Tanner Turns Luck Around With Dominating Peformance

Date: 6/8/2010 6:11:06 PM

Contact: Allyse Wolfinger
For Immediate Release
June 6, 2010

Tanner Turns Luck Around With Dominating Peformance

New Egypt, NJ-- After a rough start to
his 2010 season, Tim Tanner, Jr. of Doylestown, PA forgot all of his
early season troubles as he pulled into New Egypt Speedway Victory
Lane on Saturday night after an impressive Modified win on Downs Ford
night. After starting the night eighth Tanner quickly charged to the
front taking the lead on lap 7 and never relinquishing it.

“I can’t believe were here,” said an excited Tanner in Victory Lane.
“After the blown motor earlier this season and our tough year last
year this is awesome. I have to thank all my sponsors, my dad, and my
grandparents. I wasn’t here Thursday because we wanted to run well
tonight. We’ve spent a lot of money these past few weeks and we’re
going to have a good motor put in the car in the next few weeks.”

Darren McCaughey grabbed the early lead from pole sitter Mike Barone
on lap one and held the lead until lap seven when Tanner made his
move. On lap six Tom Carberry spun in turn four bringing out the
caution. Under caution Brian Truppi showed his displeasure with
fellow driver Ron John Koczon which resulted in Truppi being black
flagged from the event. On the following restart Tanner was battling
for third and on lap six was battling Barone for second when Barone
spun coming off of turn four collecting points title contenders Frank
Cozze and Rick Laubach. On the lap seven restart Tanner grabbed the
lead from McCaughey coming off of turn two. Points leader Billy Pauch
looked to have a strong car charging into fifth position on lap 7,
but never challenged for the lead finishing sixth. He and second
place in points Bob Drayton battled for sixth position for several
laps until Drayton pulled off on lap 24 with mechanical problems.
This battle was taking place well behind Tanner who was pulling away
from the field on his way to his first victory of the season.

1st Heat: 1. Brian Truppi 2. Billy Pauch 3. Ron John Koczon 4. Frank
Cozze Sr. 5. Mike Barone 6. Dominick Buffalino
2nd Heat: 1. Darren McCaughey 2. Rick Laubach 3. Frank Cozze Jr. 4.
Jimmy Horton 5. Willie Osmun 6. Brad Freeman
3rd Heat: 1. John McClelland 2. Tim Tanner Jr. 3. Sam Martz 4. Keith
Hoffman 5. Tad Cox 6. Mike Hendershot
Consi: 1. Johnny Guarino 2. Bob Drayton 3. David Van Horn 4. Mark
Forte Jr. 5. Gary Butler 6. Tommy Carberry Jr.
Points Provisional: NONE
Fans Provisional: Steve Haggan
7Feature (30 Laps): 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. Darren McCaughey 3. Willie
Osmun 4. Keith Hoffman 5. Sam Martz 6. Billy Pauch 7. Jimmy Horton 8.
Frank Cozze Jr. 9. Mike Hendershot 10. Brad Freeman 11. Ron John
Koczon 12. David Van Horn 13. Dominick Buffalino 14. Rick Laubach 15.
Mark Forte Jr. 16. Mike Barone 17. Gary Butler 18. Tommy Carberry Jr.
19. Steve Haggan 20. John McClelland 21. Bob Drayton 22. Frank Cozze
Sr. 23. John Miloszar Jr. 24. Tom Carberry Sr. 25. Tad Cox 26. Johnny
Guarino 27. Brian Truppi
DNQ: Kenny Huchko, Ryan Forte, John Stangle, Ken Carberry

Jimmy Spellmon of Butler, NJ scored his first career victory in the
Crate-1 Sportsman division Saturday night in only his third trip to
the speedway. After taking the lead on lap 1 from the third starting
position, Spellmon led the way until lap seven when tenth place
starting Bobby Dmuchowski passed him for the lead. Dmuchowski led for
several laps with Spellmon breathing right down his neck. Spellmon
re-took the lead with three laps to go when he passed Dmuchowski for
the final time. Dmuchowski finished second followed by John Amuick,
Gabe Fox, and Jon Haegele.

