Another Milestone for Pauch, Wins 80th career feature at New Egypt

Date: 9/20/2009 1:26:43 PM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Another Milestone for Pauch, Wins 80th career feature at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ-(Sept 19, 2009).Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway
marked another milestone in the long and storied career of  Billy
Pauch. Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ visited Modifed victory lane for the
80th time in his career on Red, White and Blue Night sponsored by C &
S Equipment. Pauch raced from 17th starting spot to the lead in just
8 laps and then held off several challenges from Rick Laubach over
the second half of the race to record his 9th win of the season. 

Mike Hendershot took the lead at the start of the 30-lap event,
however it was short lived as 11th starter Dominick Buffalino was on
a rail in the low groove moving up to second by just the second lap.
Buffalino wasted no time grabbing the lead on lap three, and one lap
later, 17th starter Pauch blasted thru for second as he was following
Buffalino up thru the field. Buffalino showed he may be the car to
beat on two consecutive restarts as he pulled away from Pauch with
relative ease, however his night was short lived as he coasted to a
stop on lap #8 in turn one, ending his great run.  Puach then
inherited the lead and all eyes focused on the next challenger coming
thru quickly, one time winner Rick Laubach.  Laubach would challenge
on several restarts, but on the long runs, he had just enough to stay
with Pauch. One final restart with 3 laps to go set up a final
shootout between the two, but Pauch was too strong on this night as
he posted the victory by 2 car lengths.  Laubach settled for second
and lost 4 more points to Pauch in the championship chase, as Pauch
now holds a 32 point advantage entering the final point race of the
season which will be held on Wednesday night Sept. 30th.  Bob Drayton
had another strong showing finishing in third, followed by Kenny
Carberry and Mike McAleer.  

Gabe Fox of Penndel, PA scored his first victory of the season in the
Crate-1 Sportsman  feature. Fox lead early, then rallied back past
leader Bryan Papiez to cross the line first. Finishing second was
Harry Marlin, followed by Pat Wall in third, John Micek fourth and
Bobby Dmuchowski fifth.

Rob Ormsbee of Wall, NJ won for the second straight race, defeating
point leader and defending champ Todd Cray in the 20 lap Super Stock
feature. Shawn McCaughey , Jason Bubeck and George Quinlan chased
Ormsbee and Cray across the finish line to complete the top five.

The Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club was on hand and competed on
the track with two 10-lap exhibition races. 

Next Saturday, Sept. 26, is the third and final stop of the NJ
Extreme Off-Road Racing Series.  Competitors from all over the east
and Canada are expected to be on hand to compete in the events which
get underway at 5pm.  The on Wed. Sept. 30, NES will make up last
Saturday's program of Modifieds, Sportsman and Outlaw Stocks. This
will be the final point race for the Modifieds of 2009.  For more
information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or visit our
website at

1st Heat: 1. John Salvatore Jr. 2. Bob Drayton 3. John Stangle 4.
Billy Pauch 5. Tom Carberry 6. Mike Hendershot
2nd Heat: 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. Steve Haggan 3. Brad Freeman 4. Mike
McAleer 5. Frank Cozze 6. Sam Martz
3rd Heat: 1. Rick Laubach 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Mark Forte Jr. 4.
Marc Herman 5. Tommy Beamer 6. Tad Cox
B-Main: 1. Ron John Koczon 2. Richie Pratt Jr. 3.Kenny Carberry 4.
John McClelland 5. Rich Rutski 6. Frank Cozze Jr. 7. Willie Osmun 8.
Johnny Guarino 9. Jim Robertson
Fans Provisional: Kevin Vaclavicek
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Rick Laubach 3.Bobby Drayton 4.
Kenny Carberry 5. Mike McAleer 6. Richie Pratt Jr. 7. John Stangle 8.
Frank Cozze Jr. 9. Tom Carberry 10. Willie Osmun 11. John McClelland
12. Sam Martz 13. Ron John Koczon 14. Jim Robertson 15. John
Salvatore 16. Steve Haggen 17. Johnny Guarino 18. Tommy Beamer 19.
Kevin Vaclavicek 20. Mark Herman 21. Tad Cox 22. Rich Rutski 23.
Dominick Buffalino 24. Mike Hendershot 25. Frank Cozze 26. Mark Forte
Jr. 27. Brad Freeman 
DNQ: Kevin Nagy, Pat Wall, Tommy Carberry Jr., Bill Paulmenn, Billy
Lowden Jr., Doug Ostwald, Bruce Gesell, Bobby Sandt, Kenny Huchko

1st Heat: 1. Bryan Kuhl 2. John Micek 3. George Idell Jr. 4. Gabe Fox
5. Pat Wall 6. Ryan Simmons
2nd Heat: 1. Ryan Forte 2. Bobby Dmuchowski 3. Bryan Papiez 4. John
Haegele 5. Rob Stump 6. Harry Marlin
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Gabe Fox 2. Harry Marlin 3. Pat Wall 4. John
Micek 5. Bobby Dmuchowski 6. Ryan Forte 7. Rob Stump 8. George
Ferguson 9. Joe Inglin 10. Doug Urbano 11. George Idell Jr. 12. Tom
Raneri 13. Lee Allen 14. Ryan Simmons 15. Bryan Papiez 16. Jon
Haegele 17. Bryan Kuhl 18. Steve Davis 19. Bobby Sherff 20. Rich
Steele 21. Jimmy Spellman 22. Dan Stoudt
DNS: Matt Vaillancourt

1st Heat: 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Shawn McCaughey 3. Jason Bubeck 4. Al
Burdge 5. Larry Reed 6. Pete Fogarty
2nd Heat: 1. Bill Liedtka 2. George Marrero 3. Tony Giglio 3.  4.
Mick Search 5. George Quinlan 6. Larry Bubeck
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Todd Cray 3. Sean McCaughey 4.
Jason Bubeck 5. George Quinlan 6. Larry Bubeck 7. Pete Fogarty 8.
George Marrero 9. Larry Reed 10. Mick Search 11. Al Burge 12. Marty
Derr 13. Jim Hewitt 14. Bill Liedka 15. Kevin Buffalco 16. Tony
Giglio 17. Norm Saxton 18. Mike Faccaro 19. Charlie Gunner 20. Jesse

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results