Laubach Beats Guarino in New Egypt Thriller

Date: 5/2/2010 9:53:31 PM


Route 539, New Egypt, NJ

Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Laubach Beats Guarino in New Egypt Thriller

New Egypt, NJ (May 1, 2010) - In what many believe was one of the
best nights in recent memory at New Egypt Speedway, Rick Laubach of
Hellertown, PA scored his second feature win of the young season in
the 30-lap Modified feature on Saturday night, sponsored by
Cradlerock Developers & Professional Water Services. Laubach used the
ultra fast and smooth surface to grab the lead from race-long leader
Johnny Guarino with just two laps remaining and then sped to the
seventh victory of his career at NES. In fact, all three feature of
the evening came down to the final lap!  

"Johnny was tough tonight, but I think my experience is the only
reason we won tonight," proclaimed Laubach in victory lane, "I know
that when your trying to win your first the nerves start up late in
the race, and now that I am a veteran I get up for these challenges.
I feel bad for Johnny, but we are here to win and I give it my all
every week. He will get one soon." 

Laubach started the race in 13th spot while Guarino charged to the
early lead from his front row start. Guarino looked impressive early,
as he pulled away at will from Mike Barone and David Van Horn. Van
Horn's night was short lived as he broke on lap 11 as he was
challenging for second. The restart found Laubach sitting on row 4
with Billy Pauch, and 2 laps later, Pauch broke in turn two setting
off a chain reaction involving Ron John Koczon, Gary Butler and Jimmy
Horton, with Koczon done for the evening.  Guarino continued to
control the event by as much as half of a straightaway while Frank
Cozze and Laubach moved into second and third. With 9 laps to go,
Laubach took second spot from Cozze and began zeroing in on the
leader.  Laubach chipped away at Gaurino's lead each lap until he
caught him with just 3 laps left. As the two-to-go sign was given,
the cars were side by side at the start-finish line with each person
in attendance having their own view of who was in the lead. Laubach
then took the lead in turn one, only to see Guarino take it back on
the backstretch as they hit lapped traffic.  At this moment the
yellow lights came on for Frank Cozze Jr. who stopped against the
homestretch fence. The official scoring reverting back to the
completion of lap 28, Lauback was found to be the leader by just .005
of a second on the AMD transponders. Laubach held on over the final
two laps to post his second win in three races while Guarino held off
Cozze for his best finish ever at NES. Cozze cruised home third ahead
of a fast Kenny Carberry and new-comer Mike Barone who also posted
his best ever NES finish.     

Rocco Infante of Robbinsville, NJ bounced back after a less than
stellar performance in the season opener as he raced side by side
with race-long leader Dave Hunt for the final 18 laps of the 20 lap
Sportsman Feature event. Hunt and Infante raced side by side lap
after lap without touching, till Infante finally grabbed the lead for
good with just two laps remaining for the 17th win of his career.
Hunt settled for second, followed by Randy Yaple third, Will Dupree
fourth and Pat Wall in fifth.    

Scott Dugan of Farmingdale, NJ posted his first ever win at New Egypt
Speedway taking top honors in the 20-lap Outlaw Stock nightcap. He
did this by holding off both PJ Oliver and Johnny Carpenter on either
side of him over the final 3 laps. Oliver held on for second over
Jason Saredy, Rich Mongeau and defending champ Shannon Mongeau.

In the third event of the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers
Rookie Sportsman series, Bill Lester became the 3rd winner in as many
events for the Rookies followed by Walt Larson and Glen Knell. 

