Quick Results Bill Pauch Jr wins the Georgie Stevenson Memorial, Holland, Mammana and Hitzler earn victories Friday Evening at Big Diamond Speedway

Date: 7/4/2015 10:31:11 AM

Bill Pauch Jr wins the Georgie Stevenson Memorial, Holland, Mammana and Hitzler earn victories Friday Evening at Big Diamond Speedway


Minersville, PA July 3, 2015 


The  Lias Tire 358 Modified Feature event, which was sponsored by B & H Landscaping,  honored both the memory and contributions of George Stevenson, who dedicate much of his time raising funds for sick and dying children in memory of his own son, Georgie, who had passed away.  There were 33 cars vying for one of the 26 starting spots for the race that was paying $4000 to win and $300 to take the green.  Colt Harris would be the early race leader, but by lap 3 it was Meme DeSantis showing the way.  The caution would come out on lap 7 when Andy Burkhart spun in turn 4 and that would set up a restart that put DeSantis against Billy Pauch Jr on the front row.  Pauch would jump out in the top spot and once here was there, he held off the challenges of Craig VonDohren to maintain the top spot.  As Pauch began to work his way through the tail end of the field and putting a few cars down a lap, he was able to stretch out his lead over VonDohren.  VonhDohren would finish in the runner up spot, followed by Jeff Strunk, Jared Umbenhauer and Ryan Watt.   The GME Hard Charger Award was earned by Jeff Strunk for starting 16th and finishing 3rd for a gain of 13 positions.  The heats were won by Colt Harris, Justin Grim and Craig VonDohren.  The consi was won by Bobby Gunther Walsh.  The three heat race winners would compete against each other in the Markís Service Center Cash for Dash, and it would be Craig Vondohren who would be victorious in that event.


The Savage 61 Roadrunners would be brought to the green flag by Elvin Brennan and Kris Ney.  Brennan would jump out in the lead and attempted to keep at bay Chris Holland and Andy Fayash III.  Fayash has won 2 features back to back in recent weeks and was looking to score his third win, but Chris Holland was also determined to take home the top spot.  The two drivers battled with each other as they also challenged Brennan while he was leading.  Lap 14 saw a complete change in the running order as Brennan spun out going into turn 2, but Holland and Fayash were able to maneuver around Brennan and retain their positions in front of the field.  The two racers would swap the top spot back and forth in the finals laps, but it would be Chris Holland coming home with the win followed by Fayash, Tim Fitzpatrick, Elvin Brennan and Jesse Krasnitsky. The heat races were won by Shon Elk and Chris Holland.  The Red White and Blue Autos Hard Luck award was awarded to Brian Buchinsky.


The USS Achey Sportsman were brought to the green by Chad Putalavage and Mike Mammana, but before completing the first lap, Putalavage would have some issues and the yellow would come out.  This would put Mammana on the front row along with Charles Webber for the restart and Mammana would take over the top spot.  Tim Fitzpatrick would apply the pressure, but Mammana would not falter and earn the $1000 payday that was sponsored by B & H Landscaping.  Fitzpatrick would finish in the runner up spot, followed by Doug Hendricks, Mike Lisowski and Kris Lilick.   The heats were won by Doug Hendricks, Charles Fayash and Mike Mammana.  The Kimís Glass Hardluck award was awarded to Brett KressleyThe GME Hard Charger for that race goes to Daryl Dissinger for a gain of 12 spots to finish in 9th place after starting 21st. 



The 600 Modifieds would complete the evenings venue of racing.  They had a starting field of 31 cars that had Jonathan Josko and Nathan Brinker bring the field to the green flag.  Drinker would be able to take the top spot and would lead the first five laps until Richie Hitzler was able to catch him and take the lead away from him.  Hitzler was battling with Aaron Bowes, but the race was checkered at lap 12 after rain began to make the racing surface too slippery for safe race conditions.  Hitzler would go to Victory Lane and Aaron Bowes would finish in the runner up spot followed by Chris Eckert, Jonathan Pepe and Nathan Brinker.  


Coming events:


The Lias Tire 358 Modified feature will be made up Friday, July 10 and the program that evening will include the Lias Tire 358 Modifieds, for their regular and make up feature, which will start on lap 4, with the running order they were in at the time of the cancelation due to rain, USS Achey Sportsman, Savage 61 Roadrunners, and Slifko Fabrication Street Stocks.  General Admission for this event is $15, Senior Citizens are $12 and children 12 and under and active military with ID are admitted for free.


ACTIVE military members receive FREE admission into every race, but all Veterans of our military who have military ID, will receive a FREE meal ticket at each race.  Veterans will need an official military ID to receive their meal ticket, which is good for one hot dog, one slice of pizza AND one drink. The Veteran Meal Ticket will be given to them when they purchase their admission tickets as long as proper ID is provided.



Gates Open at 5:45 PM with Warm ups starting at 7:45 and racing getting underway at 8:15.


For more information, please visit the tracks Facebook Fan Page at www.facebook.com/bigdiamondspeedway or on the web at www.bigdspeedway.com


Return-to-Big Diamond Speedway