1st Heat: 1. John Aumick 2. Kyle Borror 3. Pat Hires 4. Bill Martino
5. Tim Paul 6. Bob Burgess
2nd Heat: 1. Chuck Buchman 2. Dan Mazy 3. Jon Heagele 4. Bobby
Dmuchowski 5. Doug Urbano 6. Eric Engstrom
3rd Heat: 1. Jimmy Spellmon 2. Brian Kuhl 3. Brandon Guyer 4. Ron
Barnstead 5. Gabe Fox 6. Wayne Groover
Consi: 1. John Micek 2. Rich Steele 3. Lee Allen 4. Dave Damiano 5.
Bob Rambone 6. Tom Raneri
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Jimmy Spellmon 2. Bobby Dmuchowski 3. Johm
Aumick 4. Gabe Fox 5. Jon Haegele 6. Bob Burgess 7. Brian Kuhl 8.
Bill Martino 9. Jim Housworth 10. Doug Urbano 11. Jarrett Rozycki 12.
Kyle Borror 13. Ron Barnstead 14. Tim Paul 15. John Micek 16. Dave
Damiano 17. Rich Steele Jr. 18. Wayne Groover 19. Tom Raneri 20. Bob
Rambone 21. Lee Allen 22. Dan Mazy 23. Chuck Buchman 24. Pat Hires
25. Brandon Guyer
DNS: Eric Engstrom
DNQ: Jim Housworth, Joe Dill, Scott Hyland, Bryan Papiez, Danny
DeStefano, Joe Wilgus, Glen Schneck, Bobby Scherff, Harry Marlin,
Eric Renninger, Matt Vaillancourt, Chris Allen Jr.

Steve Davis of Perrineville, NJ won the first of two Fastrak Late
Model Features. This was Davis’ fifth win of the season. Mick Search
crossed the line second followed by Tony Giglio. Darrin Henderson of
Pasadena, MD scored his first career Fastrak Late Model feature win
in the second feature. He passed PJ Oliver on lap four and held off a
hard charging Davis for the win while Tony Giglio finished third.

Feature (15 Laps): 1. Steve Davis 2. Mick Search 3. Tony Giglio 4.
Darin Henderson 5. Alessa Young 6. P.J. Oliver
Feature #2 (12 Laps): 1. Darin Henderson 2. Steve Davis 3. Tony
Giglio 4. P.J. Oliver 5. Mick Search 6. Alessa Young
Feature (8 Laps): 1. Bill Lester 2. Jarrett Rozycki 3. Joe Dill 4.
Dave Damiano 5. Danny DeStefano 6. Walt Larson

Chuck Palmucci of Bordentown, NJ won a shortened, caution plagued
TSRS 305 Sprint feature. After several cautions for hard crashes and
flips, Palmucci passed Jamie Christian of West Winfield, NY coming
out of turn 2 on a lap nine restart. This was Palmucci’s fourth win
of the five races the TSRS have run this season. Christian went on to
finish second followed by Ryan Smith, Jeff Geiges, and Tim Damiani.

1st Heat: 1. Jeremy Quick 2. Chuck Palmucci 3. Jeff Muller 4.
Stephanie Palmai 5. Bruce Kindberg 6. Daren Bolac
2nd Heat: 1. Jeff Giegis 2. Craig Rochelle 3. Tim Damiani 4. Jamie
Christian 5. Mike McManus 6. Bobby Sandt
3rd Heat: 1. John Wyers 2. John Sanders 3. John Matrafailo 4. Ryan
Smith 5. Bill Case Jr. 6. Steve Wilson
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Chuck Palmucci 2. Jamie Christian 3. Ryan Smith
4. Jeff Giegis 5. Tim Damiani 6. Craig Rochelle 7. Stephanie Palmai
8. John Matrafailo 9. John Sanders 10. Steve Wilson 11. Bill Case Jr.
12. Jeremy Quick 13. John Wyers 14. Bobby Sandt 15. Chuck Alessi 16.
Curt June 17. Mike McManus 18. Dean Schaffer 19. Ken Buckley 20.
Bruno Leombruno 21. Bill Singer 22. Jeff Davis 23. Billy Jaycox 24.
Jeff Muller 25. Daren Bolac 26. Bruce Kindberg 27. John Leombruno 28.
Doug Smith

Next Saturday night is Mechanics Night sponsored by C&M Automotive
Warehouse. The Big Block Modifieds will be back in action along with
the Sportsman and Outlaw Stock divisions. Pit gates open at 3 p.m.
with front gates opening at 4 p.m. Adults are $20, seniors 65 and
older and military with proper ID are $18, teens ages 12-17 are $10,
and children 11 and under are free. For more information please visit
www.newegyptspeedway.net or call the speedway office at (609)

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results