Date: 2/27/2011 10:07:50 PM


CONTACT:  BOB MILLER  443 513 44456


York Haven, PA....The fifth annual edition of Pennsylvania's Keystone Cup for the 410 Sprint Cars will have a new schedule.  Some dates have been shifted and one track returns while another leaves the fold.

The Keystone Cup series is a slate of exciting Sprint Car races over the course of the Memorial Day holiday week.  In four previous seasons, three drivers have claimed series championships.  Fred Rahmer was the Keystone Cup champion the first two seasons.  Since then Stevie Smith and Daryn Pittman have claimed series titles.  Smith and Pittman lead all drivers with four wins each in Keystone Cup competition.

Over the years the Keystone Cup series has presented 21 races at seven different Speedways.  This year the Big Diamond Raceway returns to the fold, while Hagerstown Speedway has elected to drop from the series.

Keystone Cup will kick off on Wednesday May 25, at the Grandview Speedway as part of the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series.   Grandview is located near Bechtlesville, PA, and is a fast and exciting 1/3rd mile high banked oval.  Joining the popular 410 sprints will be the 358 Modifieds is a block-buster doubleheader.

At Grandview the Sprint Cars will race 35 laps with $5000 on the line for the feature winner.  Also on the agenda that evening will be Grandview's popular 358 Modifieds.

A schedule change finds Keystone Cup moving to the historic Port Royal Fairgrounds on Thursday May 26.  The lightning fast mile oval at Port Royal will find the Sprinters going for a distance of 30 laps with another $5000 on the line for the winner.  At Port Royal the Prostocks will join in the fun.

The traditional Friday night show on May 27 will be held at the Williams Grove Speedway.  The Keystone Cup race at "the Grove" will be part of the Goodyear Diamond Series there.  The paperclip shaped mile oval will offer a 30 lap feature with $5000 going to the winner.  A Fireworks display will round out the program.

On Saturday May 28, it's on to the Lincoln Speedway near Hanover.  The furious racing action at this high banked 1/3 mile oval will offer up a 30 lap feature with $5000 to the winner.  Lincoln's program will include the Legends series, Thundercars, and Fireworks.

The massive Selinsgrove Speedway will be the site of action on Sunday May 29.  At Selinsgrove it will be yet another 30 lap feature, with $5000 going to the winner.  The Super Sportsman racers will join in the fun.

The Keystone Cup series will conclude on Monday May 30 as the Big Diamond Raceway returns to the fold.  The return of the Minersville facility adds another shorter track to the series, which gives an even mix of shorter and larger tracks.  At Big Diamond, the Sprint Cars go for 30 laps with $5000 to the winner.  The wingless ARDC Midgets join in the program.

An interesting mix of tracks and support classes make this year's Keystone Cup an exciting Memorial Day holiday option for race fans in the northeast.  Last year Daryn Pittman won three of the races, while Tyler Walker and Mike Erdley were the other winners.

Return-to-Thunder On The Hill Racing Series News and Results