Brian Truppi is Wins First at New Egypt

Date: 7/25/2010 1:55:42 PM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Brian Truppi is Wins First at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (July 24, 2010) – Brian Truppi of Greenbrook, NJ
picked up the first victory of his career at New Egypt Speedway on
Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap Legends Night feature event
sponsored by The GiveBack Foundation. Truppi held off legend Billy
Pauch over the final 12 laps, winning by just over a car length. The
win gives Truppi a much coveted guaranteed starting spot in next
week’s “Friend’s of Mike” 100 lapper paying $15,000 to win and $500
to start.

“Billy is one of the best, he raced me hard and clean every lap,”
stated an emotional Truppi in victory lane, “This week will mark the
2 year anniversary of when I lost my dad, and I want to dedicate this
to him.”

Truppi started 6th and immediately charged around the outside and
into second at the drop of the green flag. Truppi chased after early
leader John Stangle until the yellow flag appeared on lap 6. On the
restart Stangle chose the outside lane, and Truppi made him pay for
that decision as he used the inside lane to slide into the lead, one
he would never relinquish. Once in front Truppi pulled away at will
and when the next yellow appeared just after halfway Pauch was
already up to fourth position. Ron John Koczon was now up to second
and looked to be a force to be reckoned with however motor problems
forced him out of the event before the restart. Pauch wasted no time
getting to second and a lap 18 restart found Pauch diving under
Truppi in turn one trying to pull off the slider unsuccessfully.
Pauch would try this move several times over the next 5 laps, and
each time Truppi had an answer as he hit his marks laps lap after
lap. With just 5 laps left, Truppi again opened up 5 car lengths on
Pauch as Willie Osmun tried to join in the fun challenging Pauch for
second. In typical Pauch fashion, he was not done and rallied back
one final time for a chance at some last lap heroics, however Truppi
just had too much on this night as he never let Pauch along side of
him taking the checkered flag by one car length. Pauch had to settle
for second for the second straight week followed by Osmun in third.
Stangle turned in a nice performance with a season best fourth place
run and Keith Hoffman rounded out the top five.

Dan Mazy gave his mom an added Birthday present as he won his second
Crate-1 Sportsman feature of the season. Bob Burgess posted his best
finish ever at NES finishing second. Brian Papiez finished third for
the second race in a row, followed by point leader Kyle Borror and
Chris Allen Jr.

In the third appearance of the Tobias SpeedSTRS, former NES Super
Stock standout Mario Page won his second straight event after going 8
years without one. Page has finished first or second in all three
events this season. Tyler Potts was second, chased across the line by
early leader Don Zrinski, Kyle Hieber & NES Sportsman regular Mike

The Fastrak Late Models ran two 12 lap features with Outlaw Stock
hotshoe PJ Oliver winning his career first in the first one and
Darrin Henderson of Pasadena, MD took top honors in the second.
Former Super Stock racer Tony Giglio finished second in both events.

During Intermission, fans lined up in the picnic area as Legendary
drivers Stan Ploski, Billy Osmun, Ken Brenn Sr. & Jr., Carl Van Horn,
Freddy Dmuchowski, Fritz Epright, Newt Hartman, Daryl Carmen, Johnny
Leach along with NES regulars Billy Pauch, Frank Cozze and Jimmy
Horton all signed autographs for the fans on nice posters that
pictured all of the drivers cars from back in the day.

Next Saturday night, July 31st, New Egypt Speedway will present one
of it’s biggest shows of the year as it will be the annual “Friends
of Mike” night. The Big-Block Modifieds will compete this year in a
100 lap affair paying a staggering $15,000 to win & $500 to start.
The Sportsman & Outlaw Stocks will also run for added money as well,
and all divisions will be racing for rare heat race money. There will
also be one-on-one Modified Match Races featuring 5 NES regulars vs.
5 Invaders as voted on by the fans. With Orange County, Bridgeport
and Grandview Speedway’s all not racing Modifieds next weekend, many
invaders are expected to compete for the extra money including Craig
Von Dohren, Duane Howard, Jeff Strunk, OCFS Eastern States 200 Champ
Jerry Higbie, The Dr. Danny Johnson, Richie Pratt and gary Tompkins
just to name a few. Gates open at 2:00 p.m. along with the “Friends
of Mike” auction and BBQ, with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.
For more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or
log on to