Next Saturday night, May 8, New Egypt Speedway presents Mother's Day
night. Big-Block Modifieds, Crate1 Sportsman, Rookie Sportsman, 305
Sprint Cars & Fastrak Late Models will be on the card. Gates open at
4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more
information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

1st Heat: 1. Rick Laubach 2. John Guarino 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Gary
Butler 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Frank Cozze
2nd Heat: 1. Mike Barone 2. David Van Horn 3. Kenny Carberry 4. Bob
Drayton 5. Mark Forte Jr. 6. Mike Hendershot
3rd Heat: 1. Frank Cozze Jr. 2. Billy Pauch 3. Keith Hoffman 4. Cory
Anderson 5. Sam Martz 6. John Miloszar Jr.
B-Main: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Tad Cox 4. John
McClelland 5. Brian Truppi 6. John Stangle
Provisionals: Jim Robertson, Darren McCaughey
Pts. Provisional: Mike McAleer
Fans Provisional:Tommy Carberry Jr
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Rick Laubach 2. John Guarino 3. Frank Cozze 4.
Kenny Carberry 5. Mike Barone 6. Keith Hoffman 7. Bob Drayton 8.
Dominick BUffalino 9. Sam Martz  10. Mike Hendershot 11. Jimmy Horton
12. Willie Osmun 13. JOhn McClelland 14. Tommy Carberry Jr. 15. Gary
Butler 16. Cory Anderson 17. Ron John Koczon 18. Tad Cox 19. Brian
Truppi 20. John Stangle 21. Frank Cozze Jr. 22. Mark Forte Jr. 23.
Mike McAleer 24. Billy Pauch 25. John Miloszar 26. David Van Horn 27.
Jim Robertson DNS: Darren McCaughey
DNQ: Ryan Forte, Tommy Beamer, Dan Mazy, Tom Carberry, Timmy Tanner
Jr, Brian Cranmer

Rookie Feature (8 laps): 1. Bill Lester 2. Walt Larson 3. Glen Knell
4. Dave Damiano 5. Jarrett Rozycki
1st Heat: 1. Mike Lyons 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Dave Hunt 4. Randy
Yaple 5. Ryan Beltz 6. Ryan Simmons
2nd Heat: 1. Eddy Ridge 2. DJ Ruppert 3. Mike Butler 4. Brian Roemer
5. Marc Herman 6. Kyle Borror
3rd Heat: 1. Rocco Infante 2. J.T. Trsesnsky 3. Pat Wall 4. Will
Dupree 5. Bill Liedtka 6. Mike Howardson
B-Main: 1. Kevin Vaclavicek 2. George Quinlan 3. Clay Butler 4.
Everett Taylor 5. Alan Bleacher 6. Gene Stravinsky
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. Dave Hunt 3. Randy Yaple 4.
Will Dupree 5. Pat Wall 6. Bill Liedtka 7. Ryan Beltz 8. Mike
Howardson 9. Clay Butler 10. Marc Herman 11. Kevin Vaclavicek 12.
Brian Roemer 13. Alan Bleacher 14. J.T. Trsensky 15. Bill Lester 16.
Ryan Simmons 17. Everett Taylor 18. Gene Stravinsky 19. George
Quinlan 20. DJ Ruppert 21. Ebby Ridge 22. Mike Lyons 23. Mike Butler
24. Bob Lineman Jr. 25. Kyle Borror
DNQ: Chad Barney, Doug Stepanchuk, Joe Systo, Wayne Bechtel, Steve
Ramsey, Lee Allen, Dave Damiano, Walt Larson, Jarrett Rozycki, Ryan
Osborne, John Cornell, Robin McTighe, Glen Knell, Ryan Hoffman.

1st Heat: 1. P.J. Oliver 2. Rich Mongeau 3. Jesse McLaughlin 4. Scott
Dugan 5. Darren Cox 6. Marty Derr
2nd Heat: 1. Dan Collamer 2. John Carpenter 3. Jason Saredy 4. Gary
Klimeczak 5. Doug Debray 6. Brian Ludwig
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Scott Dugan 2. P.J. Oliver 3. Jason Saredy 4.
Rich Mongeau 5. Shannon Mongeau 6. Jesse McLaughin 7. Dan Collamer 8.
Marty Derr 9. Doug Debray 10. Spider Ensinger Sr. 11. John Carpenter
12. Billy Wroble 13. Gary Klimeczak 14. Brian Ludwig 15. Darren Cox
DNS: Kevin Bifulco, Herb Stout

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results