Date: 1/10/2009 5:27:29 PM

January 10, 2009


A very ambitious season is planned for the Thunder on the Hill Racing
Series when it returns to the Grandview Speedway for their 20th
Anniversary season in 2009. The nineteen year history of Thunder on
the Hill has paid out more than $2.8 million dollars to the competitors
over a total of eighty-five events since 1990. The Thunder Series
showcases premier special events that include the 410 Sprints,
Modifieds, USAC Wingless Sprints, Late Models, URC Sprints, ARDC Midgets
and just about every division that competes on dirt. Along with top
shelf divisions, the Thunder Series has lured some of the "all time
greatest drivers" to the popular one-third mile high banked Grandview
Speedway in Bechtelsville, PA Drivers like Steve Kinser, Danny
Lasoski, Levi Jones, JJ Yaley, Alan Johnson, Jack Hewitt, Bob and
Timmy McCreadie, Billy Pauch, Brett Hearn, Kenny Brightbill, Keith
Kauffman, Fred Rahmer, Lealand McSpadden, Lance Dewease, Duane Howard,
Billy Decker, Greg Hodnett, Jimmy Horton, Jeff Strunk, Kramer Williamson
and Sammy Swindell are on an endless list of "dirt track racing's very
best" who have enjoyed some level of success at Thunder on the Hill.

The Thunder Series continues to build on its reputation of attractive
purses for the competitors and extremely fan friendly racing programs
that start on time and always run off with great efficiency for the
spectators. The tradition will go on in 2009 as the NAPA Auto Parts
Thunder on the Hill Racing Series will once again offer a quality
selection of top notch racing events for fans and competitors alike.
Six race dates will populate the already exciting Grandview Speedway

Our 20th season will include such favorite events like the 3rd Annual
Keystone Cup Speed Week Series for the 410 Sprints joined by the 358
Modifieds on Wednesday night, May 20. The third annual return of the
USAC National Wingless Sprints will feature a complete show of
qualifying leading up to a first time ever Twin 20's format. The
always exciting ARDC Wingless Midgets will be part of the blockbuster
double-header on Tuesday night, June 2. On Tuesday night, June 30 the
Thunder Series will present the 19th Annual Pennsylvania Sprint Speed
Week Series for 410 Sprints along with the 358 Modifieds.

The second leg of the six race series will take place on Wednesday
night, July 15 with the official 20th Anniversary celebration and a
triple thunder thriller. The Triple Crown event will feature the 358
Modifieds, URC Sprints and the ARDC Wingless Midgets in an explosive
night of entertainment on the hill. The energy builds for the fifth
race of the Thunder Series on Thursday night, August 13 with the always
exciting TRAFFIC JAM. But this year, there is a different twist to the
event as the World of Outlaws Late Models and the Big Block Modifieds
team-up for a paint swapping, wheel banging showdown that is sure to
leave the outside wall in need of a fresh coat of whitewash. The
season will end in typical Thunder style with the most requested Thunder
format of all, the Grandview Thunder 5-25's and the Annual House of
Thunder Halloween Party on Saturday night, October 17. Of course, it
wouldn't be a Thunder Show without some change to mix-up this event.
The features only format for the series finale will include the URC
Sprints, 358 Modifieds, ARDC Wingless Midgets, Rolling Thunder Legends
and a first time showing by the Sportsman Modifieds. Of course the
Garden State Vintage Stock Cars will again be part of the show with an
added attraction, the Monster Smash Demo Derby, and by the way, the
track lights will be off when the green flag falls to start the Monster

Without a doubt, 2009 could very well be one of the most interesting
Thunder Series ever. The all time Thunder on the Hill feature winner
is Billy Pauch with eleven victories under his belt. Interesting fact
is, all eleven wins were in a sprint car. Pauch has yet to win a
Thunder on the Hill modified feature. Lance Dewease is second on the
Thunder win list with ten victories, but his last win on the hill was in
2003, that's over a five year win drought. Fast Freddie Rahmer has nine
victories and was the Thunder Series sprint champion four of the last
five years. In the modified ranks, Jeff Strunk is on top of the list
with six wins closely followed by Brett Hearn and Doug Manmiller who
each have four wins. Manmiller was the Thunder Series modified champion
the last two years.

In total, seventy-four sprint car features were presented and delivered
thirty-three different winners. Interesting fact is that there were
twenty-four drivers of the thirty-three who own just one Thunder win.
For the Modifieds, a total of thirty-five feature events were presented,
delivering eighteen different feature winners.

The one lap track record at Grandview Speedway for a sprint car is
11.433, established on May 21, 2008 by Jeff Shepard driving the ZEMCO
sprint car. For the modifieds, Billy Decker holds the one lap fast time
of 14.349 set on July 16, 2008.

For more information on the 20th Anniversary season of Thunder on the
Hill, please visit our website at:

20th Anniversary Thunder on the Hill Racing Series
19 years of Thunder History/85 Events/ More than $2.8 million dollars
in payout

Wednesday, May 20 (7:30PM ) Keystone Cup Speed Week Series 410
Sprints & 358 Modifieds
Tuesday, June 2 (7:30 PM) USAC National Wingless Sprint Tour (Twin
20's) & ARDC Wingless Midgets
Tuesday, June 30 (7:30PM) Pennsylvania Sprint Speed Week Series 410
Sprints & 358 Modifieds
NIGHT! ! 358 Modifies (full show) URC Sprints (full show) ARDC Feature
Thursday, August 13 (7:30PM) TRAFFIC JAM Twin 50's WoO Late Models &
Open Competition Big Block Modifieds
Saturday, October 17 (6:00PM) Grandview Thunder 5-25's & House of
Thunder Halloween Party- - - URC Sprints, 358 Modifieds, ARDC Wingless
Rolling Thunder Legends, Sportsman Modifieds & Garden State Vintage
Stock Cars + Monster SMASH DEMO Derby in the dark!

Return-to-Thunder On The Hill Racing Series News and Results