Pauch Bests Strunk Friday at New Egypt

Date: 4/16/2011 9:57:33 AM

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ
Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director 732-222-1261


Pauch Bests Strunk Friday at New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (April 15, 2011) – Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, NJ won
his second straight feature of the young 2011 season at New Egypt
Speedway Friday night as he captured the 30 lap Modified feature
event sponsored Spikengo. With rain in the forecast for Saturday, NES
decided to race on Friday night instead. Pauch took the lead at the
start of the special non-point event and lead wire to wire to post
his 91st feature win at the track. The win was not quite that easy as
invader Jeff Strunk, who just won the New Egypt ROC race 3 weeks ago,
caught Pauch in lapped traffic and hounded the 4 time champion over
the final 12 laps but fell short by just 2 car lengths at the end.

“It is nice to be able to beat these tough invaders here on my home
turf for a change,” exclaimed Pauch in victory lane, “Instead of
beating them at their track!”

Pauch started 3rd by the luck of the draw and when outside pole
sitter Brian Truppi elected to start at the rear, Pauch was promoted
to the front row. The only thing was Jeff Strunk was starting right
on his bumper. The two quickly charged into the lead past pole sitter
Frank Cozze, Jr. at the onset with Pauch pulling away quickly.
Strunk raced second, only to lose the spot to a fast Dominick
Buffalino a few laps later and spent 5 laps trying to wrestle the
spot back. Strunk finally got back to second in lapped traffic and
was able to lose Buffalino and use the slower cars to catch Pauch.
The two then began to put on a clinic of how to lap cars as both
showed their expertise. Strunk ran right with Pauch over the final
third of the race, pulling alongside on numerous occasions, but in
the end Pauch was able to hold on for the win. Strunk settled for
second followed by Buffalino third. Defending champ Rick Laubach
raced from 15th starting spot to come home fourth, while 2-time track
champ Jimmy Horton charged back thru the field after spinning around
halfway to finish fifth.

Mike Lyons of Monroe Twp., NJ took the lead from race long leader
Rich Rutski with 5 laps remaining and then held off a frenzy of
attacks from several drivers including defending champ Rocco Infante
to take top honors in the 20 lap Sportsman main event. Kevin
Vaclavicek stole second in the final turn with a nice move, while
Infante settled for third. Tim Apgar and Marc Herman rounded out the
top five.

Dan Collamer of Waretown, NJ won the 20 lap Outlaw Stock feature for
his third career win. Jason Saredy finished second and John Carpenter
came home third.

Next Saturday night, April 23, New Egypt Speedway presents Easter
Party with an Easter Egg Hunt for kids. The racing will feature a
full card of Big-Block Modifieds, Crate-1 Sportsman, Fastrak late
Models, Tri-State Racesavers 305 Sprint Cars and Rookie Sportsman.
Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For
more information, call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log
on to

Heat 1: 1. Jeff Strunk 2. Tim Tanner Jr. 3. Brian Truppi 4. Wade
Hendrickson 5. Sam Martz 6. Ryan Godown
Heat 2: 1. Billy Pauch 2. Richie Pratt Jr. 3. Jimmy Blewett 4. Johnny
Guarino 5. Mike Iles 6. Craig Von Dohren
Heat 3: 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Dave Hunt 3. Rick Laubach 4. Jimmy
Horton 5. Frank Cozze Jr. 6. John Stangle
Consi : 1. Gary Butler 2. Mike McAleer 3. David Van Horn 4. Tommy
Carberry Jr. 5. Stan Frankenfield Jr. 6. John McClelland
Fans Provisionals: Matt Harrell
DNQ: Mike Barone, Brad Freeman, Rich Acolia, John Salvatore Jr., Rich
Kuiken Jr., Mike Franz, Billy Pauch Jr., Tommy Farrell III.
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Jeff Strunk 3. Dominick
Buffalino 4. Rick Laubach 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Wade Hendrickson 7.
Johnny Guarino 8. Gary Butler 9. Craig Von Dohren 10. Richie Pratt
Jr. 11. Ryan Godown 12. Sam Martz 13. Tim Tanner Jr. 14. Mike McAleer
15. Tommy Carberry Jr. 16. Mike Iles 17. Frank Cozze Jr. 18. Matt
Harrell 19. John McClelland 20. David Van Horn 21. Stan Frankenfield
22. Dave Hunt 23. John Stangle 24. Jimmy Blewett 25. Brian Truppi

Heat 1: 1. Mike Lyons 2. Rocco Infante 3. Bob Lineman Jr. 4. Tim
Apgar 5. Bill Lester 6. John Cornell III
Heat 2: 1. Mike Howardson 2. Kevin Vaclavicek 3. Darren McCaughey 4.
Bill Liedtka 5. Brian Roemer 6. Ryan Osborne
Heta 3: 1. Marc Herman 2. Rich Rutski 3. Mike Butler 4. Jimmy Watts
5. Lisa Schaefer
DNQ: Robin McTighe, Dan Bouc, Warren Floyd
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Mike Lyons 2. Kevin Vaclavicek 3. Rocco Infante
4. Tim Apgar 5. Marc Herman 6. Rich Rutski 7. Mike Howardson 8. Ryan
Osborne 9. John Cornell III 10. Bill Lester 11. Ryan Simmons 12.
Jason Kosch 13. Brian Roemer 14. Justin Hoffman 15. Mike Butler 16.
Lisa Schaefer 17. Darren McCaughey 18. Jimmy Watts 19. Walt Larson
20. DJ Ruppert 21. Erik Renninger 22. Bob Lineman Jr. 23. Bill Liedtka

Heat 1: 1. Jarred Burdge 2. Everett Taylor 3. Billy Wroble 4. Marty
Derr 5. Ken Snook 6. Bill Connolly
Heat 2: 1. Jason Saredy 2. Kevin Bifulco 3. Dan Collamer 4. Tony
Klimeczak 5. Tom Princiotta 6. Art Fariello
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Dan Collamer 2. Jason Saredy 3. John Carpenter
4. PJ Oliver 5. Jarrod Burdge 6. Billy Wroble 7. Marty Derr 8.
Everett Taylor 9. Tom Princiotta 10. Ken Snook 11. Kevin Bifulco 12.
Art Fariello 13. Brian Barker 14. Gary Klimeczak 15. Herb Stout 16.
Bill Connelly 17. Scott Dugan
DNS: Brian Ludwig

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results