Pauch Wins 2nd on Wild Night at New Egypt

Date: 5/16/2010 11:06:27 AM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone:  609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261

Pauch Wins 2nd on Wild Night at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (May 15, 2010) - In a wild night where anything could,
and did happen, Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ picked up his second
feature win of the young season in the 30-lap Modified feature on
Saturday night, sponsored by Roemer Racing. Pauch had to qualify thru
the B-Main for the second straight week, however this was just a
minor setback for New Egypt's all-time leading feature winner, as he
won the 83rd of his career. Frank Cozze Jr. was the story for the
most of the event before a tangle with a disabled car two laps from
the finish took him out of contention.  
David Van Horn started on the pole and brought the field to green
taking immediate command. Lap 3 saw Defending champ and current point
leader Rick Laubach stop on the speedway, done for the evening with
mechanical woes. Two laps later with the caution back on for Keith
Hoffman who was broke, leader Van Horn pulled it pit side as his
night was also finished. The restart found Frank Cozze Jr. grabbing
the point and pulling away from the field. All eyes were now focusing
on his dad, Frank Cozze, as he entered the top five by lap 10, after
starting 18th. Cozze reeled in his son and began to challenge for the
lead, but young Cozze was up to the challenge as he held sway. By
halfway Pauch was in the mix and by lap 20 had passed Cozze for
second.  As the laps clicked by, Pauch & Cozze Jr. brought the crowd
to their feet several times as they raced side-by-side thru the
corners. With just two laps to go, Ron John Koczon lost power in turn
one and slowed. Leader Cozze Jr. almost made a great move to miss
him, but caught Koczon's car with his rear bumper causing him to spin
to a stop. Pauch then cruised to the victory over Cozze, 23rd
starting Johnny Guarino, John Miloszar and Mike Hendershot.      
Chad Barney of Lakewood, NJ was in the right place at the right time
in the 20-lap Sportsman Feature event. George Quinlan & Rocco Infante
raced side by side into turn 3 on the final lap battling for the
lead, when the pair washed up the speedway opening the door wide for
Barney who drove thru it and on to his second victory of his career,
2 years to the day after his first. Infante bounced back for second
at the line, followed by Bob Lineman Jr. third, Mike Lyons fourth and
George Quinlan rounding out the top five.      
PJ Oliver won the Outlaw Stock feature on the final turn as he & race
long leader Johnny Carpenter got together briefly. Jason Saredy raced
home second followed by Rich Mongeau, Shannon Mongeau & Carpenter. 
In the third event of the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers
Rookie Sportsman series, Dave Damiano won his 2nd of the year holding
off Bill Lester and Jarrett Rozycki for top honors.
Darren McCaughey won the 15 lap Bonus Feature for the Modified
drivers that had won less than $600 in the last four weeks. This will
be a monthly event at NES this season.   
Next Saturday night, May 22, New Egypt Speedway presents Banner
night. Big-Block Modifieds, Crate1 Sportsman, Rookie Sportsman,
Tobias Speedsters & Fastrak Late Models will be on the card. Gates
open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more
information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

1st Heat: 1. Frank Cozze Jr. 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Dominick Buffalino 4.
John Miloszar Jr. 5. Brian Truppi 6. Mark Forte Jr.
2nd Heat: 1. John Stangle 2. Mike McAleer 3. Bob Drayton 4. John
McClelland 5. Willie Osmun 6. Mike Hendershot
3rd Heat: 1. David Van Horn 3. Tad Cox 4. Darren McCaughey 5. Frank
Cozze Sr. 6. Sam Martz
B-Main: 1. Rick Laubach 2. Billy Pauch 3. Tommy Carberry Jr. 4. Tim
Tanner Jr. 5. John Guarino 6. Keith Hoffman
Provisionals: Gary Butler, Ryan Forte
Pts. Provisional: Ron John Koczon
Fans Provisional: Tom Carberry
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Frank Cozze Sr. 3. John Guarino
4. John Miloszar Jr. 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Tom Carberry 7. Dominick
Buffalino 8. Bob Drayton 9. John Stangle 10. Darren McCaughey 11.
John McClelland 12. Willie Osmun 13. Gary Butler 14. Mike McAleer 15.
Tim Tanner Jr. 16. Sam Martz 17. Tommy Carberry 18. Frank Cozze Jr.
19. Ron John Koczon 20. Tad Cox 21. Jimmy Horton 22. Jim Robertson
23. Ryan Forte 24. Brian Truppi 25. Mark Forte Jr. 26. David Van Horn
27. Keith Hoffman 28. Rick Laubach
B-Feature (15 Laps): 1. Darren McCaughey 2. Tom Carberry 3. Mike
Barone 4. John Miloszar 5. Brad Freeman 6. Cory Anderson
DNQ: Mike Barone, Cory Anderson, Brad Freeman, Tommy Beamer, Brian

Rookie Feature (8 laps): 1. Dave Damiano 2. Bill Lester 3. Jarrett
Rozycki 4. Joe Dill 5. Walt Larson
1st Heat: 1. DJ Ruppert 2. George Quinlan 3. Clay Butler 4. Chad
Barney 5. Jimmy Blewett 6. Ryan Simmons
2nd Heat: 1. Mike Howardson 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Will Dupree 4. Pat
Wall 5. John Cornell 6. Gene Stravinsky
3rd Heat: 1. Brian Roemer 2. Rocco Infante 3. Kyle Borror 4. Mike
Butler 5. Mike Lyons 6. Joe Systo
B-Main: 1. Kevin Vaclavicek 2. Dave Hunt 3. Randy Yaple
Consi 2: 1. Tim Apgar 2. Ryan Beltz 3. Alan Bleacher
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Chad Barney 2. Rocco Infante 3. Bob Lineman Jr.
4. Mike Lyons 5. George Quinlan 6. Mike Howardson 7. Clay Butler 8.
Jimmy Blewett 9. Joe Systo 10. Alan Bleacher 11. Ryan Simmons 12.
Marc Herman 13. Kyle Borror 14. Brian Roemer 15. Mike Butler 16. DJ
Ruppert 17. Pat Wall 18. Kevin Vaclavicek 19. Randy Yaple 20. Tim
Apgar 21. Will Dupree 22. Dave Hunt 23. Dave Damiano 24. Gene
Stravinsky 25. John Cornell 26. Ryan Beltz
DNQ: Ryan Forte, Doug Urbano, Jimmy Watts, Jarrett Rozycki, Harris
Kohen, Walt Larson, Bill Lester, Ryan Osborne, Everett Taylor, Warren
Floyd, John Marini Jr., Bill Liedtka


1st Heat: 1. Shannon Mongeau 2. Jason Saredy 3. Marty Derr 4. P.J.
Oliver 5. Jesse McLaughlin 6. Dan Collamer
2nd Heat: 1. John Carpenter 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Rich Mongeau 4. Billy
Wroble 5. Doug Debray 6. Jarred Burdge
Feature (20 Laps): 1. P.J. Oliver 2. Jason Saredy 3. Rich Mongeau 4.
Shannon Mongeau 5. Johnny Carpenter 6. Billy Wroble 7. Brian Ludwig
8. Jarred Burdge 9. Dan Collamer 10. Paul Fariello 11. Darren Cox 12.
Scott Dugan 13. Marty Derr 14. Goop Mondelli 15. Gary Klimeczak 16.
Doug Debray 17. Kevin Bifulco 18. Jesse McLaughlin
DNS: Tom Princiotta

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results