Pauch Sweeps NES Twin 20's, But Laubach Repeats as Champion

Date: 9/26/2010 2:11:25 AM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Pauch Sweeps NES Twin 20's, But Laubach Repeats as Champion

New Egypt, NJ (Sept. 25, 2010) - Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ needed
to win both 20 lap Modified features on Saturday night at New Egypt
Speedway to put himself in position to win his 5th track
championship. This is exactly what he did, as he dominated the
evening sweeping both ends of Twin 20's on Championship night
sponsored by C & S Equipment. However, defending champ Rick Laubach
took care of business on his end, posting two top five finishes
clinching his second consecutive track title.     

"I didn't want to get caught up in the points tonight," stated Pauch
in victory lane, "I knew what we had to do and I just wanted to go
out and win both races and let the chips fall where they may."
Laubach was elated after finishing second in the nightcap to capture
the 2010 crown, "My goal was to finish in the top five in both races
tonight and take home the title, and everything worked out great."

Willie Osmun started fifth and had the lead by lap three in the first
feature as Jimmy Horton was flying early grabbing second. Pauch
started 13th and was wasted no time getting to the front as he caught
Osmun at halfway and flew by into the lead. Laubach, who was looking
for a top five, followed Pauch to the front but leveled out in fifth
for much of the second half of the race. Horton chased Osmun to no
avail in the late stages as Pauch ran away from the field taking the
checkered just as he reached heavy lapped traffic. Osmun came home
second, followed by Horton, Laubach and Ron John Koczon. 

The second feature saw Keith Hoffman and Billy Pauch Jr. bring the
field to the green with Hoffman taking control early. Pauch Jr. kept
the pressure on and the race was a crowd pleaser early on as they
raced side by side several times. Laubach reached the top five first,
but Pauch was on a mission and would make quick work of the field and
grab the lead from his son just before halfway. Once in front, Pauch
again dominated the second event but was unable to shake a determined
Laubach who followed him to the front was glued to his back bumper.
Pauch raced to his 88th career win at NES, his 7th of the season as
Laubach held on for a second place finish and the 2010 Modified
Championship! Pauch Jr. held on for third, while Bob Drayton came up
thru the field to finish fourth and Hoffman crossed the stripe fifth.

In the ARDC Midget event, Steve Buckwalter seemed to be unbeatable
for much of the evening, but under a late race yellow with just three
laps to go, Buckwalter developed 2 right side flats and had to head
to the pits for two new tires.  The gave the lead to a very fast Drew
Heistand and he took full advantage as her raced to his first feature
win of the year in ARDC competition, and his first ever New Egypt win
as well. Ryan Smith, who was a 305 sprint feature winner at NES in
August, came home second chased by Modified hotshoe Ryan Watt in
third. Fourth went to Nick Wean while PJ Gargiulo finished fifth.
Buckwalter raced all the way back up from the rear in the final three
laps to take sixth finishing position.    

2009 Crate-1 Sportsman champ Jon Haegele won his third feature of the
year in convincing fashion Saturday night. Haegele took the lead in
the opening laps and held off several challenges from John Micek, who
finished second.  Bryan Kuhl, Bill Martino and Chris Allen Jr would
round out the top five.

The Factory Stocks 15 lap event was won by Rob Longo, Ronnie Mullen
was second and Rick Latza raced across the in third.
New Egypt Speedway will be dark for two weekends before returning to
action on Saturday, Oct. 16, when New Egypt Speedway presents it's
annual Rocktoberfest event. A full card of racing featuring the
Big-Block Modifieds Tri-Track Series 40 lap event will headline,
along with the Sportsman, Crate-1 Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks, the
FASTRAX Late Models and the TSRS 305 Sprint Cars will all also be on
tap. For more information about this event, call the speedway office
at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

