Tanner Wins Tenth of His Career at New Egypt

Date: 8/9/2010 8:51:00 PM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Tanner Wins Tenth of His Career at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (Aug. 7, 2010) - Tim Tanner, Jr. of Ivyland, PA  picked
up the tenth feature triumph of his career at New Egypt Speedway on
Saturday night as he captured the 30 lap feature event sponsored by
T&M Associates. Tanner did something that most drivers have not been
able to do at NES this season, dominate the competition. Tanner won
his heat by over a straightaway and then proved it was no fluke as he
charged to the lead on lap 5 and never looked back. Despite several
caution flags spread out thru the race, Tanner would pull away from
the field each and every time. Tanner survived a last turn near miss
with a lapped car to take his second win of the year over 2 time
champ Jimmy Horton.  

"I want to thank my dad and crew for putting this car here,"
announced Tanner in victory lane, "Without their contributions and
hard work this isn't possible."

Tanner started 7th on the grid and wasted no time as he was up to
third by the completion of lap one. He was obviously dialed in as he
flew past Tad Cox for second on lap 2 and set his sights on leader
Gary Butler. Butler, the outside pole starter, had opened up a
healthy lead however Tanner would only need a mere 3 laps to catch
and pass him for the lead. At the same time 12th starting Jimmy
Horton and 18th starter Billy Pauch moved into the top five and
everyone in attendance thought that it was now just a matter of time.
Tanner had other ideas though as he pulled away from the pack and ran
uncontested thru several double file restarts. Halfway through the
event Horton made a great move and passed both Butler and Pauch to
move into second with Pauch on his bumper. This didn't phase Tanner
though as he steadily pulled away from these two multi-time track
champions. The final caution of the event flew with just 10 laps
remaining as Pauch's motor let go in turn number four. Horton stayed
2-3 car lengths behind Tanner for several laps before Tanner started
to pull away again, and was about 8 car lengths ahead on the final
turn when he had to slow as he attempted to pass the lapped car of
Brian Crammer. Tanner moved to the far outside as Horton gave it one
last ditch kamikaze move on the very bottom of the speedway. The move
was almost successful until Horton ran out of racing room and slammed
into Crammer's lapped car. Horton bounced off and continued to cross
the line second. Fourteenth starter Frank Cozze came home third,
followed by Johnny Guarino in fourth and Bobby Drayton in fifth who
both also came from deep in the pack.    

Bryan Kuhl took sole possession of the Crate-1 Sportsman Point lead
as he finally won his first feature of the season and of his career.
Kyle Borror continues to be fast every week as he finished a close
second chased home by Chris Allen Jr. in third. Bobby Dmuchowski and
John Aumick rounded out the top five.     

Jeff Geiges won his second Sprint car feature of the season as he
captured the 20 lap Tri-State RaceSavers 305 Sprint car event. Geiges
dedicated the race to the late John Romano, Jr. who was the former
driver of the Pietrofitta #175. Johnny Wyers, who had won the last
two races on the tour settled for second on this night, followed by
early leader Bruce Kindberg, Ryan Smith and two time NES winner Chuck

The Fastrak Late Models ran two 12 lap features with Darrin Henderson
of Pasadena, MD taking top honors in the first one for his second win
in a row. Henderson was trailed by Mick Search and Skip Syester who
was competing at NES for the first time. Former Super Stock racer
Tony Giglio, who had finished second or third in fie of the last
seven events, captured his first ever feature win in any division in
the second event. Bobby Dmuchowski finished off a successful night
with a second place run in only his second race in a Late Model while
PJ Oliver cruised home third.

Next Saturday night, August 14th, New Egypt Speedway will present the
always popular Powder Puff Night as the wives and girlfriends of many
drivers will take to the track at the end of the evening. Before
these events, the mighty Big-Block Modifeds will headline a racing
card that also features the Sportsman and the Outlaw Stocks. Gates
will open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.  For
more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log
on to www.newegyptspeedway.net.

