Pauch Wins Caution Free Race For His 85th Career Victory

Date: 8/17/2010 5:47:18 PM

Pauch Wins Caution Free Race For His 85th Career Victory

New Egypt, NJ (August 14, 2010) – After a disappointing night last week, Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ turned it all around winning the shortest 30-lap modified feature in New Egypt Speedway history on a night sponsored by K&A Excavating and Agin Signs. Pauch quickly made his way to the front taking over the lead on lap 25 from Ron John Koczon in a caution free race that was eight minutes and 44 seconds long.
“You know with the issues we had with the front tires and the engine last week, it’s great to be back here,” Pauch said of Victory Lane. “We tried some new things tonight and the new tires and motor really paid off for us. The track was really racey tonight. We were able to move up through the field really easy.”
Starting from the pole and grabbing an early lead Tom Carberry led the way until a hard charging Koczon got right to his bumper on lap five. After battling for several laps Koczon was able to pass Carberry coming off turn four on lap 11. By lap 14 Pauch had made his way up to fourth and set his sights on the leaders. On lap 14 Koczon began catching lapped traffic causing second place Carberry to catch his back bumper. Pauch, meanwhile, had taken over third and was closing fast on the leaders. With lap traffic in front Koczon, Carberry and Pauch began a three-way battle for the lead. On lap 25 Koczon was fighting hard to pass the lapped car of Brian Truppi when Pauch motored passed both to take over the lead for good. On lap 27, championship contender Jimmy Horton pulled off on the front stretch ending his strong run for the night. Lap 28, Pauch had caught another championship contender, Keith Hoffman, putting him a lap down on his way to victory two laps later. Rounding out the top-10 were Koczon, Carberry, Sam Martz, Ryan Forte, David VanHorn, John Salvatore, Rick Laubach, Gary Butler, and Tad Cox.
George Quinlan of Brick, NJ won his first ever Sportsman feature on a night that saw points leader Rocco Infante struggle. Quinlan and Mike Lyons went back and forth for the lead most of the night, with Quinlan finally taking over for good on lap 17 and cruising to the victory. Infante, meanwhile, struggled all night in his JR1 and made the race using his points provisional and running the 94M owned by Mike Mongiello. He eventually finished 13th for the night. Lyons who finished in second, recorded a new track record for the fastest Sportsman lap time at 17.427 seconds, showing how fast the track was even toward the end of the night. Ryan Beltz finished third followed by John Cornell and Brian Roemer.
John Carpenter of Howell, NJ cruised to his fourth victory in five races in the Outlaw Stock feature. Carpenter wasted no time charging into the lead on lap five and held it for the last 15 laps to take the victory over Brian Ludwig. Claiming his fourth victory will tighten the points race between him and points leader PJ Oliver who finished third. Mick Search came home fourth and Tom Princiotta finished in fifth.
Next Saturday night the Big Block Modifieds will be racing in Bridgeport for their Tri Track Series race. The Sportsman will be headlining the show with $1,000 going to the winner of the “Romano Memorial” qualifier. The Outlaw Stocks, Crate-1 Sportsman, Fastrak Late Models, and the Speedstrs will also be in action. Pit gates will open at 3 p.m. and the front gates will open at 4 p.m. Racing starts at 6 p.m. Adults are $20; senior/military $18; children 12-15 $10; and children 11 and under are free. The first 100 people who purchase an adult general admission band will receive either a Jimmie Johnson or Tony Stewart key chain upon entrance into the Speedway.
Next Tuesday night the Big Block Modified will be returning to New Egypt Speedway for our only mid-week season show in our Tri Track Series. Joining the Modifieds will be the only appearance by the ARDC Midgets at New Egypt this season. Pit Gates will be opening at 4 p.m. and the front gates will be opening at 5 p.m. Racing will start at 7:30 p.m. Adults are $22; senior/military $20; children 12-15 $10; and children 11 and under are free. For more information please visit our website at or call the Speedway office at (609) 758-1900.

