Bob Drayton Breaks Into Victory Lane

Date: 6/27/2010 9:18:40 PM

Bob Drayton Breaks Into Victory Lane

New Egypt, NJ--             One year to the day since his last Big
Block Modified win, Bob Drayton of Southampton, NJ got his first win
of the 2010 New Egypt season on Cradle Rock Developers Rookie
Graduation night. With five laps to go and Billy Pauch leading
Drayton was slowly reeling him. With three laps to go Drayton was
right on Pauch's bumper when Pauch suddenly slowed in turn 3
surrendering the lead indefinitely to Drayton.

"It was a year ago tonight that we won and before that it was a nine
year drought," said an excited Drayton in Victory Lane. "We are lucky
to get back here in a year. I know Pauch had problems, but we were
catching him there at the end. My friends Keith and Katrina are here
and she lost her sister a year ago so this is for them. I'm real
happy about tonight. Next month is the peak of racing and the peak of
my work season and my crew works with me both places. Without them I
wouldn't be able to race."

At the drop of the green flag pole sitter Steve Haggan jumped to an
early lead over Tom Carberry who was quickly challenged for second by
Brad Freeman. The real mover in the first five laps was Pauch who was
up to fifth after starting twelfth. On lap five Brian Truppi slowed
going into turn three bringing out the caution, and on the ensuing
restart Pauch took the lead. While Pauch pulled away from the field a
hard charging Drayton had quietly made his way up to third by lap
eight. A spin by Corey Anderson on lap 8 brought the field back to
Pauch, who again quickly pulled away from the pack on the restart.
The restart helped Drayton pass second place Carberry and set is
sight on Pauch. While Drayton continued his pursuit of Pauch
championship contenders Frank Cozze, Keith Hoffman, Rick Laubach, and
Jimmy Horton powered their way into the top-10, with Cozze being the
hardest charger in fifth. On lap 20 Cozze had caught third place
Carberry and after exchanging some contact gained the position. The
real excitement came when Pauch went into the three on lap 27 and
began to slow because of a broken axle. Drayton took the lead in the
next corner and went on to score the victory using small block power,
while Pauch settled for eleventh. Frank Cozze crossed the line second
followed by Tom Carberry,Jimmy Horton and Keith Hoffman. Rounding out
the top ten were David VanHorn, Rick Laubach, Willie Osmun, Sam
Martz, and last weeks winner Dominick Buffalino.

Continuing his dominance of the Sportsman division, Rocco Infante of
Robbinsville, NJ won his third feature of the season. Charging
through the field after starting eighteenth, Infante grabbed the lead
on lap 12 after passing Ryan Osborne who had a career performance
night leading the first 12 laps of the race. Marc Herman grabbed
second on the last lap passing Osborne to to steal second. Rounding
out the top-5 were Randy Yaple and Will Dupree.

John Carpenter of Howell, NJ scored his second Outlaw Stock victory
in a row with a dominating performance. Carpenter started tenth, but
on lap five took over the lead. Defending champion Shanon Mongeau
turned in a solid performance finishing second for his best finish of
the season. Shanon was followed close behind by his father Rich
Mongeau. Rounding out the top-5 was point's leader PJ Oliver and Dan

In the final race of the Cradle Rock Developers/Advantage Financial
Rookie class, Bill Lester won the final feature of the season and
locked up the championship. This was Lester sixth win of the season.
Rounding out the top-6 was Jarrett Rozycki, Dave Damiano, Walt
Larson, Danny DeStefano, and Joe Dill. All of the graduating rookies
are now eligible to race with the Sportsman and Crate-1 Sportsman on
their bi-weekly schedules.

Next Saturday night the URC Sprints make their only appearance of the
2010 season at New Egypt Speedway. This will mark the final regular
appearance by New Egypt URC Fast Time record holder Trevor Lewis
before he starts his 410 Sprint career. Joining him on the track will
be points leader JJ Grasso and local drivers Davey Sammon, Jonathan
Swanson, and Robbie Stillwagon. Joining the URC Sprints will be the
Big Block Modifieds in a 40-lap Tri Track Series event. The Modifieds
will also be running the "Fan Favorite" match races. Following the
race will be a huge fireworks display to celebrate the Fourth of July
weekend. Pit gates open at 3 p.m. with the front gates opening at 4
p.m. First race will take the green at 6pm. Admission for adults is
$25, seniors and military $23, teens ages 12-15 $12, and children 11
and under are free. All fans in attendance will receive an American
flag to show their patriotism during our intermission period.