NES AGATE 08/07/10
Heat 1: 1. Jimmy Horton 2. Tad Cox 3. Sam Martz 4. Mike Barone 5.
Gary BUtler 6. Willie Osmun
Heat 2: 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. John McClelland 3. Bob Drayton 4. John
Stangle 5. Keith Hoffman 6. Tommy Carberry Jr.
Heat 3: 1. Frank Cozze 2. Ron John Koczon 3. Billy Pauch 4. Johnny
Guarino 5. Dominick Buffalino 6. Jim Robertson
Consi: 1. Rick Laubach 2. David Van Horn 3. Gary Hager 4. John
Salvatore Jr. 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Darren McCaughey
Fans Provisional: John Miloszar
Pts Provisional: Brian Truppi
Provisionals: Steve Haggan, Brian Crammer
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Tim Tanner Jr. 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Frank Cozze
4. Johnny Guarino 5. Bob Drayton 6. Rick Laubach 7. David Van Horn 8.
Keith Hoffman 9. Gary Butler 10. Ron John Koczon 11. Mike Hendershot
12. Willie Osmun 13. John Stangle 14. Jim Robertson 15. Tom Carberry
Jr. 16. Sam Martz 17. Steve Haggan 18. Gary Hager 19. Brian Crammer
20. Billy Pauch 21. Dominick Buffalino 22. John McClelland 23. John
Miloszar Jr. 24. Darren McCaughey 25. John Salvatore Jr. 26. Tad Cox
27. Brian Truppi 28. Mike Barone
DNQ: Tom Carberry, Corey Anderson, Sean Merkel.

Heat 1: 1. Jim Housworth 2. John Aumick 3. Jimmy Spellmon 4. Bob
Burgess 5. Doug Urbano 6. Gabe Fox
Heat 2: 1. John Micek 2. Bobby Dmuchowski 3. Joh Haegele 4. Bill
Martino 5. Dave Damiano 6. Pat Hires
Heat 3: 1. Harry Marlin 2. Chris Allen Jr. 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Matt
Vaillancourt 5. Kyle Borror 6. Tom Raneri
Consi: 1. Dan Mazy 2. Chris Allen Sr. 3. Eric Engstrom 4. Jarrett
Rozycki 5. Bob Rambone 6. Rich Steele Jr.
Pts. Prov.: Ron Barnstead
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Bryan Kuhl 2. Kyle Borror 3. Chris Allen Jr. 4.
Bobby Dmchowski 5. John Aumick 6. Jimmy Spellmon 7. Harry Marlin 8.
Jim Housworth 9. Jon Haegele 10. John Micek 11. Gabe Fox 12. Clay
Butler 13. Eric Engstrom 14. Jarrett Rozycki 15. Dan Mazy 16. Rich
Steele Jr. 17. Dave Damiano 18. Chris Allen Sr. 19. Ron Barnstead 20.
Bob Rambone 21. Bill Martino 22. Doug Urbano 23. Matt Vaillancourt
24. Pat Hires 25. Bob Burgess
DNQ: Bryan Papiez, Wayne Groover, Danny Destefano, Scott Hyland, Doug
Debray, Glen Schneck, Joe Dill, Danny Roslin.

Heat 1: 1. Bill Case Jr. 2. John Wyers 3. Jeff Geiges 4. Mike Piersig
5. Bruce Kindberg 6. Mike McManus
Heat 2: 1. Ryan Smith 2. Chuck Palmucci 3. Tim Damiani 4. Mark Sasso
5. Ian Borden 6. Ed Hughes
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Jeff Geiges 2. John Wyers 3. Bruce Kindberg 4.
Ryan Smith 5. Chuck Palmucci 6. Mike Piersig 7. Sean Campbell 8. Dean
Schaffer 9. Ed Hughes 10. John Leombruno 11. Mike McManus 12. Jimmy
Fowler 13. Ken Buckley 14. Mark Sasso 15. Ian Borden 16. Doug Smith
17. Bill Case Jr. 18. Stephanie Palmai 19. Bruno Leombruno 20. Chris
Allen Jr. 21. Tim Damiani

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Darin Henderson 2. Mick Search 3. Skip
Syester 4. P.J. Oliver 5. Tony Giglio 6. Bobby Dmuchowski 7. Alessa
Young 8. Joe Dill
Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Tony Gigilo 2. Bobby Dmuchowski 3. P.J.
Oliver 4. Darin Henderson 5. Mick Search 6. Skip Syester 7. Alessa

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results