Date: 4/24/2011 11:28:24 PM

CONTACT: BOB MILLER  443 513 4456
Sikeston, MO driver Hunter Schuerenberg will be heading East when the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Tour brings their "Eastern Storm" Tour to Pennsylvania and New Jersey.   Schuerenberg is a professional race car driver, and why not?, He started racing go-karts at the age of six.  His career saw him move into mini-sprints and at age fourteen, he raced his first 360 wing sprinter before moving into the non-wing 410 sprint division at age sixteen.  With over twenty wins in a sprint car, Schuerenberg was a winner at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, AK and went on to score at least one win at every race track in the Indiana non-wing sprint car ranks.  
Schuerenberg has never been to Pennsylvania's Grandview Speedway, a one-third mile high banked oval that definitely has an attitude.   "From what I've seen on YouTube, Grandview looks to be a good fit for the non wing sprints but to beat guys like Levi Jones, I'll have to be consistent and minimize any mistakes.  If a driver is up front at the end of the race, the wins will come and the points will take care of themselves", stated Schuerenberg.     Driving the Hank and Derk Byram owned #35, Hunter Schuerenberg plans to be a serious contender not only to win a couple of those $6,000 to win AMSOIL Wingless feature events, but to also chase down the "Eastern Storm" championship title.  
The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series will open on Monday night, May 30 at the Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, PA.   The following night, Tuesday, May 31 the USAC sprints will invade the Grandview Speedway.   The Eastern Storm will clash with the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series and in typical style, anytime you arrive at the "hill",  there is always a good chance of lightning and thunder as well.  
In the four previous USAC Eastern Storm events at Grandview, Levi Jones won the opener in 2007, the late Jesse "The Rocket" Hockett won the next two events as Levi Jones returned to Grandview in 2010 to win the first annual Jesse Hockett Classic.   The word is out about the USAC sprints at Grandview and this is a show where the time trials are worth the cost of admission.  It's just something you have to see to believe. Nothing beats the sound, sight and thrill of watching a USAC wingless sprint car navigate the non-forgiving one-third mile high banked oval in Bechtelsville, PA     Also on the program with the AMSOIL USAC Wingless Sprints will be the ARDC Wingless Midgets, making this show a "must see" open wheel double-header that will get underway at 7:30 PM.  For more information, visit our website at:
The Eastern Storm is far from over as USAC heads to the three-eighth mile  Lincoln Speedway on Wednesday night, June 1.  Check out all the details at:
Back by popular demand, the USAC Eastern Storm will once again return to New Jersey, with a stop at the beautiful and fan friendly New Egypt Speedway in New Egypt, NJ on Thursday night,  June 2.   In 2010, it was USAC's first visit to the state of New Jersey in thirty-two years and the great show made it well worth the wait.   This unique shaped race track provided some of the most dramatic side-by-side racing of the series and at the end of the night, it was Levi Jones standing in victory lane.   The Big Block Modifieds will share the program  again in 2011.  Duane Howard and his BPG Modified were the class of modified field in 2010.     More information is available at:
The "Eastern Swing" continues at the Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, June 4.  You'll see the bravest men in sprint car racing take on the speeds of the Port for the first time in history.   Joining the USAC sprint cars will be the ARDC Wingless Midgets plus the Williams Grove Old Timers/Penn Central Racing Reunion Honoree Night.  Gates will open at 4 PM with time trials taking the green flag at 7 PM.  For more information on Port Royal, visit their website at
A $6,000 payday will go to the winner of each feature plus a very lucrative total payoff and a point fund for the USAC Eastern Storm competitors.   Drivers already on the roster to attend include Levi Jones, Bryan Clauson (a USAC feature winner in 2011), Jerry Coons Jr., Tracy Hines, Jon Stanbrough, Chris Windom, Robert Ballou, Hunter Schuerenburg, Blake Fitzpatrick, Bobby East, Casey Riggs, Brady Short, Dave Darland, Damion Gardner (2 time winner in 2011) Casey Shuman, Justin Grant, Chase Stockon, Kyle Robbins and Wes McIntyre.   Several local drivers enjoy the wingless sprint car racing and are expected  to be in the field including "The Wild Child" Josh Weller, "Mr. Twister" Mark Bitner, Johnny Mackison,  Jonathan Swanson and JR Berry just to name a few.

Return-to-Thunder On The Hill Racing Series News and Results