Laubach Plays the Grinch; Steals Christmas from Pauch at NES

Date: 7/18/2010 3:50:17 AM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Laubach Plays the Grinch; Steals Christmas from Pauch at NES

New Egypt, NJ (July 17, 2010) - Rick Laubach of Hellertown, PA did
his best imitation of the Grinch as he passed Billy Pauch with less
than two laps remaining to steal his fourth win of the season in the
30-lap Modified feature on Christmas in July night, sponsored by
Advantage Financial Mortgage Bankers. Laubach started in 18th
position and charged thru the field, passing leader Pauch in turn
three on lap 29 and then holding off the 4 time champ to get his
ninth career victory.   

"I think I learned that from Pauch," announced Laubach in victory
lane, "He has done that to me several times in the past, so it feels
nice to return the favor. Great races like this are why fans come
out, and we gave them their money's worth tonight!" 

Sean Merkel wasted no time grabbing control at the start of the 30
lap event taking full advantage of his pole starting position. Merkel
set the pace early as John Stangle and Brad Freeman gave chase.
Pauch, who has uncharacteristically struggled the last three weeks,
was on the move from his rare ninth starting spot as he raced into
second position by lap 11. Pauch was reeling in Merkel when the
yellow was displayed two laps past halfway finding Laubach now
running in the top five after starting 18th. On the ensuing restart
Merkel was able to hold off Pauch for a lap, but Pauch proved too
strong as he took command on lap 19. Pauch seemed to be headed to
another win when the yellow was displayed with four laps to go. The
restart found Laubach needing only one lap to get by Merkel and take
aim on Pauch. Laubach quickly ran down Pauch and after working hard
to get by on the inside for almost 2 laps, He made the move work on
the backstretch of lap 29 as he squeezed into the lead in turn three
and never looked back. Pauch ran hard to the end but could not get
back by as Laubach won by just a little less than a car length.
Darren McCaughey ran an excellent race finishing third, while race
long leader Merkel settled for fourth.  Keith Hoffman also raced up
from deep in the pack to finish in the fifth spot.      

Ebby Ridge of Upper Black Eddy, PA finally broke thru for his first
ever feature win at New Egypt on Saturday night as he withstood a
late race restart and a last turn challenge from Randy Yaple. Ridge
lead the race wire to wire but held off all comers throughout the
20-lap event break into victory lane. Yaple crossed the line second
only to be DQ'd during the post race inspection. Bob Lineman Jr. was
credited with second, followed by defending champ Rocco Infante, Mike
Lyons and Kyle Borror.  

John Carpenter of Howell, NJ posted his third straight victory at New
Egypt Speedway taking top honors again in the 20-lap Outlaw Stock
nightcap. Carpenter dove under Brian Ludwig and PJ Oliver as they
battled for the lead with just four laps remaining to post the win.
Oliver drove home second, race-long leader Ludwig settled for third,
while defending champ Shanon Mongeau and 2008 champ Rich Mongeau
rounded out the top five.

Next Saturday night, July 24, New Egypt Speedway presents Legends
Night sponsored by the GiveBack Foundation of central NJ. All fans
attending are asked to bring one canned good to donate to the
Foundation which does great work helping people in need with Life
altering circumstances. Stock car Legends such as Stan Ploski, Billy
Osmun, Ken Brenn Sr. & Jr., Fritz Epright, Johnny Leach, Bob Pickell,
Newt Hartman, Fred Dmuchowski, & Daryl Carmen are just some of the
names expected to be in attendance signing autographs and doing a
meet and greet with the fans. Big-Block Modifieds, Crate-1 Sportsman,
Fastrak Late Models & the Tobias SpeedSTRs will be on the card, along
with the popular Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club & the newly
formed Flemington Speedway Historical Society. Gates open at 4:00
p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For more information,
call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

