Pauch Picks Off Career Win #90 at New Egypt

Date: 4/10/2011 1:01:15 AM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Pauch Picks Off Career Win #90 at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (April 9, 2011) – Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ reached
yet another milestone at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night as he
captured the 30 lap Modified feature event sponsored by Wall Stadium.
Pauch, a 4-time NES Modified Champion, took the lead on lap 10 and
then held off two-time champ Jimmy Horton to win the 90th feature of
his career.

Pauch started 9th by the luck of the draw and quickly charged thru
the field as Jimmy Horton grabbed the early lead from the outside
pole. Pauch put the pressure on Horton for several laps before
finally sliding up in front of him, taking his line away along with
the lead. For the last 20 laps, Horton pursued Pauch hard but to no
avail. Pauch was just too much for everyone on this night as he
kicks off the 2011 point season in style. Horotn settled for second,
followed by a great run by Mike Isles, who recorded his best ever NES
finish in third after winning a 15 lap crowd-pleasing battle with
Bobby Drayton. Drayton ended up fourth while 2-time defending champ
Rick Laubach finished fifth.

Bryan Kuhl of Flemington, NJ may have lost the 2010 championship on
the final night of the season, however he started 2011 off like a man
on a mission as he picked up his second career win ever in the 20-lap
Crate-1 Sportsman event. Kuhl held off a late charge by Brian Papiez
to post the popular victory. Papiez was second, and former Slingshot
hotshoe Jordan Henn turned alot of heads with his impressive drive
finishing third in his first ever start in a “big” car. Defending
Champ Jim Housworth crossed the line fourth while former Tobias
SpeedSTER standout Steve Hicks rounded out the top five.

In the TriState RaceSaver 305 Sprint Series opener, Chuck Palmucci
won the 20-lap season opener for the second straight year. John Wyers
challenged him hard over the final two laps, including pulling
alongside at the white flag, but it was Palmucci’s night as he raced
to a 3-car length win. Wyers crossed the line second, followed by
Craig Rochelle, Jeff Schall and Stephanie Palmai.

Former two-time champion Rob Ormsbee of Wall, NJ returned to NES in
fine fashion as he dominated both 12-lap Fastrak Late Model feature
events. Ormsbee bested defending champ Darrin Henderson and PJ
Oliver in the first one, and then beat Steve Davis and Tony Giglio in
the nightcap.

In the 2011 opener of the Advantage Financial/Cradle Rock Developers
Rookie Sportsman series, Jordan Cox won the 8 lap feature event. Mike
Everett was second and Jeremy Martino was third.

Next Saturday night, April 16, New Egypt Speedway presents Little
League Night, as all little leaguers in uniform will be admitted
free. The racing will feature a full card of Big-Block Modifieds,
Sportsman and Rookie Sportsman along with the Outlaw Stocks. Gates
open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For more
information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to

Heat 1: 1. Brian Truppi 2. Johnny Guarino 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Bob
Drayton 5. Wade Hendrickson 6. Ron John Koczon
Heat 2: 1. Rick Laubach 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Mike Iles 4. David
Van Horn 5. Frank Cozze Jr 6. Gary Butler
Heat 3: 1. Billy Pauch 2. John McClelland 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Mike
Barone 5. Tommy Carberry Jr. 6. Sam Martz
Consi : 1. Willie Osmun 2. Mike McAleer 3. Tad Cox 4. Rocco Infante
5. Mike Hendershot 6. Matt Harrell
Fans Provisionals: Tommy Farrell III
Points Provisional: NONE
DNQ: Ryan Forte, Rich Acolia, John Stangle, Mike Franz, Rich Kuiken
Jr., Stan Frankenfield, John Salvatore Jr., DJ Ruppert.
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Mike Iles 4. Bob
Drayton 5. Rick Laubach 6. John McClelland 7. Tommy Carberry Jr. 8.
Frank Cozze Jr. 9. Gary Butler 10. Willie Osmun 11. Mike McAleer 12.
Johnny Guarino 13. Tim Tanner Jr. 14. David Van Horn 15. Tad Cox 16.
Dave Hunt 17. Mike Barone 18. Mike Hendershot 19. Sam Martz 20. Wade
Hendrickson 21. Dominick Buffalino 22. Ron John Koczon 23. Tommy
Farrell III 24. Brian Truppi 25. Matt Harrell DNS: Rocco Infante

Heat 1: 1. Brian Papiez 2. Rich Steele Jr. 3. Jim Housworth 4. Joe
Dill 5. John Micek 6. Steve Hicks 7. Bryan Kuhl 8. Glenn Knell
Heat 2: 1. Dan Mazy 2. Jarrett Rozycki 3. Jon Haegele 4. John Aumick
5. Harry Marlin 6. Jordan Henn 7. Doug Urbano 8. Doug Debray
Consi: 1.Ron Barnstead 2. Scott Hyland 3. Scott Cranston 4. Lee Allen
5. Jeremy Martino 6. Mike Everett
Points Provisional: Kyle Borror
DNQ: None.
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Bryan Kuhl 2. Brian Papiez 3. Jordan Henn 4.
Jim Housworth 5. Steve Hicks 6. John Aumick 7. Jon Haegele 8. John
Micek 9. Dan Mazy 10. Joe Dill 11. Glenn Knell 12. Doug Urbano 13.
Rich Steele Jr. 14. Jeremy Martino 15. Jarrett Rozycki 16. Doug
Debray 17. Lee Allen 18. Ron Barnstead 19. Scott Hyland 20. Scott
Cranston 21. Mike Everett 22. Jordan Cox 23. Bob Rambone 24. Dan
Stout 25. Harry Marlin

Heat 1: 1. Jeff Geiges 2. John Myers 3. Jeff Schall 4. Bobby Sandt
Jr. 5. Bill Case Jr. 6. Mike Esposito
Heat 2: 1. Craig Rochelle 2. Chuck Palmucci 3. Chris Allen Jr. 4.
Stephanie Palmai 5. Jimmy Carpenter 6. Gary Berkenstock
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Chuck Palmucci 2. John Wyers 3. Craig Rochelle
4. Jeff Schall 5. Stephanie Palmai 6. Jimmy Carpenter 7. Mike
Esposito 8. Stephanie Stevens 9. Gary Berkenstock 10. Phil Meisner
Jr. 11. Chris Allen Jr. 12. Ian Borden 13. Bill Corsa 14. Joe
U'Sellis 15. John Leombruno 16. Jeff Geiges 17. Bill Case Jr. 18.
Bobby DeVault
DNS: Bobby Sandt Jr.

Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Darrin Henderson 3. P.J.
Oliver 4. Steve Davis 5. Tony Giglio 6. Skip Syester 7. DJ Macri 8.
Alessa Young
Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Rob Ormsbee 2. Steve Davis 3. Tony Giglio 4.
P.J. Oliver 5. Skip Syester
DNS: Darrin Henderson, Alessa Young, DJ Macri

Feature (8 Laps): 1. Jordan Cox 2. Mike Everett 3. Jeremy Martino 4.
John Desmelyk 5. Cole Hager 6. Lee Schaeffer

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results