NES RESULTS 09/25/10

Heat 1: 1. Ron John Koczon 2. John Miloszar Jr. 3. Billy Pauch Jr. 4.
Mike Hendershot 5. Tim Tanner Jr. 6. Gary Butler
Heat 2: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Ryan Forte 3. Tom Carberry Sr. 4. Bob
Drayton 5. Gary Hager 6. David Van Horn
Heat 3: 1. Matt Harrell 2. Willie Osmun 3. Rick Laubach 4. Jimmy
Horton 5. Tad Cox 6. Johnny Guarino
Consi: 1. Keith Hoffman 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Jerry Higbie 4.
Frank Cozze Sr. 5. Mike Barone 6. Darren McCaughey 7. Frank Cozze Jr.
8. John Salvatore
Fan Provisional: Tommy Carberry Jr.
Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Willie Osmun 3. Jimmy Horton
4. Rick Laubach 5. Ron John Koczon 6. Tad Cox 7. Matt Harrell 8. Tim
Tanner Jr. 9. Gary Butler 10. Bob Drayton 11. Billy Pauch Jr. 12.
Keith Hoffman 13. Tom Carberry 14. Johnny Guarino 15. David Van Horn
16. Dominick Buffalino 17. John Miloszar Jr. 18. Jerry Higbie 19.
Gary Hager 20. Mike Hendershot 21. Mike Barone 22. John Salvatore 23.
Frank Cozze Jr. 24. Ryan Forte 25. Tommy Carberry Jr. 26. Darren
McCaughey DNS: Frank Cozze
Feature 2 (20 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Rick Laubach 3. Billy Pauch
Jr. 4. Bob Drayton 5. Keith Hoffman 6. David Van Horn 7. Gary Butler
8. Ron John Koczon 9. Tad Cox 10. Mike Hendershot 11. Jerry Higbie
12. Ryan Forte 13. Frank Cozze Jr. 14. Matt Harrell 15. John Miloszar
Jr. 16. Gary Hager 17. Jimmy Horton 18. Willie Osmun 19. Tim Tanner
Jr. 20. Dominick Buffalino 21. Johnny Guarino 22. Tommy Carberry Jr.
23. Darren McCaughey 24. Mike Barone 25. Tom Carberry 26. John
DNS: Frank Cozze
DNQ: COrey Andersen, Brian Crammer, Randy Laird, Jason Wiggett

Crate 1
Heat 1: 1. John Micek 2. Jon Haegele 3. Jarrett Rozycki 4. Brian
Papiez 5. Kyle Borror 6. Rich Steele Jr.
Heat 2: 1. Danny DeStafano 2. Ron Barnstead 3. Doug Debray 4. Tim
Paul 5. Jim Housworth 6. Joe Dill
Heat 3: 1. Dan Mazy 2. Bill Martino 3. Chris Allen Jr. 4. Scott
Hyland 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Dave Damiano
Consi: 1. Chris Allen Sr. 2. Eric Engstrom 3. Jordan Cox 4. Glen
Schneck 5. Danny Roslin 6. Scott Cranston
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Jon Haegele 2. John Micek 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Bill
Martino 5. Chris Allen Jr. 6. Rich Steele Jr. 7. Brian Papiez 8. Dan
Mazy 9. Joe Dill 10. Jim Housworth 11. Eric Engstrom 12. Jarrett
Rozycki 13. Ron Barnstead 14. Chirs Allen Sr. 15. Scott Hyland 16.
Dave Damiano 17. Jordan Cox 18. Dan Stout 19. Danny DeStafano 20.
Doug Debray 21. Tim Paul 22. Scott Cranston 23. Glen Schneck 24.
Danny Roslin DQ: Kyle Borror
DNQ: Dan Stout

ARDC Midgets
Heat 1: 1. Dave Shirk 2. Donnie Trent 3. Andrew Hannula 4. Brett
Arndt 5. PJ Gargiulo 6. Jimmy Cammock
Heat 2: 1. Drew Heistand 2. Nick Wean 3. Ryan Smith 4. Justin Grosz
5. Ryan Watt 6. Trevor Kobylarz
Heat 3: 1. Steve Buckwalter 2. Bruce Buckwalter Jr. 3. Tim Buckwalter
4. Steve Bull 5. Jason Rice 6. Dusty Heistand
Feature (25 Laps): 1. Drew Heistand 2. Ryan Smith 3. Ryan Watt 4.
Nick Wean 5. PJ Gargiulo 6. Steve Buckwalter 7. Dusty Heistand 8. Tim
Buckwalter 9. Andrew Hannula 10. Brett Arndt 11. Steven Drevicki 12.
Donnie Trent 13. Alex Bright 14. Steve Bull 15. Jimmy Cammock 16.
Shawn Jackson 17. Scott Zipp 18. Dave Shirk 19. Trevor Kobylarz 20.
Bruce Buckwalter Jr. 21. Donnie Hoffman 22. Jason Rice 23. JOhn Grosz
24. Steve Lenig

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results