NES AGATE 7/24/10

Heat 1: 1. John Stangle 2. Sam Martz 3. Ryan Forte 4. Jimmy Horton 5.
Corey Anderson 6. Tad Cox
Heat 2: 1. Ron John Koczon 2. Sean Merkel 3. Willie Osmun 4. Mike
Hendershot 5. Billy Pauch 6. Brian Truppi
Heat 3: 1. Mike Barone 2. Tim Tanner Jr. 3. David Van Horn 4. John
McClelland 5. Keith Hoffman 6. Frank Cozze
B-Main: 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Bob Drayton 3. Darren McCaughey 4.
Rick Laubach 5. Tom Carberry 6. Richie Pratt
Points Provisional: Tommy Carberry Jr.
Provisionals: Jim Robertson, John Salvatore Jr. Fans Fans
Provisional: Neal Williams, Rick Holsten
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Brian Truppi 2. Billy Pauch 3. Willie Osmun 4.
John Stangle 5. Keith Hoffman 6. Jimmy Horton 7. Richie Pratt Jr. 8.
Mike Hendershot 9. Tim Tanner Jr. 10. Rick Laubach 11. Sam Martz 12.
Mike Barone 13. Tommy Carberry Jr. 14. Neal Williams 15. Jim
RObertson 16. Rick Holsten 17. John McClelland 18. John Salvatore Jr.
19. Frank Cozze 20. Tom Carberry 21. Ryan Forte 22. Ron John Koczon
23. Corey Anderson 24. David Van Horn 25. Bob Drayton 26. Sean Merkel
27. Dominick Buffalino 28. Tad Cox 29. Darren McCaughey
DNQ: Mike Howardson Steve Haggan, Brett Ballard, Gary Butler.

Heat 1: 1. Bob Burgess 2. Tim Paul 3. Gabe Fox 4. Dave Damiano 5.
Glen Schneck 6. Jimmy Spellmon
Heat 2: 1. Brian Papiez 2. Harry Marlin 3. Chris Allen Jr. 4. Jon
Haegele 5. John Micek 6. Dan Mazy
Heat 3: 1. Ron Barnstead 2. John Aumick 3. Matt Vaillancourt 4. Bobby
Dmuchowski 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Kyle Borror
B-Main: 1. Bill Martino 2. Jim Housworth 3. Jarret Rozycki 4. Darrell
Delnero 5. Bob Rambone 6. Danny DeStefano
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Dan Mazy 2. Bob Burgess 3. Brian Papiez 4. Kyle
Borror 5. Chris Allen Jr. 6. Jim Housworth 7. John Micek 8. Tim Paul
9. Bobby Dmuchowski 10. Bill Martino 11. John Aumick 12. Gabe Fox 13.
Jimmy Spellmon 14. Jarrett Rozycki 15. Dave Damiano 16. Ron Barnstead
17. Danny DeStefano 18. Jon Haegele 19. Bryan Kuhl 20. Bob Rambone
21. Harry Marlin 22. Glen Schneck 23. Matt Vaillancourt 24. Darrell
DNQ: Lee Allen, Danny Roslin, Scott Hyland, Doug Debray, Rich Steele,
Tom Raneri, Joe Dill

Heat 1: 1. Kyle Heiber 2. Mario Page 3. Steve Hicks 4. Darrell
Heat 2: 1. Doug Zrinski 2. Mike Butler 3. Tyler Potts 4. Gary Huber
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Mario Page 2. Tyler Potts 3. Doug Zrinski 4.
Kyle Hieber 5. Mike Butler 6. Brittany Wixon 7. Doug Sherwood 8.
Darrell Delnero 9. Gary Hieber Jr. 10. Chris Stockham 11. Scott
Monroe 12. DJ Marci Jr. 13. Bob Sell 14. Gary Huber
DNS: Steve Hicks

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. PJ Oilver 2. Tony Giglio 3. Alessa Young 4.
Darrin Henderson 5. Joe Dill 6. Steve Davis
Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Darrin Henderson 2. Tony Giglio 3. P.J.
Oliver 4. Steve Davis 5. Joe Dill 6. Alessa Young

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results