsell, Dennis Halas

1st Heat: 1. Ryan Forte 2. Bryan Papiez 3. Harry Marlin 4. Clay
Butler 5. Ryan Simmons 6. Pat Wall
2nd Heat: 1. John Haegele 2. Gabe Fox 3. George Idell Jr. 4. John
Micek 5. Rob Stump 6. Pat Hires
Feature (15 Laps): 1. John Haegele 2. John Micek 3. Harry Marlin 4.
Clay Butler 5. Rob Stump 6. Pat Hires 7. Rick Wegner 8.
Bobby Dmuchowski 9. Ryan Forte 10. George Idell Jr. 11. Bryan Papiez
12. Matt Vaillancourt 13. Joe England 14. Gabe Fox 15.
Rich Steele 16. George Ferguson 17. Lee Allen 18. Bobby Scherff 19.
Ryan Simmons 20. Bryan Kuhl 21. Pat Wall
DNS: Wayne Groover

1st Heat: 1. Mick Search 2. Todd Cray 3. Billy Bauer 4. Marty Derr 5.
Jason Bubeck 6. Nick Vasquez
2nd Heat: 1. Tony Giglio 2. George Quinlan 3. Shawn McCaughey 4.
Larry Bubeck 5. George Marrero 6. Larry Reed
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Larry Bubeck 2. George Quinlan 3. Mick Search
4. Billy Bauer 5. Jason Bubeck 6. Shawn McCaughey 7. Todd
Cray 8. Tony Giglio 9. Mike Vacarro 10. Nick Vasquez 11. George
Marrero 12. Kevin Bifulco 13. Rob Ormsbee 14. Charlie Gunner
15. Al Burdge 16. Jesse McLaughlin 17. Kenny Guyer 18. Norm Saxton
19. Marty Derr

Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Wyers 2. Craig Rochelle 3. Tim Damiani 4.
Jeff Mueller 5. Dean Schaffer 6. Jeff Geiges 7. Dan Biggs 8. Ryan Miscoski
9. Jeff Davis 10. Frank Smith 11. Harris Kohen 12. Rob Pfister

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results