Wednesday, May 20 to Monday, May 26. . . . KEYSTONE CUP SPRINT SERIES DRAWS NEAR

Date: 5/1/2009 6:05:00 PM


Wednesday, May 20 to Monday, May 26. . . .  

York Haven, Pa.....The third annual Keystone Cup Series for the central Pennsylvania 410 Sprint Cars is quickly approaching.  The series of special events will include six races in six days over the Memorial Day Holiday weekend.

Each race in the special series will pay $5000 to the winner.  The six races will be held at six different Speedways and include time trials, heat races a B-main and a feature event.

The series begins on Wednesday May 20.  That night things kick off at the Grandview Speedway near Bechtelsville for the opening race of the 20th Anniversary Thunder on the Hill Racing Series.  The Grandview program will be capped off by a 35 lap feature event.  The 358 Modifieds which compete regularly at Grandview will also be part of the program that will begin at 7:30 PM.

On Thursday May 21, the series moves just south of the Mason Dixon line to the Hagerstown, MD Speedway.  Hagerstown will round out the night with a 30 lap feature.  The Late Model Sportsman cars will join the sprints at Hagerstown.

Williams Grove Speedway, in Mechanicsburg,  will host night three of the Keystone Cup series.  The Friday evening May 22 show at the Grove will feature the Sprint Cars only.  That night's feature will be 30 laps.

Night four moves to the Lincoln Speedway, near Hanover on Saturday May 23.  Joining the 30 lap Sprint Car feature will be the Thundercars.

Sunday May 24 the Keystone Cup moves to Selinsgrove for another 30 lap feature.  The Prostocks join the action this night.

The Keystone Cup wraps up on Memorial Day Monday evening, May 25 at Port Royal.  The show at the Port also features a 30 lap main event, and the Prostocks join the action.

This season is the third annual Keystone Cup Series.  Fred Rahmer has claimed both previous series titles, and is one of eight drivers who have won in the previous 11 races.  Six tracks have been a part of Keystone Cup in the past, and Hagerstown will be a new addition this year.

Past winners include Stevie Smith, Lucas Wolfe, and Brian Leppo who each have two wins, and single winners; Rahmer, Jeff Shepard, Danny Lasoski, Mark Smith and Greg Hodnett.

The Keystone Cup will be the first of three special series in the area this year.  The all new Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model Speedweek runs June 6-12 and will hit tracks in Hagerstown, MD, Selinsgrove, Winchester, VA, Williams Grove, Lincoln, Port Royal and Bedford.

The 19th annual Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek runs from June 27- July 5.  Sprint Car Speedweek action will include races at Lincoln, Bedford, Grandview, Hagerstown, MD, Williams Grove, Port Royal and Selinsgrove.

Return-to-Thunder On The Hill Racing Series News and Results