Gary Butler Wins Emotional Mothers Day Race at New Egypt

Date: 5/9/2010 2:57:27 AM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Gary Butler Wins Emotional Mothers Day Race at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (May 8, 2010) - Gary Butler of Phillipsburg, NJ drove
to an impressive victory at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night as
he captured the 30 lap Mothers Day Weekend feature event. Butler, who
started 8th, used the outside groove on the smooth but slick surface
to grab the lead by lap 13 from young gun Tommy Carberry Jr. and
cruise to the fourth feature win of his career. Butler was then
overcome with emotion in victory lane as he dedicated the win to his
late mom.

"I lost my mom just 3 weeks ago," an emotional Butler stated, "I
can't think of a better way to honor her than this." Butler then
explained his charge to the front, "I moved up to the outside groove
early, and the car just drove great up there, even thru the slick
spots. My crew did a great job preparing the car all week for this."

With a very strong wind blowing keeping the track quite slick, Tim
Tanner Jr. grabbed the lead at the start and paced the field in the
opening laps. Tanner, who had lost 2 motors in the first 3 weeks this
season already, looked strong early on and led till lap 7 when
Modified rookie Tommy Carberry Jr. to command. Carberry Jr. began to
pull away from Tanner as Butler was on the move and grabbed second.
By lap 13 Butler had caught Carberry Jr. and completed what would be
the winning pass. Butler checked out over the second half of the race
till about 7 to go, when Tanner got back by Carberry Jr. and began to
reel-in the leader. With the laps clicking off Tanner was able to
erase Butler's sizeable lead but just ran out of time at the end as
he finished a close second. Carberry Jr. added his best big-block
finish to the story as he crossed the line in third. Tommy Beamer and
Modified rookie Ryan Forte were fourth and fifth across the line.

Racer-X himself, Dan Mazy won the Crate-1 Sportsman 20 lap feature
Saturday. Mazy had everyone covered on this evening as he charged to
the lead and never looked back. Bobby Dmuchowski was second, followed
by Harry Marlin, Bryan Papiez and Lee Allen.

In the TriState RaceSaver 305 Sprint Car Series event Bill Case Jr.
lead wire-to-wire to capture his first ever tour win. Tim Damiani
raced across the stripe in second, followed Jeff Geiges third and
Doug Smith fourth and John Wyers fifth.

The Fastrak Late Models saw Steve Davis sweep the two 12 laps events
for the second time this season. Darin Henderson finished second in
both of them while Mike Williams was third in the first one & PJ
Oliver came home third in the second one. .

The Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers Rookie Sportsman
entered week four tonight, and Bill Lester won his second straight
feature event as he bested Jarrett Rozycki.

Next Saturday night, May 15th, New Egypt Speedway will feature a full
card of Big-Block Modifieds, Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks and Rookie
Sportsman. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at
6:00 pm. For more information, call the speedway office at (609)
758-1900 or log on to


1st Heat: 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. Darren McCaughey 3. Frank Cozze Jr. 4.
John McClelland 5. Willie Osmun 6. Jimmy Horton
2nd Heat: 1. Tommy Carberry Jr. 2. Keith Hoffman 3. Gary Butler 4.
Sam Martz 5. Tommy Beamer 6. Bob Drayton
3rd Heat: 1. Ron John Koczon 2. Tom Carberry 3. Rick Laubach 4.
Dominick Buffalino 5. Ryan Forte 6. John Gaurino
B-Main: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Mike Hendershot 3. Jim Robertson 4. Frank
Cozze Sr. 5. Mike McAleer 6. Mark Forte Jr. 7. Brad Freeman 8. Mike
Points Provisional: David Van Horn
Fans Provisional: Brian Truppi
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Gary Butler 2. Tim Tanner Jr. 3. Tom Carberry
Jr. 4. Tommy Beamer 5. Ryan Forte 6. Darren McCaughey 7. John
McClelland 8. Sam Martz 9. Mike Hendershot 10. Ron John Koczon 11.
Rick Laubach 12. Keith Hoffman 13. Billy Pauch 14. David Van Horn 15.
Mike McAleer 16. Dominick Buffalino 17. Mark Forte Jr. 18. Willie
Osmun 19. Jimmy Horton 20. Bob Drayton 21. Jim Robertson 22. Tom
Carberry Sr. 23. Mike Barone 24. John Guarino 25. Brian Truppi 26.
Frank Cozze Jr. 27. Frank Cozze Sr. 28. Brad Freeman
DNQ: Ken Carberry, John Stangle, Tad Cox, Cory Anderson, Brian
Cranmer, John Miloszar

1st Heat: 1. Chuck Buchman 2. Dan Mazy 3. Kyle Borror 4. Chris Allen
5. Darrell Delnero 6. John Amuick
2nd Heat: 1. Bryan Kuhl 2. Gabe Fox 3. Harry Marlin 4. Bryan Papiez
5. Lee Allen 6. Jimmy Spellmon
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Dan Mazy 2. Bob Dmuchowski 3. Harry Marlin 4.
Gabe Fox 5. Bryan Papiez 6. Pat Hires 7. Bryan Kuhl 8. Jimmy Spellmon
9. Kyle Borror 10. Chuck Buchman 11. Jim Houseworth 12. Bill Martino
13. John Micek 14. Chris Allen 15. Doug Urbano 16. Eric Engstrom 17.
Darrell Delnero 18. Jarrett Rozycki 19. Matt Vaillancourt 20. Dave
Damiano 21. Jon Haegele 22. Ron Barnstead 23. Rich Steele 24. Scott
Hyland 25. Lee Allen 26. John Amuick

1st Heat: 1. Chuck Palmucci 2. Jeff Muller 3. Tim Damiani 4.
Stephanie Palmai 5. John Sanders 6. Nick Bardsley Jr.
2nd Heat: 1. Jeff Geigis 2. Steve Wilson 3. Bill Case Jr. 4. Bobby
Sandt 5. Doug Smith 6. Darren Bulack
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Bill Case Jr. 2. Tim Damiani 3. Jeff Geigis 4.
Doug Smith 5. John Wyers 6. Jeff Muller 7. Bobby Sandt 8. Mike
McManus 9. Steve Wilson 10. Chuck Palmucci 11. Darren Bulack 12. John
Sanders 13. Ian Borden 14. Dean Schaffer 15. Donny Andrews 16. David
Swanson 17. Stephanie Palmai

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Steve Davis 2. Darin Henderson 3. Mike
Williams 4. Tony Giglio 5. P.J. Oliver
Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Steve Davis 2. Darin Henderson 3. P.J. Oliver
4. Mike Williams 5. Tony Giglio

Feature (8 Laps): 1. Bill Lester 2. Jarrett Rozycki 3. Dave Damaiano
4. Walt Larson

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results