NES AGATE 07/17/10

Heat 1: 1. Billy Pauch 2. John Stangle 3. Sean Merkel 4. Rick Laubach
5. Tommy Carberry Jr. 6. Keith Hoffman
Heat 2: 1. Brad Freeman 2. Willie Osmun 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Darren
McCaughey 5. David Van Horn 6. Dominick Buffalino
Heat 3: 1. Mike Barone 2. Mark Forte Jr. 3. Frank Cozze Jr. 4. Bob
Drayton 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Tad Cox
Consi: 1. Frank Cozze 2. Brian Truppi 3. John McClelland 4. Mike
Hendershot 5. Sam Martz 6. Ryan Forte
Provisionals: Ron John Koczon, Tom Carberry
Fans Provisional: John Salvatore Jr.
Pts. Provisional: Johnny Guarino
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Rick Laubach 2. Billy Pauch 3. Darren McCaughey
4. Sean Merkel 5. Keith Hoffman 6. Willie Osmun 7. Bob Drayton 8.
Dominick Buffalino 9. Johnny Guarino 10. Jimmy Horton 11. John
McClelland 13. Mike Barone 14. David Van Horn 15. Mike Hendershot 16.
Ryan Forte 17. Frank Cozze 18. Mark Forte Jr. 19. Frank Cozze Jr. 20.
Tommy Carberry Jr. 21. John Stangle 22. Brad Freeman 23. Brian Truppi
24. Tad Cox 25. Tim Tanner Jr. 26. Sam Martz 27. Ron John Koczon DNS:
Tom Carberry
DNQ: Steve Haggan, Corey Anderson, Brian Crammer, John Miloszar Jr.,
Gary Butler.

Heat 1: 1. Brian Roemer 2. John Cornell 3. Chad Barney 4. Mike
Howardson 5. Randy Yaple 6. Ryan Simmons
Heat 2: 1. Marc Herman 2. Mike Lyons 3. Ebby Ridge 4. Ryan Beltz 5.
Kyle Borror 6. Clay Butler
Heat 3: 1. George Quinlan 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Rocco Infante 4. Mike
Butler 5. Will Dupree 6. Tim Apgar
Consi: 1. Dave Hunt 2. DJ Ruppert 3. Jimmy Blewett 4. Kevin
Vaclavicek 5. Ryan Osborne 6. Joe Funk
Pts. Provisional: Gene Stravinsky
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Ebby Ridge 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Rocco Infante
4. Mike Lyons 5. Kyle Borror 6. Will Dupree 7. Chad Barney 8. Kevin
Vaclavicek 9. George Quinlan 10. Mike Butler 11. Mike Howardson
12. Clay Butler 13. Marc Herman 14. Dave Hunt 15. Ryan Beltz 16. Eric
Engstrom 17. Joe Funk 18. Ryan Simmons 19. DJ Ruppert 20. Jimmy
Blewett 21. Ryan Osborne 22. Tim Apgar 23. Gene Stravinksy 24. John
Cornell DQ: Randy Yaple DNS: Brian Roemer
DNQ: Walt Larson, Danny Roslin, Everett Taylor, Robin McTighe, Alan
Bleacher, Eric Renninger, Richie Cass Sr., Steve Ramsey, Mike
Krachun, Bill Martino, Bill Liedtka, Wayne Bechtel.

Heat 1: 1. Billy Wroble 2. Dan Collamer 3. Brian Ludwig 4. P.J.
Oliver 5. Jarred Burdge 6. Tom Princiotta
Heat 2: 1. Shanon Mongeau 2. Scott Dugan 3. Jason Saredy 4. Spider
Ensinger Sr. 5. Darren Cox 6. Dennis Seely
Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Carpenter 2. PJ Oliver 3. Brian Ludwig 4.
Shanon Mongeau 5. Rich Mongeau 6. Marty Derr 7. Scott Dugan 8. Dan
Collamer 9. Spider Ensinger Sr. 10. Tom Princiotta 11. Dennis
Seely 12. Darren Cox 13. Ray Posick 14. Tony Klimeczak 15. Jarrod
Burdge 16. Gary Klimeczak 17. Billy Wroble 18. Jesse McLaughlin 19.
Jason Saredy

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results