1st Heat: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Sam Martz 3. Jimmy Horton 4. David VanHorn 5. John Salvatore Jr. 6. Ryan Forte
2nd Heat: 1. Ron John Koczon 2. Tom Carberry 3. John Stangle 4. John McClelland 5. Keith Hoffman 6. Rick Laubach
3rd Heat: 1. Tad Cox 2. Gary Butler 3. Dominick Buffalino 4. Johnny Guarino 5. Bob Drayton 6. Mike Hendershot
B-Main: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Brian Truppi 3. Darren McCaughey 4. Gary Hager 5. John Miloszar 6. Jim Robertson
Provisionals: Tim Tanner and Randy Laird

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Ron John Koczon 3. Tom Carberry 4. Sam Martz 5. Ryan Forte 6. David VanHorn 7. John Salvatore Jr. 8. Rick Laubach 9. Gary Butler 10. Tad Cox 11. Bob Drayton 12. Willie Osmun 13. Johnny Guarino 14. Dominick Buffalino 15.  Mike Hendershot 16. Keith Hoffman 17. John McClelland 18. Brian Truppi 19. Gary Hager 20. Tim Tanner 21. Jimmy Horton 22. John Miloszar 23. Darren McCaughey 24. John Stangle 25. Randy Laird 26. Jim Robertson
DNQ: Tommy Carberry Jr., Mike Barone, and Brad Freeman

1st Heat: 1. Alan Bleacher 2. Marc Herman 3. Randy Yaple 4. Dave Hunt 5. George Quinlan
2nd Heat: 1. Mike Lyons 2. John Cornell 3. Ryan Beltz 4. Bob Lineman 5. Steve Ramsey
3rd Heat: 1. Jimmy Blewett 2. Brian Roemer 3. Mike Butler 4. Richie Cass 5. Will Dupree
4th Heat: 1. Bill Liedtka 2. DJ Ruppert 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Kyle Borror 5. Clay Butler
B-Main #1: 1. Mike Howardson 2. Kevin Vaclavicek
B-Main #2: 1. Gene Stravinsky 2. Chad Barney
Points Provisional: Rocco Infante

Feature (20 Laps): 1. George Quinlan 2. Mike Lyons 3. Ryan Beltz 4. John Cornell 5. Brian Roemer 6. Gene Stravinsky 7. Mike Butler 8. Bill Liedtka 9. Mike Howardson 10. DJ Ruppert 11. Will Dupree 12. Ryan Simmons 13. Rocco Infante 14. Kevin Vaclavicek 15. Clay Butler 16. Kyle Borror 17. Bob Lineman 18. Chad Barney 19. Randy Yaple 20. Jimmy Blewett 21. Richie Cass 22. Alan Bleacher 23. Dave Hunt 24. Marc Herman 25. Steve Ramsey
DNQ: JT Trstensky, Doug Urbano, Joe Systo, Ryan Hoffman, Everett Taylor, Erik Renniger, Harris Kohen, John Marini Jr., Wayne Bechtel, Ebby Ridge, Tim Apgar, Mike Krachun, Andy Visinksi, Bill Lester, John Scarpati Jr., Joe Baumann, Walt Larson, Robin McTighe

1st Heat: 1. Dan Collamer 2. PJ Oliver 3. Scott Dugan 4. Darren Cox 5. Kevin Bifulco 6. Dennis Seely
2nd Heat: 1. Marty Derr 2. John Carpenter 3. Billy Wroble 4. Brian Ludwig 5. Jarrod Burdge 6. Tom Princiotta

Feature (20 Laps): 1. John Carpenter 2. Brian Ludwig 3. PJ Oliver 4. Mick Search 5. Tom
Princiotta 6. Spider Einsinger Sr. 7. Dennis Seely 8. Billy Wroble 9. Scott Dugan 10. Kevin Bifulco
11. Darren Cox 12. Jarrod Burdge 13. Jesse McLaughlin 14. Tony Klimeczak 15. Marty Derr
DNS: Don Chambers, Dan Collamer, and Gary Klimeczak

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results