1st Heat: 1. Ron John Koczon 2. Tom Carberry Sr. 3. Frank Cozze Sr.
4. Mark Forte Jr. 5. Sam Martz 6. Tim Tanner Jr.
2nd Heat: 1. Tom Carberry Jr. 2. Brian Truppi 3. Jimmy Horton 4.
Steve Haggan 5. Billy Pauch 6. Dominick Buffalino
3rd Heat: 1. Brad Freeman 2. Bob Drayton 3. John McClelland 4. Keith
Hoffman 5. Corey Anderson 6. Rick Laubach
Consi: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Ryan Forte 3. Mike Hendershot 4. David Van
Horn 5. Johnny Guarino 6. Frank Cozze Jr.
Provisionals: Tad Cox, Mike Barone
Fans Provisional: Sean Merkel
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Bob Drayton 2. Frank Cozze Sr. 3. Tom Carberry
Sr. 4. Jimmy Horton 5. Keith Hoffman 6. David Van Horn 7. Rick
Laubach 8. Willie Osmun 9. Sam Martz 10. Dominick Buffalino 11. Billy
Pauch 12. Mark Forte Jr. 13. Frank Cozze jr. 14. John McClelland 15.
Ron John Koczon 16. Tommy Carberry Jr. 17. Steve Haggan 18. Sean
Merkel 19. Ryan Forte 20. Mike Barone 21. Corey Andersen 22. Brad
Freeman 23. Johnny Guarino 24. Tad Cox 25. Brian Truppi 26. Mike
Hendershot 27. Tim Tanner Jr.
DNQ: John Miloszar, Jim Robertson, John Stangle, Gary Butler

Rookie Feature (8 laps): 1. Bill Lester 2. Jarrett Rozycki 3. Dave
Damiano 4. Walt Larson 5. Danny DeStafano 7. Joe Dill
1st Heat: 1. Randy Yaple 2. Ryan Beltz 3. Kyle Borror 4. DJ Ruppert
5. Ebby Ridge 6. Chad Barney
2nd Heat: 1. Marc Herman 2. Rocco Infante 3. Dave Hunt 4. Clay Butler
5. Mike Howardson 6. Bob Lineman Jr.
3rd Heat: 1. Brian Roemer 2. Will Dupree 3. Ryan Osborne 4. Kevin
Vaclavicek 5. Gene Stravinsky 6. John Cornell Jr.
Consi: 1. Tim Apgar 2. Jack Swain 3. George Quinlan 4. Mike Butler 5.
Alan Bleacher 6. Mike Lyons
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Rocco Infante 2. Dave Hunt 3. Ryan Osborne 4.
Randy Yaple 5. Will Dupree 6. Ryan Beltz 7. Mike Howardson 8. Kevin
Vaclavicek 9. Mike Lyons 10. DJ Ruppert 11. Marc Herman 12. George
Quinlan 13. Kyle Borror 14. Tim Apgar 15. Mike Butler 16. Alan
Bleacher 17. Gene Stravinksy 18. John Cornell III 19. Chad Barney 20.
Richie Cass Sr. 21. Bill Lester 22. Bob Lineman Jr. 23. Ebby Ridge
24. Brian Roemer 25. Clay Butler
DNS: Jack Swain
DNQ: Ryan Simmons, Dave Damiano, Everett Taylor, Danny DeStafano,
Walt Larson, Jimmy Watts, Robin McTighe, Wayne Bechtel, Jarrett
Rozycki, Joe Dill, Bill Liedtka

1st Heat: 1. Jarred Burdge 2. Scott Dugan 3. Dan Collamer 4. P.J.
Oliver 5. Shanon Mongeau 6. Rich Mongeau
2nd Heat: 1. John Carpenter 2. Billy Wroble 3. Jason Saredy 4. Darren
Cox 5. Tom Princiotta 6. Brian Ludwig
Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Carpenter 2. Shanon Mongeau 3. Rich
Mongeau 4. P.J. Oliver 5. Dan Collamer 6. Scott Dugan 7. Jarred
Burdge 8. Darren Cox 9. Tom Princiotta 10. Brian Ludwig 11. Jason
Saredy 12. Gary Klimeczak 13. Tony Klimeczak 14. Ray Posick 15. Billy
DNS: Billy Wroble, Jesse McLaughlin

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results